We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Ranked #14 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Spent 3 days here earlier this month .Time was limited and the location proved to be a big bonus for visiting the old city , blue mosque etc . Friendly helpful staff good food in fact everything you would expect from a hotel of this type . Still don't understand the logic though of not supplying an ironing board at these upmarket hotels . Who these days wants to call room service to press a creased shirt or blouse ?
Being picky . Still enjoyed the place and would use again .


  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BInck113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FS_Istanbul, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear NICKCHILD123,

Thank you very much for sharing this post regarding your stay in May and for your kind comments about revisiting our property. As you have mentioned, the Hotel has a very significant location at the heart of the Old Town, just a few steps away from the cultural assets of Istanbul. It's a pleasure to read that you spent three enjoyable days with us.

With reference to your comment, I'm sorry to read about the inconvenience regarding the ironing board. Kindly note that we have ironing boards available at Housekeeping and our attendants will be happy to assist you upon your request. I appreciate the feedback and I will look into this issue.

We hope you come back and visit us again very soon...

Best regards,

Michael Purtill
General Manager
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,557)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

622 - 628 of 1,557 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

From the excellent check in staff, to the waiters one could not fault this hotel.
A first rate room with all you could wish for.
Beautiful breakfast.
The only problem is, of course, is the price! But that is to be expected.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank kattyukres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FS_Istanbul, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear kattyukres,

Thank you very much for sharing this post regarding your stay in May. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your time with us and rated your experience as "world class".
Your kind comments about the staff made me have goose bumps. As we always say, our biggest asset at Four Seasons is our people.

We hope you come back and visit us again very soon...

Best regards,

Michael Purtill
General Manager
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This hotel is simply the best. It's the perfect place to stay in a beautiful town. The room was very clean and the amenities were great. Top quality service, the staff are very helpful. Excellent location. Would recommend this hotel for anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FS_Istanbul, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Sally D,

Thank you very much for sharing this post regarding your stay in June 2013 and for recommending our lovely prison to other travellers. I'm happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us and had an amazing experience.

We hope you come back and visit us again very soon...

Best regards,

Michael Purtill
General Manager
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Just as you can expect from a Four Seasons, it's a really nice hotel. But in this case, it's not just a great hotel, but a really beautiful, charming and historic building converted in a fine hotel. Placed in a great location, in a walking distance to the Ayasofya cathedral. The staff is extremely helpful and kind. The restaurant is really nice, as well. It's certainly a great choice in Istanbul.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marco_Cordeiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FS_Istanbul, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Marco_Cordeiro,

Thank you very much for sharing this post regarding your stay in June 2013. I loved the way you described the key features about the Hotel and it is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your time with us. There can be no bigger motivator than being considered as "a great choice in Istanbul" by our guests!

We hope you come back and visit us again very soon...

Best regards to Sao Paulo,

Michael Purtill
General Manager
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I just arrived back from Istanbul in early May. The temperatures were still very cool and so staying on the Bosphorus didn't make sense. That would be a better summer destination, if you wanted the breeze from the water and a pool to swim in. Our property suited our needs perfectly. We were really just about one- two blocks away from the cities 4 biggest sites, The Haggia Sophia, The Blue Mosque, The Topkapi Palace and the Cisterns. We could also walk to Grand Bazaar, about a 20 minute walk away. The property is a 19 Century restored former prison. The rooms had high ceilings with Ottoman style furnishings. Everything was very lavish and pristine. The service was unbelievable. Everyone from the doorman to the waiter in the restaurant calls you by name. We felt like VIP's. The new GM seems to be doing an outstanding job and I wish other hotels around the globe would have this sort of training. That even includes some other Four Seasons. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We were lucky to have a room overlooking the Haggia Sophia and ancient walls, room 314. It was a hug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank truffle55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FS_Istanbul, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear truffle55,

I can not thank you enough for taking the time to write such a detailed review and for sharing it on Trip Advsior. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed being at the heart of the Old Town while in Istanbul and had an enjoyable time at our lovely prison with your family.
It makes me very proud to see that our staff did a terrific job in providing a personalized service and ensuring a memorable experience. There can be no greater motivator than our guests' comments and please be assured that we will continue doing our utmost best to create memorable moments for our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family again in the nearest future...

Best regards,

Michael Purtill
General Manager
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This hotel is absolutely wonderful, in all areas. When you select Four Seasons hotels, you know you will get the best, but this hotel exceeded all expectations. Our room was beautiful, with windows on 2 sides, so we had a small view of the Bosporus. Of course, it was immaculate and beautifully furnished. The courtyard was so beautiful and peaceful, with the restaurant sitting within the courtyard, so the views were wonderful. But what exceeded our expectations was the service we received. From check in to check out, the staff went above and beyond to make sure our stay was perfect. The concierge desk provided fantastic service, always ready to help. One member of the concierge staff, Kadir, even gave us his personal Istanbulcard for our entire visit so we could use public transportation, which is absolutely necessary, if you want to get out of the local area. The location is perfect for sightseeing, all the major tourist attractions are so close, just a short walk up the street, and you are standing between Aya Sofia and the Blue Mosque. And Topkapi Palace is also a short walk. Just perfect. The food in the restaurant was excellent, and if you are there on Sunday, absolutely try the Brunch, it's a little pricey, but, wow, you won't need another meal that day! This truly was a wonderful stay and would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Some rooms face he courtyard, and would have a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank omahatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FS_Istanbul, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear omahatraveller,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review and for recommending our Hotel to other travellers. I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your time us. It made me happy to see that you had the opportunity to experience our renowned Brunch, where we serve a nice mix of international and local items.
Please be advised that I shared your post with the rest of the team, especially with Concierge and of course, with Kadir. As we always say, our biggest asset at Four Seasons is our people.

We hope you come back and visit us again very soon...

Best regards,

Michael Purtill
General Manager
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

First things first--the Four Seasons brand alone demands a superior level of hotel. The standard is simply different for these hotels (as they are for Peninsula, Kempinski, Oberoi, Mandarin, etc.) With that in mind, the Four Seasons Sultanahment met the higher expectations that comes along with the brand. A quick word about the hotel--as you will be reminded, the hotel is in an old prison. While this is unique, it also presents certain design challenges (the rooms don't have balconies, for one) and the courtyard in the interior is completely shut off from the surrounding neighborhood. This is neither a good or bad thing, but something to be aware of. There is a roof top terrace, that offers partial views of the Bosporous, Aya Sofia, and the Blue Mosque. Unfortunately, while it had just opened for the season, they closed it immediately for construction. This was probably the only disappointment with the hotel itself that we encountered.

The location is good for tourist activities, and is even close enough to walk to the Grand Bazaar, and the bridge if you like. There are restaurants nearby, though they cater nearly exclusively to tourists. There are a few gems--just ask the concierge.

There is another Four Seasons in Istanbul, located on the Bosporous, next to the Kempinski. We visited the hotel for a bottle of champagne, before taking a yacht on the river (highly recommended!). There are definite, obvious differences between the two hotels. What struck me, was the difference in ambiance. Obviously, being on the river is a beautiful sight. However, the location of the Sultanahmet, despite being in a tourist area, provides a much more immersive experience, that really transports you to "old" Istanbul. The hotel on the river is what I would describe as a typical luxury hotel--big, a lobby lined with high-end shopping, a beautiful terrace, modern amenities, etc. It's in a more modern area of the city as well, though it is more difficult to walk to interesting areas, etc. It really just depends on the atmosphere you like, and I prefer the more intimate, unique, though also luxurious atmosphere of the Sultanahmet.

What really sets the Four Seasons apart, however, is the staff. I have been told that there is a 3-1 staff-guest ratio, and I would believe. What's remarkable about that is the staff's ability to materialize when you need assistance, and to fade away when you do not need them. They are present without being overbearing. They went above and beyond for us, as my wife had lost her diamond earring when we checked out. They not only found the earring, but arranged to have it dropped to us at the airport when we connected through Istanbul a few days later. Truly amazing. A great hotel, made by the staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ben F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FS_Istanbul, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Ben F,

I can not thank you enough for taking the time to write such a detailed review about your stay in April. You made my day with your kind comments and I loved the way you described what separates a great hotel from a good one. As we always say, our biggest asset at Four Seasons is our people.

I'm delighted to see that you also visited our sister property at the Bosphorus and had a pleasant yacht tour, which is certainly a must-do while in Istanbul. With reference to your comment, I'm very sorry to read about the inconvenience due to the construction at our rooftop terrace, A'YA Lounge and I apologize for the timing. We had to postpone the season opening a few times because of the weather conditions.

We hope you come back and visit us again very soon...

Best regards,

Michael Purtill
General Manager
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,159 in Istanbul
3,075 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,159 in Istanbul
3,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#67 of 1,159 in Istanbul
504 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#3 of 1,159 in Istanbul
3,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet

Address: Teyfikhane Sok No 1 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#4 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#8 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#13 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £196 - £400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Prestigia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Istanbul At Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Istanbul
Istanbul Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing