We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing room quality for a five stars hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Ranked #78 of 1,151 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Wien
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing room quality for a five stars hotel”
Reviewed 27 April 2009

Location and hotel itself is good; staff is very friendly and helpful, breakfast is excellent. The quality of the standard rooms does not correspond with a five stars hotel. The rooms need urgently to be refurbished (especially the bathrooms).

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weltreisender09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,243
    627
    205
    56
    33
See reviews for
439
514
144
802
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2009

This really is a beautiful hotel. It is a large American-style hotel that is beautifully decorated. Staff is very friendly, professional and accommodating. Breakfasts are wonderful. My room was very nice. Bed was comfortable and bathroom really nice. There is a great gym and pool area. Unfortunately my room did not face the Bosporus, which I suspect would have been fantastic, particularly the higher up you get.

So all in all this is a beautiful hotel with potentially fantastic views, and I would normally be tempted to give it a 5 out of 5, but the location makes me want to give it a 3, so I've settled on 4.

The hotel is located in Besiktas, which means that if you want to get to the tourist areas (Sultanahmet and Taksim) you are obliged to take public transportation, which is either a taxi all the way, or a taxi to Kabatas (from where there is a quick and efficient tram to the heart of the city, or a funicular up to Taksim). It is not just the cost (which isn't a lot, although taxis may start to add up) but it is the time. Traffic can be bad and you can be stuck there with everybody else. The alternative 20 minute walk to Kabatas isn't particularly interesting. There is no such thing as a quick dash back to the hotel to drop off a bag or get a jacket. I stayed here for 5 nights and guess I got used to the back and forth, but I wouldn't stay here again for that reason. It is for these reasons that I would not recommend this hotel if one is traveling to Istanbul as a tourist. If you're there on business, only then would I recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rambling_Canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2009

The Conrad Istanbul is truly a lovely hotel, one whose staff understands how to provide the highest level of service to its guests. The executive floor amenities were beyond compare. The lounge and balcony were a perfect location to enjoy breakfast or an evening cocktail. The children loved the pool and park across the street. The staff were the best. When my wallet was stolen in the bazaar, the team provided me a phone and support to call the credit card companies back in United States. In addtion, when the wallet was recovered by the police, the hotel provided me a bilingual escort to accompany me to the station. This hotel has the best views in Istanbul.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank envirochk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WARRINGTON, PA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2009

I appreciate that the staff was able to grant me an early check-in, but the room was below par. Peeling curtains, small 14inch Grundig TV (did not know that the company still existed), ancient bathroom. Even on complaining about the standard of the room, the staff could not change my room (hotel was full for a convention). If you want to stay in the same area stay at the Hilton or the W.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Indrajit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2009

The hotel was push and luxurious. I loved the comfy bed and the excellent gym in the morning. The gym has a separate cardio and weight rooms but the cardio room is a bit hot and not cool enough. The hotel is big and very American looking. With a big staircase in the centre of lobby and a very big restaurant with view. I missed the breakfasts so no review about that.

The location was off the path of what I wanted to see though. Istanbul is a big city and I guess there is no perfect location but walking out of the hotel you are not close to anything particular (not even shopping) and I was advised to take taxi to go to more happening areas. At the end I didn't end up staying late out as the taxis didn't seem very safe for a single woman. I never figured out how the public transport works. Therefore, next time I am in Istanbul, I would stay somewhere closer to the happening areas so that I can stay out and explore and get back to hotel easily.

Staff were great and their command of English language was impressive. They did go out of their way to respond to my many questions.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VeryPickyLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2009

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights recently and while it was very nice as noted by others, I should note that 4 phone calls of less than 8 minutes each to North America cost almost $200 total using the hotel direct dial mode. As there was no access to the number to use my calling card this was the only option inside the hotel. I thought this was a bit steep.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JandVVancouver_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2008

Fabulous hotel, we stayed on the business floor where the service was instant, really impressed. It has a lovely rooftop terrace / bar overlooking the bosphorous.
Nice pool area too

  • Stayed May 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tired-bus-raveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#117 of 1,151 in Istanbul
2,531 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bomonti Hotel & Conference Center
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#72 of 1,151 in Istanbul
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sisli
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
#73 of 1,151 in Istanbul
1,726 reviews
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#67 of 1,151 in Istanbul
1,307 reviews
Besiktas
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus

Property: Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Address: Cihannuma Mah Saray Cd No 5, Istanbul 34353, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#63 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#77 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#119 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus 5*
Number of rooms: 553
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a perfect location between 2 continents, indulge in a stay at Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus and discover yourself at one of the world's most alluring destinations. At the very centre of the city, yet far away from the hustle and bustle, Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus's totally new rooms and suites allow for the highest standard of relaxation, complete with personalised comfort and services. Savor Mediterranean cuisine at Manzara, take in the view of the Bosphorus while lounging at the Summit Bar. Relax with Spa treatments, enjoy a revitalizing workout in the brand-new health club and clay tennis courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Conrad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing