We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of heaven in Istanbul; the best Four Seasons I've stayed at”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Ranked #15 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2011

From start to finish, this is a high-quality hotel. There was no request too mundane or odd, and the staff was consistently friendly and helpful. The concierge was particularly helpful in arranging a lot of dinner reservations and car services to/from IST airport and around town. The location cannot be beat, and the inner courtyard and the rooftop terraces with views of the Bosphorus are wonderful places to relax. Yes, it's expensive, but yes, it's worth it. Room 315 is the best in the hotel, with a private small balcony overlooking the courtyard.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristopherChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,043 - 1,049 of 1,579 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2011

Stayed here after a seven day Seabourn cruise from Athens to Istanbul.
Gorgeous hotel in an ideal location. Literally, within a five minute walk to the Blue Mosque, Hajia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, the Hippodrome, and many other sites. Our suite was perfect, as was the service. Very quiet hotel with only about 70 rooms. It's expensive, but it's worth it. The concierge was extremely helpful and arranged for a private guide. Also, the concierge's restaurant recommendations, Balikci Sabahattin Seafood Restaurant and Matbah (traditional Ottoman cuisine), were very good. The concierge also suggested a museum pass that allowed us to save both money and time when visiting most of the tourist sites. The breakfast at the hotel was very good.

Room Tip: We had a suite on the second floor that faced into the courtyard. It was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dcpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Four Seasons Sultanahmet is the place to be in Istanbul especially when you have to stay here for longer than a couple of days. Location in Istanbul is unbeatable. Attentive and detail oriented staff and management left us a very strong impression of this hotel. We were greeted with smiles right at the very first step to the moment you turned around the corner of the street leaving the hotel. You were addressed by our names at all times. Food was a delightful and reasonable prices for its class. Never realized that lamb can be done and presented in such a way that it looked more like a piece of dessert! It was our residence of choice during our stay in Istanbul while we were also popping in and out as we were also taking short trips to Cappadoica and Pamukale. Each time we wwnt back to this hotel, we felt relieved knowing that we would go back to a very comfortable place to rest and relax. Basically, at the end of each short trip away from Istanbul we were looking forward to going back to Four Seasons Sultanahmet. We had three different rooms. We were absolutely satisfied with anyone of them and all of them. Four Seasons is always our first choice of accommodation around the world such as Singapore, Japan, Maldives, Paris, Hong Kong, etc. I can't say all of them we'd been to are as good as our experience at this Four Seasons Sultanahmet. We do have a preference of contemporary design interior so our absolute favorite of Four Seasons is Four Seasons Marunochi in Tokyo, Japan where we stayed twice. This Four Seasons Sultanahmet is among the top three hotels of all the hotels we have stayed before over hundreds of cities we'd been to in terms of location, hardware and software. For sure, it is one of those that we will go back for our next visit in Istanbul. I can never rate excellent for sleep quality as it will only be for my bed at home! Average in value to me means it's right at its price range for its quality.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelPuggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FelixMurillo, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2011

Dear TravelPuggy,

This is Felix Murillo, the General Manager of the Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet.

I can not thank you enough for your comment. For taking the time to write nice things about your stay and about the team here.

I am so happy that you made a comment about Chef Savaş food and specially about his "8 hour cooked boneless lamb shank". With your permission I would like to share your comments with the team, they will love to hear.

Please let me know if in the future I may be of any assistance at any time.

Yours Cordially,

P.S. Is it possible that you share with me your mattress´ type?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Having read the stories about taxi drivers in Istanbul, we decided to stay at the Four Seasons at the Sultanahmet. The location is perfect, we were able to walk to all the main sites from our hotel. Istanbul is amazing – very clean, and you feel completely safe. We booked the airport transfer through the hotel and this worked exceptionally well. Our room had a lovely view of the Sea of Marmara and out one side you could catch a view of Haghia Sofia as well. The rooms are spacious and very tastefully decorated. We used the Concierge service to book our private guide and this worked well – we had the same guide for both days. The food was the letdown here, more particularly breakfast – where the hot food was actually lukewarm. When we pointed this out it was addressed promptly by the staff, unfortunately too late for us as we had a tour guide to meet. The history of the hotel as a former prison, adds to the character. The beds are very comfortable.

Don’t miss the Suleymaniye Mosque - it’s about a 20 minutes walk from the hotel. A beautiful mosque, and a lot more peaceful than the crowded Blue Mosque. We were moving to the Four Seasons at the Bosphorus next so the hotel organised a complimentary transfer in a BMW 7 series.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwi75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

This is the best old town hotel experience. The standards are of the typical Four Seasons caliber, which practically defy decription but mean "superlative" in any language, but equally important is the location. You can walk to all of the old town attractions and there is a marvelous neighborhood souk right around the corner! This hotel is the jam!

Room Tip: Rooms are all really good; don't worry about a better location than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SylviesMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Excellent staff and location; walking distance to all the major sites-Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar, Spice Market . I love the history of this Four Seasons. The staff was always very helpful and courteous. The concierges make some wonderful recommendation. Be sure to visit the Ayasofya Turkish Baths close by the Four Seasons.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

The Four Seasons Sultanahmet is a smaller gem of a property just a few minutes from many major sites in the Old Town area. We were lucky enough to be upgraded for our four nights, and enjoyed the Turkish flair in the interiors of our suite. The food at many Four Seasons locations is good, and the price is high, however here the food was truly excellent. We enjoyed sea bass with morels outside on the ground level patio with a tasty Turkish white wine. If the weather is good have a drink in the evening on the roof terrace and see the surrounding architecture lit up; the main dining area is a courtyard setting without a view. Service was excellent with prompt concierge email response with restaurant reservations, and we enjoyed daily in room fresh fruit and treats such as Turkish pastries.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gourmtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,111 reviews
Besiktas
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#73 of 1,163 in Istanbul
558 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,474 reviews
Besiktas
Raffles Istanbul
Raffles Istanbul
#12 of 1,163 in Istanbul
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet

Address: Teyfikhane Sok No 1 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#4 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#8 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#14 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £168 - £366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Southall Travel, Splitty, Expedia, Prestigia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Istanbul At Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Istanbul
Istanbul Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing