We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolute perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Ranked #17 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, the Czech Republic
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Absolute perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2008

We have been in Istanbul for second time in last two years. For our first visit we selected hotel recommended by our airlines. It was absolute catastrophe. I promised myself that for our next visit I will choose Four Seasons (I very much liked the location of this hotel). And I made the right decision :o)

I am of the opinion that you need every detail to be perfect in order to get perfect result. And I am quite sure that this is exactly the philospohy of this hotel management.

The staff was very friendly and helpful (including front desk, room services, waiters, concierge, luggage boys, drivers) and was really willing to help us wit all our needs.

We were upgraded to better category of room without any charge.

The overall architecture of the hotel was very beautiful. Our room was very spacious with big beautiful bathroom, big plasma TV etc. Everything was absolutely clean and the furniture seemed if it was just few days old.

The breakfest (we selected each time the "traditional turkish breakfest") was great. We had not any dinner in the hotel as we went out with our friends living in Istanbul.

We selected the limousine service for the journey back to the Ataturk airport (as we had negative experience with local taxi driver from airport to the hotel). The car was very pleasant and we also very much aprreciated the assistance of the hotel employee at the airport (help with luggage, security checks..).

The hotel was quite expensive (not so much expensive compared to some other facilities...) but the level of received services was excellent.

The only "negative" points for me was rather long waiting time for breakfest on Sunday and absence of "turkish steam bath" in the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank CzechTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,264
    139
    27
    4
    4
See reviews for
302
707
64
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2008

The Four Seasons at Sultanahmet is converted from an old prison used in the early part of the 20th century to house dissident politicians and writers. The conversion into a luxury Four Seasons property has made excellent use of the original architectural features and created an international hotel which, with only 65 rooms, still manages to have a boutique feel. We got a great welcome and on request were upgraded to a better room overlooking the inner courtyard - a haven of peace after the bustle of Istanbul's streets. The rooms are large and well appointed. There's a complimentary fruit basket in the room each day. There is also the usual minibar but it would be nice if there were also tea and coffee-making facilities in the room. The hotel itself was very quiet when we were there - as was Istanbul generally it being out of season. The only slight disappointment was the hotel breakfast - we longed for the sumptuous buffets you get in some places instead of the rather indifferent quality of the cooked food in the mornings from the hotel kitchen. Other than that, staying in the Four Seasons was a real pleasure and its proximity to the major sites - Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace etc - is a big bonus. Special mention should be made of the concierge service who went out of the their way to be helpful.

  • Liked — Location and comfort
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank returnjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Mountains, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2008

We knew within minutes of our arrival that we had made the write decision to stay at the Four Seasons Sultananhmet. The archetecture is exceptional. A very sympathetic restoration of an old prison, with outstanding attention to detail, leaving the many of the original features of the prison, but resored to true luxurious fitment that the Four Seasons has become known for.

The location could not be more central, with all the 'old town' sights such as the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topikia Palace, Hippodrome, Cisterns, Grand Bazaar, Spice market all within easy walking distance.

You get a sense of being off the beaten track however as the hotel is in a wondeful neighbourhood full of wiinding streets and brightly coloured buildings. The streets are filled with less expensive bars and roof top restaurants, and less pushy merchants in a range of interesting shops. You can walk for hours in the district that is so historic and full of local colur.

I cannot comment on the restaurant or bar, as we had so many options around the hotel, we didn't eat there at all.

The staff are exceptionaly well trained, and anticipated our every need. Very helpful and genuinely friendly without being in your face. We were upgraded to a beautiful expansive suite on the third floor (323), with views of both the sea and the beautifully manicured gardens of the courtyard, for a moderate cost.

The room had all the luxuries you would expect, ( 3 Plasma TV's and DVD's, large soaking tub with views of the sea, exquisite linens and down duvet and oversized pilows, rainforest shower), but we appreciated the Bose iPod docking station the most.

The staff were very willing to share thier local knowledge, of where to go and what and when to see, and this also helped us miss the crowds and find those rare and special places.

We really liked the size of the hotel, only 65 rooms as it made the experience, much more personal and intimate, as you would normally only get from a small boutique property.

Full business services in the hotel, as well as a Spa and fitness centre.

We highly recommend this property, and are sure you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Elenriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2008

If you can afford it (and that's a big if at these prices), this is THE place to stay in Istanbul. I stayed here first in 2003 and again last month (2008). I almost didn't stay here again because of the price; that would have been a huge mistake. This fabulous hotel is flawless and worth the price of admission. For first time visitors to Istanbul it is the absolute best location possible and that's just the beginning. The concierge, the front desk staff, the door staff, housekeeping--everyone there is looking out for you and taking care of you at all times. It's a small hotel so they know you by name and address you as such. We were traveling with family members who stayed at other hotels, when they came to the Four Seasons to meet up with us the hotel staff not only knew when we were there and when we weren't, but also recognized our traveling companions immediately and would tell them as soon as they came through the front door ("Oh, I'm sorry you just missed them"). Now that's service. The rooms are wonderfully appointed (flat screen tvs, l'occitane products) and exceptionally quiet. My room had a balcony with an amazing view of Hagia Sophia. There is a nice, well-equipped gym (including sauna), which is somewhat rare in European hotels; it's a little small but has everything you need for a good workout. The only downside to this hotel is the price, not only is it expensive per night but once you're there nothing is free or cheap: internet access 22 euro per day, simple breakfast for two 55 euro; dinner 100 euro pp, etc. Nevertheless, it's worth every penny.

  • Liked — The location and overall fabulousness
  • Disliked — the price! but it's worth it
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dicooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, bg
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2008

we went for 2 nights family of 4 (2 young girls)

it is a perfect oasis in the best location of Istanbul. you can go out see the city and escape back to this island of luxury

one of the best hotels in the world

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IamJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2008

We returned recently from a wonderful three day stay at the Four Seasons Istanbul at Sultanahmet. We had five star treatments from the moment we arrived. The property is beautiful and the BEST location in the city for sightseeing. We had a room on the fourth floor since we requested a balcony with a inner courtyard view as well as the Blue Mosque and the Bosporus. The room was plenty big and very luxurious - a la Four Seasons. Huge bathrooms. If you want a private balcony with a great view - it's perfect.

Otherwise the third floor would be great, any lower your view is limited. You definietly want a courtyard room - outside rooms are the least desirable. One advantage to the fourth floor is that there are two additional balconies on both ends of the floor. It made it very convenient to sit outside and relax. One balcony had the lounge chairs set up like a pool area. That side was ideal for a little privacy and a spectacular view. The other side had the balcony bar. We have traveled extensively and this city hotel is one of the best and worth the money. The concierge recommended a great outdoor fish restaurant in walking distance, a nice inexpensive breakfast place, and we dined in the hotel restaurant for our last night’s dinner. The ambience of dining in the courtyard, excellent food and service, made a wonderful evening.

It was priced reasonable for the hotel. You were known and greeted by name from the moment you arrived and until you checked out. We needed cabs to go to the airport very early in the morning. The hotel arranged for them to arrive on time, paid them and added it to our hotel bill (as we were out of Turkish Lira). Five Stars all the way.

  • Liked — Five Star Service and a magnificent property. Best location in Istanbul for sightseeing.
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SkiandSkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2008

Finally got around to writing this review - we stayed 4 days in June. First time we visited Istanbul so we arranged in advance through the four seasons to be picked up from the airport. We could not find the driver when we got through the customs area. It was a mess and we almost ended up with some rip-off car service so I would strongly recomend that the hotel has some better way of locating their guest when they arive. After we finally found our car and driver, things went a bit better!
We were tired from the long flight and the airport issues and the first room that we were shown just didn't get it! It was dark and at the back of the property, the windows looked out over a "dig" - I called it a constructions site! And there was some kind of noise making machinerey that drove me nuts all night! I insisted that they find us a better room the next day or we would check out! FINALLY we "made a deal" and ended up with the Presidential Suite! It ended up costing us about double our regular room rate but it made up for some of the issues, I guess?!
The location of the property is great - all of the other reviews have already covered that. You can walk to most of the sites that you will want to see. One caveat though is when ever and where ever you walk people pester you trying to sell you rugs and other crap! Like a mexican beach on steriods!
The restauant is nothing special.
Common areas are well kept, the courtyard is beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neil-from-Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#8 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,919 reviews
Besiktas
Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
Beyoglu
Tomtom Suites
Tomtom Suites
#7 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#18 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Address: Teyfikhane Sok No 1 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#4 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#9 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#13 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Istanbul At Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Istanbul
Istanbul Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing