We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great building but vastly overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
Ranked #45 of 1,175 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2010

The palace and gardens of this hotel are stunning and it's right on the Bosphorous. It is very spacious and has every facility you would expect of a 5 star hotel. However, it is vastly overpriced, the rooms are plush enough but I'd expect better at this price. Eating and drinking in the hotel is outrageously expensive. The location is a long way form the old town, main sights and shopping. It was nice to stay but I might not rush back to this particular hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luxtraveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sublime_Istanbul, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2010

Dear Ciragan Guest,
Greetings from the magical city of Istanbul!
Thank you very much for your valuable feedback that you have shared in TripAdvisor following your stay in Ciragan Palace Kempinski.
We are delighted to receive your constructive feedback as nothing can be more gratifying than favorable comments from our guests. However we understand that we were not able to convince you about our service. Therefore I would appreciate it very much if you could give us another chance, and experience the finest Turkish hospitality at the Ciragan Palace with global Kempinski standards.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,898)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,118 - 1,124 of 1,898 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2010

The hotel is definitely high class - and prices are thereafter. The breakfast is about the nicest ever seen anywhere with a great selection not only of international food, but Turkish specialities - easy to use 1+ hour for breakfast just to try things out. The location is very nice by the Bosphorus, but actually a bit off Istanbul's best sights. The otherwise excellent tram is not yet passing by the hotel, making it necessary to either walk quite far along a street with much traffic or take a taxi to the tram station.

Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
Thank BizLeisureFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2010

First I must say I liked this hotel, and my travel agent got us an amazingly good rate considering the posted prices. However, once we arrived we realized the reason our rate was so good was because our room was on the far end of the building adjacent to the street. While our view of the Bosphourous and the bridge was awesome, the traffic noise posed a real problem when trying to sleep. The room was nice, but certainly not what I would consider five star accomodations. And the hotel is far from Old Istanbul, so be prepared to take a taxi to get to the historic sites

That being said, we did enjoy our stay here. The staff was very welcoming; the grounds and pool were beautiful; and the buffet breakfast (which was included in our room rate) was amazing! They had something for everyone at the morning stations and champagne to go with it all. We never went hungry, for sure.

We also had very good interaction with the bellmen who guided us into taxis and to a pharmacy that we would have never found without their help.

Not sure I'd stay here again, but it's a nice place. I highly recommend you pay extra and ask for a room in the middle of the hotel with a Bosphorous view. And if you're looking at their website, you should not that the building you see, which is the Palace next door, is not the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnaBaker26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

i found this hotel pretty average and totally overpriced for what they offer. the rooms are dated, the tv is from the 80s and really small, picture not clear, carpets could be replaced and bathroom is just ok. we got a room with a park view and looked at 2 run down tennis courts and the street. the breakfast buffett is awesome but you also pay 100 euros (2people) for it. the lobby is nice, so are the restaurants, and the location right at the bosphorus is beautiful. however if i pay 450 euros a night for a hotel i would expect the rooms to be up to standard, which they are clearly not.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hase1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2010

I had a business lunch at the terrace of the Ciragan, and unfortunately there was a FLY (cooked in) the cheescake.

the hotel is quitely well situated though, and the service is excellent...

Guests are very international and staff is polite/ well educated and forthcoming.
The roms are clean, elegant style and big with a nice view.

The prices are a little too much for the services proposed, as the spa for instance is not at the highest level.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taskin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2010

Besides the wonderful construction, what impressed me most was the care that the staff has for all the guests. I didn´t feel like I was one more guest, the way I was treated made me feel very special.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Service
Thank Carla1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2010

In terms of location ciragan is a bit far from the old istanbul area (15-18 tl by cab 20 min when no traffic) but it is right on the bosphorous with amazing views of the asian side. Part of Ciragan used to be a sultan's palace. The property is pretty huge with a pool and well maintained grounds. We paid about 160 eur/nt thru corporate booking and it was well worth every penny. The staff here is excellent, very helpful incl. concierge, doorman, bell hop etc.The rooms and bathrooms are good sized (same as US) and clean.
When in istanbul Must visit reina (for partay) and Al Jamal (in taxcim) for great authentic dinner and show with the locals - both expensive. Hamdi in sultan Ahmet was total disappointment.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NothingLikeTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#69 of 1,175 in Istanbul
663 reviews
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#56 of 1,175 in Istanbul
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
#58 of 1,175 in Istanbul
814 reviews
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Besiktas
Raffles Istanbul
Raffles Istanbul
#16 of 1,175 in Istanbul
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul

Address: Ciragan Caddesi 32 | Besiktas, Istanbul 34349, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#18 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#28 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#32 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#35 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £209 - £412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cıragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul offers the ultimate in luxury and glamour of a genuine Ottoman Palace with its 313 rooms including 22 suites in the hotel and 11 suites in the historical Palace. This 5-star luxury Imperial Palace hotel is located on the shores of the magnificent Bosphorus overlooking the ancient city of Istanbul, provides a one-of-a-kind experience with its historical ambiance and excellent Kempinski service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Ciragan Palace Kempinski
Kempinski Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing