We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a quiet nights sleep in Istanbul”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Ranked #17 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“a quiet nights sleep in Istanbul”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is one of the quietest hotels I have ever stayed in. Not what I expected in a city of 17m people! The staff are some of the best and the rooms are spacious and well furnished.

We upgraded both of our rooms on arrival (at a very reasonable price) and ended up with a suite and a grand deluxe king. Money well spent. The suite was more like a small apartment and the other room fitted a separate "roll in" king single to comfortably accommodate our two adult children.

We arranged a local guide through the hotel who was outstanding and managed to keep us all interested for 7 hours with a great mixture of historical sights, shopping and lunch.

The only negatives are that the hotel has no swimming pool and the hotel restaurant recommendation we received for our last night.

The Sur Baltk "beachside" fish restaurant had a busy 4 lane freeway between it and the sea and looked like a classic tourist trap.

Room Tip: Enquire about a paid upgrade on arrival
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melbourne504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FS_Istanbul, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Melbourne504,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review regarding your stay in July and sharing this post in TripAdvisor. I'm delighted to read that you and your family had an enjoyable time at our little prison. I also appreciate your feedback on the restaurant recommendation and I shared your comments with our Head Concierge.

With reference to the swimming pool, we unfortunately do not have one; however, we are lucky to have two Four Seasons in town and our sister property is home to a beautiful Spa with two pools. Our guests have the privilege of enjoying the facilities of two Four Seasons while in Istanbul.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family again in the nearest future...

Best regards to Melbourne,

Michael Purtill
General Manager
Four Seasons Hotel Sultanahmet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,300
    142
    27
    5
    4
See reviews for
314
728
65
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend to celebrate my wife's birthday. The hotel has a comfortable, homely feel that puts you at ease. The staff are immaculately attentive and overall it is everything you would expect from a Four Seasons yet is not too business-like in its style.

Plus, you can say you've stayed in a prison!!

We will definitely be back.......

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FS_Istanbul, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear James R,

Thank you very much for sharing this post regarding your stay in July and for choosing our Hotel for celebrating your wife's birthday. I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your long weekend in Istanbul and went home with memorable moments.

We look forward to welcoming you again during your future trips to Istanbul...

Best regards,

Michael Purtill
General Manager
Four Seasons Hotel Sultanahmet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Everything about the running of this hotel is exactly what one would expect of a 5 star hotel. From the moment you arrive the staff ease you to your room, quickly remember your name, greet you, assist you, whatever you need really they could not be more polite and helpful. Especially so in my case where a last minute change of travel plans upset my bookings but the manager saw to it that my stay was uninterupted.
The room and facilities were top notch with lovely comfortable beddiing. The breakfast room in the garden is wonderful and such a pleasant way to start the day and the location of the hotel is second to none both for seeing the major tourist attractions as well as having enough local bars and restaurants nearby in which to relax.
Expensive? yes. Worth it? If you think you deserve it.

Room Tip: Upper floor, courtyard view. Gorgeous view to start the day with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HKPlum_Bum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FS_Istanbul, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear HKPlum_Bum,

Thank you very much for sharing this post regarding your stay in July. I'm delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us and had a lovely experience. I had goose bumps while reading your kind comments on the attentiveness of our staff and how they made sure that you had an uninterrupted stay.

We look forward to welcoming you again during your future trips to this magical city...

Best regards,

Michael Purtill
General Manager
Four Seasons Hotel Sultanahmet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

If you are thinking Midnight Express stop and do a 180. This is a gorgeous hotel i the best walking area of the old city. The staff is amazing, even sending our packages home for us. The restaurant was wonderful and we sincerely enjoyed the Ramadan Feast. The indoor bar is nice, but the rooftop bar is amazing. Our last night in Turkey we had a gorgeous view of the New Mosque and Blue Mosque and the beautiful lights of the city. If you want a central location in the best of hotls, this is it.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FS_Istanbul, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Gary B,

Thank you very much for sharing this post regarding your stay in July. I'm happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us and went home with memorable moments from the Hotel. There can be no greater motivator than our guests' comments.

We hope you come back and visit us again very soon...

Best regards,

Michael Purtill
General Manager
Four Seasons Hotel Sultanahmet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Service is excellent. Some of the best I have ever seen. And not just the concierge and the front desk, absolutely every member of the staff works and is engaged in making your visit the best possible. Location: In the middle of the old city. You can walk to many of the major sites within 5 minutes; so its ideal for a short trip to these areas. More distant sites are within 10-20 minutes by car or taxi. Food is phenomenal.
You should know … the food is excellent, but onsite is limited to the one restaurant and the bars. Which was more than sufficient. There are very limited fine dining options close by, other than this hotel. So plan accordingly. The concierge took care of all of these arrangements for us including transportation to and from, and their recommendations were always perfect – whether a fantastic lunch in the old city, or fine dining along the Bosporus.
The lack of a pool was the only limiting factor. The Spa service was very nice, but small.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the Hagia Sophia
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldwideMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FS_Istanbul, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear WorldwideMax,

Thank you very much for sharing this post regarding your stay in July. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your time with us. There can be no bigger motivator than our guests' comments. Thank you for all your kind words about the Concierge service and the food quality at Hotel's outlets. I must say that your comments about the attentiveness of our staff made my day.

I appreciate your emphasis on the pool and Spa services. Kindly note that our sister Hotel, Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at the Bosphorus has a spacious Spa with two pools, where our guests can enjoy the shared services.

We hope you come back and visit us again very soon...

Best regards,

Michael Purtill
General Manager
Four Seasons Hotel Sultanahmet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

A converted prison that is in the BEST location of Istanbul to see the sights. Once a prison now converted to a beautiful secluded hotel. The inner garden for breakfast is wonderful. The roof top bar and the bar staff are amazing. Great drinks and great views of the mosques one way and the sea the other. Lots of good restaurants walking distance. Try booking a private guide with the concierge- best way to see Istanbul and well worth it. The concierge and front door staff are exceptional and helped us with a little emergency situation. A great hotel in a great city! This was our second stay- first was 15 years ago- still how I remembered it- the best!!!!

Room Tip: Get an inner facing room and you not as likely to be woken up by the prayers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AL1YYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FS_Istanbul, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear AL1YYZ,

Thank you very much for sharing this post regarding your stay in June. It is such a big pleasure to see that you came back to visit us again after 15 years! We loved every word you wrote about our little "prison" and we are happy to read that you enjoyed your second stay as well.

We look forward to welcoming you back during your future trips to Istanbul...

Best regards,

Michael Purtill
General Manager
Four Seasons Hotel Sultanahmet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I belong to the Ritz Carlton, Starwood and Intercontinental loyalty programs. This is my first experience of a Four Seasons hotel and I'm blown away by the faultless service and total commitment to the guest experience. I have since found out that Four Seasons has no loyalty program as it is held that it is the FS experience that will bring people back. I am won over.

The Four Seasons at Sultanahmet is a quiet oasis in the middle of the busy Sultanahmet District, no more than 15 minutes' walk from Haya Sofiya, the Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and the Grand Bazar. The hotel has an excellent restaurant set amidst a charming and inviting garden. The rooftop terrace is open virtually all day and has wonderful views of Haya Sofiya and the Bosphorus, and serves drinks and food from 3.00pm. Wonderful staff.

Service was faultless - anticipating our needs as well as responding to requests instantly and courteously. The entire experience was seemless, from first contact a few days before we arrived to check, for example, on our preferred room temperature through to a water taxi being arranged by the Concierge Desk at 15 minutes' notice when we were at a restaurant far from the Hotel. We asked for late checkout and as our room had to be prepared for a new guest we were offered another room for a few hours at no charge where we could freshen up and rest after a morning sightseeing before we headed to the airport.

A stunning chocolate mousse cake was delivered on our arrival for my birthday and complimentary hors d'oeuvres were laid out in our room at the end of each day.

Special thanks to Engin Alper, Guest Experience Manager, and to the Chief Concierge.

This is the Gold Standard in hotels. We had a delightful stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FS_Istanbul, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Peter F,

I can not thank you enough for taking the time to write such a detailed review about your stay in July. We are honored to receive a "bravo" and you can be assured that I shared your comments with the rest of the team, especially with Engin and Head Concierge, as there can be no greater motivator than our guests' comments.

I'm happy to read that you had a delightful stay with us and I hope you come back and visit us again very soon...

Best regards,

Michael Purtill
General Manager
Four Seasons Hotel Sultanahmet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,947 reviews
Besiktas
Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,141 in Istanbul
3,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
Beyoglu
Tomtom Suites
Tomtom Suites
#8 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,003 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#4 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Address: Teyfikhane Sok No 1 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#4 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#9 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#14 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline, Prestigia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Istanbul At Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Istanbul
Istanbul Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing