We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First rate- a beautiful and cultural experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Ranked #17 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
Level Contributor
113 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“First rate- a beautiful and cultural experience!”
Reviewed 26 September 2011

There is nothing more I can say about this property, except everything about it is first rate, hands down superior! It is located in the museum/historical sights area, so everything is at your fingertips for culture lovers. The property itself is a converted jail, which in my opinion, is a cultural experience in and of itself. The hotel staff-I couldn't say more regarding the friendliness, helpfulness, and first rate service! The restaurant is also lovely and delicious-
The director of rooms, Erhan, is a Turkish Aussie; extremely helpful and friendly-I also received an upgrade, and had a beautiful room with a balcony and view of the AiyaSofia. I only wish I had more time to enjoy it, as I was running around trying to absorb the loveliness and culture of Istanbul. I couldn't have had a better stay or a more excellent and enjoyable experience! The gym/spa were also very useful/comforting and first rate, although the Bosphorus property is unmatchable. All around, an excellent experience, just too short!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keentraveler30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FelixMurillo, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet, responded to this review, 1 October 2011
Dear keentravel,

My name is Felix Murillo, I am the General Manager of the Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet.

I have been with Four Seasons for the past 18 years and I was one of the proud ones to be here 15 years ago opening this property. It is trully a special place to work for.

Thank you very much for your very kind review and rating.

I am and feel very lucky to work with Erhan and the rest of the team. With your permission I would like to share your comments with all.

Please keentravel, if in the future I may be of assistance within Four Seasons or Istanbul please let me know. My email address is felix.murillo@fourseasons.com.

Yours cordially,

Felix
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,300
    142
    27
    5
    4
See reviews for
314
728
65
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We stayed here in July 2011, walked to every major site . . . Blue Mosque, Aya Sofia, Topkapi Palace and Grand Bazaar. This was an old jail and it's been refurbished beautifully. The staff was incredibly helpful and soooo nice! Food in the restaurant was above average, good for breakfast mainly, but the hotel is around the corner from a street filled with lots of restaurants . . . get a recommendation from the hotel on the best. Go to the Aya Sofia Turkish Bath another recommendation from the hotel . . . it was amazing and again around the corner, literally. Loved our stay at this hotel in Istanbul, much better location than the Four Seasons Bosphorus, I would recommend staying in the old city NOT on the Bosphorus side, the traffic is horrific, worse than any I've seen in the US. You'd always need a cab ride across the Galata Bridge to get to the main sights from a Bosphorus hotels.

Room Tip: Might be quieter with a room facing the gorgeous courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emaock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We stayed at the four seasons for three nights,sept9to the 11th.
We were upgraded to a one bedroom suite. We only stay in 5 star hotels. This hotel really exceeded our expectations. It is new and the details in the rooms are really well thought out. The room was huge and really quite overlooking the courtyard. The espresso machine in the room got a work out.
The fitness room was fine. The staff was genuine and truly desired to help and insure we had a great experience. The location of the hotel in the old part of town is walking distance to mayor attractions, but we recommend one of the guide services such as Sea Song because it is half the price of any in Europe and the guides and vans were terrific.
The breakfast Buffett is truly one of the best in the world.

Room Tip: Windows are really thick and operable.for quite chose the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chevydallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FelixMurillo, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet, responded to this review, 23 September 2011
Dear Chevydallas,

My name is Felix Murillo, I am the General Manager of the Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet and I feel motivated after reading your review.

Truth to be told, we do not have the Nespresso machines in all rooms yet. Your comment helps us encourage to continue growing our program.

With your permission Chevydallas I would love to share your comments and rating with the rest of the team. Thank you very much.

Please let me know how I may be of assistance in the future, my email address is felix.murillo@fourseasons.com.

Cordially,

Felix

P.S. The team go excited about the breakfast enhancement and last night we commenced our Dinner real charcoal grill in the courtyard... Fresh daily catch, and also prime cuts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
394 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Great location for many of the attractions and it's Four Seasons...need I say more.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rkjlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
66 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

I backpacked Turkey 10 years ago, yearning to return to this particular hotel. Obviously back when I was a student, we stayed at hostels and while visiting all the sites in Istanbul, we walked by the Four Seasons time and time again. It's because it is literally surrounded by the key attractions of the city, literally all within 5 mins walking distance. I promised myself that if I returned, I would want to stay here. So 10 years later, I came back and stayed for 3 nights here.

Upon arrival, I was pleasantly surprised by an upgrade which was a room with a full view of the Aya Sofia. You are so close, you could literally throw a stone and hit the dome. Room was well appointed and service - though we didn't manage to use it too much was of Four Seasons standard. Room service - the food was excellent and very well presented.

You really can't go wrong with this place - but be prepared to pay Four Seasons prices.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank detang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FelixMurillo, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Dear Detang,

My name is Felix Murillo, I am the General Manager of the Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet.

Thank you very much for your kind review and rating. With your permission I would love to share it iwith the team and specially with the Room Service employees.

If I ever may be of assistance in the future within Four Seasons please let me know, my email address is felix.murillo@fourseasons.com.

I would love to welcome you back one day to Sultanahmet and the Four Seasons.

Cordially,

Felix
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Excellent, confortable, good staff , good breakfast , perfect!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We spend 2 nights here and were somewhat disappointed, given that this is a VERY expensive hotel. To be clear, my criticism isn't really about the hotel per se--it's more about the relative luxury (or lack thereof) in light of the price (around $700USD). The hotel is very well-located for sight-seeing, especially if you have limited time in Istanbul--all of the major sites are within 5-10 minutes walking distance. The hotel is pretty and the service is what you would expect from a Four Seasons--we were pleased with the two restaurants that they recommended for dinner. We ate breakfast and one lunch at the hotel restaurant and both were quite good. The room, however, was clean but not at all memorable. It was very hot, but the A/C never got quite cool enough. Our room was on the ground floor and thus had no view and was fairly dark. The decor wasn't offensive, but again, was not memorable. Overall, for the amount of money we spent, I felt that the hotel was VERY overpriced. We had a drink at the Four Seasons on the Bosophorous, which was much prettier. I suspect that the Bosphorous location would come closer to being worth the price. If you're not made of money and expect special/luxurious accomodations when you're paying for, go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floor(s)--ground floor rooms have no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rachiefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FelixMurillo, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
Dear Rachiefish,

My name is Felix Murillo, I am the General Manager of the Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at the Bosphorus.

Thank you very much for your honest coments and rating on the guest satisfaction system of Trip Advisor.

Ouch!!... I can not deny that it hurts... I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. On behalf of the entire team please accept my sinceren apologies.

Rachiefish, we always strive to offer value. And we failed this time. Would it be possible for me to reach you over the phone to apologize in person? I would love to regain your trust in Four Seasons. My email address is felix.murillo@fourseasons.com.

Respectfully,

Felix
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,948 reviews
Besiktas
Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,141 in Istanbul
3,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
Beyoglu
Tomtom Suites
Tomtom Suites
#8 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,003 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#4 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Address: Teyfikhane Sok No 1 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#4 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#9 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#14 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Istanbul At Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Istanbul
Istanbul Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing