We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Ranked #15 of 1,154 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This hotel's location is perfect, walking distance from most of the main attractions and the grand bazar. Also the building is superb, it used to be a prison. And the outdoor terrace/restaurant is lovely. Although the food is not impressive.
The rooms are quite spacious but the decoration is a tad dated to me, it could use some refreshing. Also the air conditioning was not working properly, they did send someone to repair it but it made no difference.
My biggest disappointment was the gym/spa area. For starters on the website it says the gym is 1000 square meters, in reality it is more like 75 sqm. They don't have a pool, nor a steam room nor a sauna. Being in turkey you would expect at least the steam room. Furthermore the treatment rooms are small.
Service is good as you would expect from four seasons and concierges are all helpful and nice.
I would not return to this hotel but would go to the Bosphorus Four seasons, just because spa/fitness areas are one of my most important criteria.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dflawless1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FS_Istanbul, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear dflawless1,

Thank you very much for sharing this post regarding your stay in January and for letting us know about your experience.

I'm happy to see that you enjoyed the location of the Hotel as well as the quality of service throughout your stay, however I'm sorry to read that you were not impressed with our health club facilities. I appreciate your feedback and I will look into this issue. Feedback from our guests are very valuable for us as this is the only way we can find out about our areas to grow. Luckily, our sister Hotel on the Bosphorus has a spacious Spa and our guests have an access to all the facilities at both hotels.

We hope we will be given the chance to welcome you again at our either hotels in Istanbul...

Best regards,

Michael Purtill
General Manager
Four Seasons Hotel Sultanahmet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,338
    144
    27
    6
    4
See reviews for
330
742
65
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
vista, ca
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The location can not be beat. Literally a few minute walk to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, City Cisterns, markets, etc etc. Hotel has an intimate feel that is difficult to describe. Service was exceptional. Wonderful breakfasts in a truly beautiful courtyard. Had dinner at the restaurant one evening and thought it was wonderful.

Turndown included some sort of treat every day from candy to fresh fruits.

Unlike anywhere else we have ever stayed. How many hotels can you say that about?

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vistasweethearts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FS_Istanbul, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear vistasweethearts,

Thank you very much for sharing this post regarding your stay in September 2013. I'm delighted to read that you found our Hotel to be a genuine place and had a memorable experience. I totally agree that "the Hotel has an intimate feel that is hard to describe".

We hope you come back and visit us again very soon...

Best regards,

Michael Purtill
General Manager
Four Seasons Hotel Sultanahmet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

If you want and can afford a large room (by central Istanbul standards) and exemplary service then The Four Seasons at Sultanahmet is your hotel. The service and attention to detail is excellent. The staff are clearly ready and able to meet your every need. One of the best Four Seasons hotels we have ever visited.

Unfortunately, the restaurant falls short. It is high priced but even at half the price, the food did not measure up. We found the Seven Hills seafood restaurant across the street a better value and better flavors. This is unfortunate as I am used to the Four Seasons providing an experience that "foodies" will enjoy.

The car service to the airport from the hotel was pricey, but included a driver and an assistant who not only handled all the luggage but made sure you had no difficulty getting through customs, ticketing or security. Our assistant handle our circumnavigation from the hotel through airline security until we were in the Turkish Airlines business lounge.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FS_Istanbul, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Keith S,

Thank you very much for sharing this post regarding your stay in June and also for the beautiful pictures you shared with your review. I had goose bumps while reading your kind comments on the quality of service and the attentiveness of the staff. I'm happy to see that we ensured a memorable experience. On the other hand, I'm truly sorry for not being able to meet your expectation regarding the food. I shared your comments with my executive chef and food & beverage director and we will look into this issue.

We look forward to welcoming you again during your next trips to Istanbul.

Best regards,

Michael Purtill
General Manager
Four Seasons Hotel Sultanahmet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Healdsburg, California
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at the 4 Seasons for 3 nights. It is perfectly situated in this large city, near a number of key sites to explore, ie Blue Mosque, Basilica Cistern, Hagia Sophia. The room was small but very comfortable, with one of only 3 rooms with a balcony, view is somewhat limited, more of interior of property than anything else, comfy bed and linens, efficient bathroom, good tub (which we used), separate shower with lots of water. Staff was VERY helpful, courteous, they aimed to please. Breakfast was great, we loved the yogurt with honeycomb and wonderful fruit, they had good coffee, eggs/omelets anyway you want, etc etc. Nice gym, nobody was there when I hit it in the morning, but good equipment. Nice rooftop bar to enjoy the early evenings. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: higher floors are quieter, but we really didn't hear any street noise, we had an interior 4th fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbied433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FS_Istanbul, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear debbied433,

Thank you very much for sharing this post regarding your stay in May. It is a great pleasure to see that you and your family enjoyed your time with us and had the chance to experience Hotel's restaurant and the rooftop bar. It made me very happy to read your comments about the food. We are very lucky to have a brilliant Turkish executive chef who travels the whole country to find the best local products.

We look forward to welcoming you again during your future trips to Istanbul...

Best regards,

Michael Purtill
General Manager
Four Seasons Hotel Sultanahmet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantucket, Massachusetts, USA
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We have stayed in a lot of hotels over the years and is it possible that we have finally found our Nirvana? The Four Seasons Sultanahmet offers a wonderful location, a delightful transformation (from a jail), fabulous service and gorgeous rooms with a peace, a tranquility and beautiful setting into a package that was so great that we hesitated to tour Istanbul, should we just spend the day here? Of course we didn't but we could have. Accentuating the positive there are only 65 rooms so it is delightfully peaceful.

Even laundry comes back not only done perfectly but presented magnificently. It is not cheap, but it is worth every penny. We are coming back as soon as possible.

Room Tip: We think you want a courtyard view, but all the rooms seem to be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FS_Istanbul, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Martin M,

Thank you very much for sharing this post regarding your stay in May. You made our day!
I shared your review with the rest of the team, especially with laundry, as there can be no bigger motivator than our guests' comments. You have written that the Hotel is "delightfully peaceful" and I must say that your review is delighfully rewarding.

We hope you come back and visit us again "as soon as possible"- like you promised...

Best regards,

Michael Purtill
General Manager
Four Seasons Hotel Sultanahmet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

You really couldn't get a better location in Istanbul especially if you're trying to see the most famous sights, most of which are in very easy walking distance. And, of course, this being a Four Seasons, you can expect the highest possible standards of service. The rooms are beautifully decorated in keeping with the local style and materials. Look no further!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KinaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FS_Istanbul, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear KinaF,

Thank you very much for sharing this post regarding your stay in June. It is a great pleasure to read that you and your family enjoyed the location of the Hotel and had a memorable experience.

We look forward to welcoming you again during your future trips to Istanbul...

Best regards,

Michael Purtill
General Manager
Four Seasons Hotel Sultanahmet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London,England
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We have stayed in very many five star (or whatever) hotels all over the world and this hotel ranks with the best. Situated in an old prison in the old city and within a few minutes walk of Istanbul's major attractions (i.e..g., Hagia Sofia, the Blue Mosque, the Cisterns, the Grand Bazaar (if you are inclined to shop) etc. The hotel is beautifully decorated and , with only 65 rooms, also very quiet and lacking the commercial feel of a typical Four Seasons or other large luxury hotel. The inner courtyard is filled with jasmine and multiple other flowers and breakfast outdoors on the terrace is an absolute delight. The rooms are large, tastefully decorated and well-appointed and service is impeccable. I doubt that there is another hotel in Istanbul that can come close to the standard set by the Four Seasons Sultanahmet. (Caution: not to be confused with the other Four Seasons hotel in Istanbul.)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank plkmtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FS_Istanbul, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear plkmtk,

Thank you very much for sharing this post regarding your stay in May and for your kind comments. I'm happy to see that you and your friends had an enjoyable time with us and you loved the location, courtyard filled with jasmine flowers, the decoration of your rooms as well as the service.

We hope you come back and visit us again very soon...

Best regards to London,

Michael Purtill
General Manager
Four Seasons Hotel Sultanahmet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#3 of 1,154 in Istanbul
3,006 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#2 of 1,154 in Istanbul
3,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#5 of 1,154 in Istanbul
2,982 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#4 of 1,154 in Istanbul
2,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Address: Teyfikhane Sok No 1 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#4 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#9 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#13 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ebookers, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Istanbul At Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Istanbul
Istanbul Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing