We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Side Hotel and Pension

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Side Hotel and Pension
Ranked #347 of 1,120 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
kwazulu natal
Level Contributor
110 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

This quaint pension is situated literally 50m from all the main sights such as the blue mosque, Sophia Haggia, Topkapi palace ect ect. . Also close to tram, banks, loads of restaurant as well. The rooms are neat and are good value for money. Showers are hot and pressure is excellent. I decided to change to an en suite room when I got there and the management went out of there way to accommodate me. I appreciated that. Breakfast was the standard Turkish affair of a boiled egg, some bread, assortment of jams ect. Quite basic. Good value for money

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nataliekwazulunatal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    205
    37
    14
    12
See reviews for
51
164
58
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed at Side twice this month. Upon arriving in Istanbul and after walking the Lycian way. This place is great. Very clean and spacious rooms. The owners and staff are friendly and always helpful with information and tips on places to go etc. Standing on the terrace you can see on one side the Blue Mosque and on the other Hagia Sophia. Very good rates for the location and would highly recommend to travellers who wish to stay in Old Istanbul in a mid sized hotel. Thankyou Levent.

Tess and Lindy from Australia

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elladael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astana, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed at Side for 4 nights in a room with a private bathroom. The price was ok for what you get, the breakfasts were cute, and I loved being up on their ever-so-famous rooftop. Great for taking it all in and getting a grip on your location.

Literally steps away from all the major attractions, you couldn't ask for a better location as a sightseeing tourist. Side is also much more decent then other low budget hotels in Sultanahmet (we visited cousins in their accommodations). The Meat House restaurant next door is also a gem.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TransplantedNewfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

The rooms are fine, the location great but the staff were incredibly unfriendly from start to finish. We were cajoled into accepting their transfer from the hotel after having clearly said no. The tout at the airport was belligerent, the driver nervous and upset, we had to change cars halfway to the airport for whatever reason. And when we checked in we were met with the sourest face in the whole of Istanbul. There is no place to chill and relax and just have a beer. When you go out at night/ buy a bottle of water or ask for your key the night porter hardly acknowledges you. When I wanted to cancel the last night of my stay I was met with severe unfriendliness and demands of money. Go somewhere else where the people smile.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donsievanwyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

A great budget option in Istanbul. Less than 5 mins from the blue mosque and with views of it and Aya Sofia from the roof terrace. Clean room, we had a shared bathroom, which was also very clean. Breakfast was fine, and free tea at all times.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George Town, Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We got the cheapest room with shared bathroom that was just steps from the door. Very clean room and bathrooms also always clean. Breakfast was ok - Turkish style served on their roof terrace. Location is fab though - a few minutes walk from Blue Mosque and Aya Sofya and nice restaurants, bars and shops nearby. Much quieter than other areas is Istanbul which was welcome!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank RW1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We visited in June 2013. This little hotel is in the most perfect location, in the heart of the historic Sultanahmet district, not even a 5min walk from the Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque and Topkapi Palace. Initially (being three girls) we were concerned that the historic part of town would be unsafe and rundown, but we were pleasantly surprised at how charming the neighbourhood is. The hotel itself is a gem. We stayed in a Pension triple room, which had its own bathroom with a nice shower, as well as a fan which came in handy in the heat. The rooms were very clean and well kept and the price (which includes breakfast) is great. There was always a friendly staff member at the front desk who was very polite and welcoming. The communal areas are great – a tea area off the lobby provides lounging space and 24hour free Turkish tea. This was a lovely place to relax after a tiring day of sight-seeing. Even better was the rooftop terrace with spectacular views of the Bosphorus, the Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque. We would highly recommend this lovely family-run hotel to anyone looking for a clean, affordable, homely place near the sights. We cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Uyan Hotel
Uyan Hotel
#190 of 1,120 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Sultanahmet
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
#271 of 1,120 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Sultanahmet
Seven Hills Hotel
Seven Hills Hotel
#178 of 1,120 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
The Byzantium Hotel & Suites
The Byzantium Hotel & Suites
#185 of 1,120 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Sultanahmet
Aristocrat Hotel
Aristocrat Hotel
#195 of 1,120 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Sultanahmet
Biz Cevahir Hotel
Biz Cevahir Hotel
#141 of 1,120 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Side Hotel and Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Side Hotel and Pension

Property: Side Hotel and Pension
Address: Utangac Sok. No 20, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#91 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#169 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#198 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Side Hotel and Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Side Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing