We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Ali Baba Hotel(Istanbul)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Park(Istanbul)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Uyan Hotel(Istanbul)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Nayla Palace(Istanbul)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,647)
Filter reviews
1,647 results
Traveller rating
1,454
154
28
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,454
154
28
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshagia sophiaseasons restaurantold cityrooftop barblue mosqueinner courtyardluxury hotelbeautiful hotelconcierge staffgrand bazaarperfect locationturkeyhotel experiencemajor sitesbaklavabasilica cisterncall to prayer
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
657 - 662 of 1,647 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Our first stay here and found it well deserving of its reputation as one of the world's finest hotels. Location adjacent to Hagia Sofia and Blue Mosque is a wonderful bonus, but this hotel could be located anywhere and still be considered a world best. Service was impeccable (including when I told the staff I wanted to handle my own bags, which normally throws top-notch hotels into a tizzy), the restaurants, bars and courtyards are an oasis from the bustle of Old Town, and the rooms are spectacular. Expensive, but well worth the splurge. Would rank in my top three hotels in the world (Peninsula Hong Kong and Domaine des Hautes de Loire in France being the other two).

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank ralph099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FS_Istanbul, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear ralph099,

Thank you very much for sharing this post regarding your stay in July. We are flattered with your kind comments and we feel honored to be recognized as one of the best hotels in the world. Nothing can be a greater motivator than our guests' comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the nearest future..

Best regards,

Michael Purtill
General Manager
Four Seasons Hotel Sultanahmet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I was simply amazed at the level of excellence here. This was my first stay and I found the rooms to be very well appointed, spacious and beautifully designed. The staff were outstanding. Everyone from the front door, to the front desk, through the restaurants to the housekeeping staff were all a cut above what I have experienced in many years of IStanbul hotels.
I highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Istanbul.It was so beautiful & well appointed.
There are small negative things but no need to share.

Room Tip: try to get room with wiev of wonderfull Bospo. small tips will help you sometimes :)
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank UMUTCESMECI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FS_Istanbul, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear UMUTCESMECI,

Thank you very much for sharing this post regarding your stay in December 2013 and for recommending our Hotel to other travelers. I'm delighted to read that you had a pleasant time with us during your business trip and sorry to hear that there were a few issues which were not up to your expectation. However, it is a relief to see that you had a memorable experience overall and our staff ensured the level of service Four Seasons is well known for.

We look forward to being your host again during your future trips to Istanbul...

Best regards,

Michael Purtill
General Manager
Four Seasons Hotel Sultanahmet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

When traveling to Istanbul, you'll find that you can stay in old town or new town. Most of the tourist locations are in old town, and it's nice to be able to get out of your hotel and immediately be surrounded by the culture and landmarks. However, all of the major hotel brands (Ritz, Hilton, Marriott, etc.) sit across the river in the new part of Istanbul, either by Taksim or by the Bosphorus. The best way to travel between old town and new is by tram (20 mins). However, the traveling really dampens the experience. Being in old town is a must! You'll want to avoid the small boutique hotels for the most part (though some are decent). If you want a clean, beautiful, luxurious hotel, and an unforgettable experience, go with the Four Seasons Sultanahmet. The location is perfect, you cannot be any closer to the Hagia Sofia (There is actually no closer hotel). The hotel is filled with history, and was originally a. political prison, though the accommodations have improved substantially! The price is high, but it's absolutely worth every penny. The breakfast is served every morning in a gorgeous flower-filled courtyard, with high walls that offer an escape from the hustle and bustle. When going to Istanbul, choose this historical hotel and make a memory that will last a lifetime!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mateo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FS_Istanbul, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Mateo D,

Thank you very much for sharing this post regarding your stay in July and for recommending our little prison to other travelers. I'm delighted to read that you were happy with your choice of Hotel in Istanbul and found Four Seasons Sultanahmet convenient for your excursions in the Old Town. At Four Seasons, we think of ourselves as memory makers and your last sentence made me have goose bumps because this is exactly our ultimate goal: "make a memory that will last a lifetime"...

We look forward to welcoming you again in the nearest future...

Best regards,

Michael Purtill
General Manager
Four Seasons Hotel Sultanahmet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This property beautifully lives up to the Four Seasons name. It was so beautiful & well appointed. The staff was super friendly & helpful. It was comfortable with an amazing breakfast each morning in the garden. We went a couple nights to take in the view from the rooftop bar & it was spectacular! It was the perfect location to walk to the Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace & Hagia Sofia. But we walked many places & had a grand time. If you can, go! Istanbul is amazing & the hotel is joy!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sassypants01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FS_Istanbul, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Sassypants01,

Thank you very much for sharing this post regarding your stay in June and I'm delighted to read that you and your family had a grand vacation in this magical city. I totally agree with you that Istanbul is amazing.

It is a great pleasure to see that you enjoyed breakfast at our beautiful courtyard and you spent time at the rooftop terrace, which is absolutely stunning with the breathtaking view of the Old Town.

We hope you come back and visit us again very soon...

Best regards,

Michael Purtill
General Manager
Four Seasons Hotel Sultanahmet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is one of the quietest hotels I have ever stayed in. Not what I expected in a city of 17m people! The staff are some of the best and the rooms are spacious and well furnished.

We upgraded both of our rooms on arrival (at a very reasonable price) and ended up with a suite and a grand deluxe king. Money well spent. The suite was more like a small apartment and the other room fitted a separate "roll in" king single to comfortably accommodate our two adult children.

We arranged a local guide through the hotel who was outstanding and managed to keep us all interested for 7 hours with a great mixture of historical sights, shopping and lunch.

The only negatives are that the hotel has no swimming pool and the hotel restaurant recommendation we received for our last night.

The Sur Baltk "beachside" fish restaurant had a busy 4 lane freeway between it and the sea and looked like a classic tourist trap.

Room Tip: Enquire about a paid upgrade on arrival
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Melbourne504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FS_Istanbul, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Melbourne504,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review regarding your stay in July and sharing this post in TripAdvisor. I'm delighted to read that you and your family had an enjoyable time at our little prison. I also appreciate your feedback on the restaurant recommendation and I shared your comments with our Head Concierge.

With reference to the swimming pool, we unfortunately do not have one; however, we are lucky to have two Four Seasons in town and our sister property is home to a beautiful Spa with two pools. Our guests have the privilege of enjoying the facilities of two Four Seasons while in Istanbul.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family again in the nearest future...

Best regards to Melbourne,

Michael Purtill
General Manager
Four Seasons Hotel Sultanahmet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews