We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Side Hotel and Pension
Ranked #341 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Very good price for the money. The personnel was always kind and available. In the rooms was warm. We had a nice view of the Blue Mosque from our balcony. The only inconvenient for the proximity to the mosques is the Call for prayer, which will be heard loudly from the room. But this will happen anywhere there are mosques around...and Istanbul has many!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mirela_Cj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    205
    37
    14
    12
See reviews for
51
164
59
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Stayed on the Pension side, with bathroom, for six nights in June/July 2012. After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, I was excited to finally arrive and experience Istanbul. The Side Hotel completely blew me away. The location is absolutely flawless - right next to the Four Seasons, just around the corner from all the major tourist attractions of Sultanahmet; whilst Sultanahmet has a reputation for housing all the cheap hostels and backpackers, this place totally bucks the trend with a slightly older, more mature crowd. It's located on a lovely quiet street, yet the busy, more touristy streets with restaurants/bars/live dancing etc are just around the corner if you wish to partake. The rooftop terrace took my breath away when I went up for the first time - absolutely incredible views that must be seen to be believed.

My room was spotless and functional; yes, basic, but had everything I needed. Free WiFi throughout the building and on the terrace. Staff were always warm and friendly, even letting me check in when I arrived at about 9am. No air conditioning, but being on the ground floor I always had a nice breeze through the window and a pedestal fan. Breakfast was delicious - not completely filling for a 20 year old guy, but enough to get you going before purchasing a couple of pastries from street vendors around town. Yes the call to prayer is loud, but it's so atmospheric to be sitting on the roof at twilight, sipping a beer, watching the Blue Mosque illuminate as the call echoes around the city. It only woke me early one morning, but I got a few more hours sleep afterwards - I was so exhausted from all my exploring the other days that I slept right through it.

Istanbul is an absolutely amazing city and the Turkish are so incredibly friendly. My six nights here were definitely the highlight of my trip and made my experience of Istanbul just that much better. Cannot recommend strongly enough and cannot wait to return soon!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank thisismyface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton of Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

We was looking for a nice, simple and good-value place to stay in the city of Istanbul. This pension just matched to all our wishes. The room is simple and clean. It is only 2 minutes from Hagia Sophia and 4 minutes from the tram station Sultan Ahmet, where is the best start point of any sightseeing you can imagine. The roof-top breakfast was amazing - looking over to the sea, Sultan Ahmet and Hagia Sohia. The hotel reserved places for an impressive Turkish traditional dance show in Hodjapasha for us. We really enjoyed the stay there. there is nothing to complain. I will definitely go back there, if I go again to Istanbul.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Prio J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arusha, Tanzania
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

This hotel is located right in the old quarter and is a 5 min walk from the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia and the start point for all the tour buses around the city.

They take $US, Euros and Turkish currencies

Breakfast is served on the terrace on top of the building which has an ice view. But I recommend going to the hotel opposite called the Seven Hills Hotel for evening drinks/dinner as it has an even nicer terrace and full dinner menu.

Help Desk Staff were really helpful giving us advice on good fish restaurant etc

There are complimentary tea/coffee facilities in the area by reception, which is are nice when you're waiting for airport transfers etc. The luggage storage faciility is also very useful.

Room Tip: Due to being so close to the blus Mosque the Call to Prayer is very loud, but I assume rooms on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benagirl83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adana, Turkey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

We actually was on the pension side of the hotel. The location and the price makes this a great deal. The breakfast in the morning with the view of the blue mosque was beautiful. We are planning another trip here with the kids in December.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PartyCRNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Great value, Great location and awesome views from the terrace. One staff was a little grumpy but otherwise very kind people. A week later when passing through Istanbul they let us store our luggage there for free.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ktonner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012 via mobile

Whenever I visit Istanbul this is the place I head for.it is central for everything and reasonable price.
The staff are wam ,welcoming and friendly.I have many friends who agree and always choose the Side
For a stopover on the way to Southern Turkey

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianLondon09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Uyan Hotel
Uyan Hotel
#194 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Sultanahmet
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
#269 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sari Konak
Hotel Sari Konak
#135 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Palace Hotel
Sultanahmet Palace Hotel
#383 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Sultanahmet
Seven Hills Hotel
Seven Hills Hotel
#184 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Sultanahmet
Senatus Hotel
Senatus Hotel
#27 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Side Hotel and Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Side Hotel and Pension

Property: Side Hotel and Pension
Address: Utangac Sok. No 20, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#62 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#169 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#199 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Side Hotel and Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Side Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing