We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Ranked #17 of 1,120 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Manhattan Beach CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2010

This is one of the unique Four Seasons properties, in the same vein as the George V or the Santa Barbara Biltmore and the entire experience was on par with a stay at those two hotels. The location is tremendous and to have an after dinner drink at the roof top bar overlooking the nearby landmarks is a treat unto itself. Service was impeccable and the concierges, in particular, were excellent. Although on the small size, the exercise room was immaculate and the rooms were wonderfully furnished. I would recommend this hotel to anybody traveling to Istanbul.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBtraveler89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,245
    136
    27
    4
    4
See reviews for
294
698
63
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2010

This is probably one of the top Four Seasons properties we have ever stayed at. We had originally planned to stay in the Ritz Carlton but, while it is a nice hotel, we found it rather out of the way. The Four Seasons Sultanahment is right in the heart of things. From the window of our room we could see Aya Sofia and were within a five minutes walk of both Aya Sofia and the Blue Mosque. The food, while a bit pricey, was very good. The staff, however, was amazing. This is the service that you expect from a Five Star property.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick_Brent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

There have been alot of reviews of this hotel already so I shall try to keep this short.......

We are regular Four Seasons Hotel guests having stayed now at several properties including Beverly Hills, Shanghai, Hong Kong, Amman to only name a few, but I was more than impressed with this establishment in Istanbul. It is the winner for me.

It is true that it is a peaceful haven from the palava outside. Once you are through that front door there is an immediate sense of "phew! I can relax now!" We had the king deluxe room on the 2nd floor and the high ceilings gave a sense of a bigger room than it probably was. However having said that it was an excellent sized room, perfect for the 2 of us. I felt right at home and comfortable in the room and I even slept like a log which is saying something as I am a light sleeper. We appreciated and very much enjoyed the tasty morsels delivered to the room each day such as the lokum, chocolate cake, macarons and truffles. Lovely!

We had breakfast each morning in the delightful courtyard surrounded by the curious sparrows and the flowers. It was a gorgeous way to begin the day. And in the evening, do enjoy a drink on the roof terrace and don't forget your camera because the view is truly out of this world.

It is a stone's throw from all the major sites in the Old City (as others have reported) and make sure you try the turkish baths down the road (only if you are not shy) We also enjoyed the chartered yacht on the Bosphorus. They were two of the highlights for me.

You truly cannot do better for the location in this part of town. The service was excellent and overall, the hotel exudes a certain charm and a sense of tranquility in an often overwhemling city. I highly recommend this hotel and if you do stay, then I hope you enjoy it as much as I did because I have nothing but happy memories.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelBug79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
83 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2010

the location of the Fours Seasons Istanbul at Sultanahmet can't be beat. it is centrally located in the historical part of Istanbul with Aya Sophya, the Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, the Grand Bazaar, all within walking distance. the city is noisy but it is tranquil and peaceful at this hotel. almost all rooms face the courtyard with a few on the top floors having views of the Aya Sophya. the service is impeccable. the concierge was able to line up a tour guide for us within one hour of arrival. try out the roof top bar which has a fantastic view of Aya Sophya and distant view of the Bosphorus. the restaurant in the courtyard is equally excellent - breakfast buffet has everything. for dinner, try the Ottoman Empire menu - very very good and is updated with modern twist.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hpmarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2010

It's a Four Seasons; it's a prison. Both true, both tugging the hotel in different directions. The rooms are pure Four Seasons: not overtly opulent, but well appointed, with great beds and good linens. The view, however, is pure prison: small windows overlooking not the city, but the internal courtyards as you realise your room was once a cell, and the outward views would, even if a complete reorganisation of space were possible, be blocked by the high walls, designed to keep former 'guests' in.

And forgive us if we didn't feel like spending too much time in the spa after a staff member gleefully alerted us to its former use as "torture rooms". A secret, from here on, they may wish to keep to themselves.

But how does the FS Sultanahmet function as a hotel? Very well, within its limits. Space constrictions mean there's no pool, and outdoor space is limited to the central courtyard and the two small roof-terraces (both with gorgeous views of the Blue Mosque and Bosphorus, intricately populated with snapshots from local life dotted on the surrounding roof-terraces). The cherry-and-apple water at the entrance, flanked by the most lovely flowers we have ever seen are a testament to the exceptional service the hotel offers - the concierge, manager and general staff all beyond reproach.

Although expensive, we did not feel overly ripped-off at any point, except for my own pet-hate: pay-internet. As with many other five-star hotels, Four Seasons travellers should buy an Apple Airport Express or other portable router - otherwise only one computer (iPad, iPhone etc) may access the internet per paid account; an extortionate anachronism in this day and age.

The location itself is both a plus and a minus: close to the most important Istanbul sights for weekend-break travellers (though beware the rug salesmen that will stalk you from the hotel exit), much of the city's actual life is centred around the other European side - over an hour away during the peak of Istanbul's hellish rush-hour. As we were in Istanbul to juggle both sightseeing and a four-day wedding of friends on the other European side, we decided to move to the Four Seasons Bosphorus for the last three nights of our trip, the travel kindly arranged free-of-charge by the Sultanahmet's management.

(Continued at Four Seasons Bosphorus)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BochanTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
princeton, new jersey
Level Contributor
134 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2010

We just came back from a 5 day stay at the Four Seasons Sultanahmet and I couldn't be happier. The accomodations were fabulous and in my opinion, worth every penny. The service was unparalleled and in fact, when the front desk did not have a certain product that was needed one of the bellmen accompanied my teenage daughter to a local drugstore laid out the money for her so that she could get what she needed and he did so in a discrete manner!!!

The room was very spacious and comfortable and the bathroom was the best that I have seen in any hotel. This was really welcome for us as we had just come off of a week long cruise in the Greek Isles on a sail boat where our cabin was tiny so it felt good to stretch out.

The buffet breakfast is good but a bit pricey but that is to be expected in a hotel of this type. The location of the hotel is perfect, just around the corner from all of the major attractions and also around the corner from a very busy and colorful street that has a ton of cafes and restaurants. So you can have great touring and great night life and then walk back to the tranquility of the hotel where they always welcome you back. The concierge was also very helpful in choosing restaurants and he would call ahead for us and then it was certain that we got First class treatment as guests of the hotel.


If you can afford it, go all the way for the luxury of the Four Seasons, this particular hotel is full of history and the accomodations are fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank candicaneadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
152 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2010

You book at FS expecting high standards and high prices.Normally this quality chain delivers.
Here we were met at the Airport and checked in smoothly and our room had a nice terrace with good views.The city centre location is unrivaled if somewhat noisy with the call to prayer dominating the rest period.
Then came dinner.A nice setting in the courtyard but very pricey even by FS standards but the quality was just not up to standard.A very average rib eye steak was served with a few crushed potatoes.No veg, salad or sauces.A risotto lacked the required texture.Our complaints were muted compared to the ajoining table who were going to town berating the hard pressed staff and demanding everything from a free bottle of wine to a free meal.
Breakfast was OK but the eggs on the buffett looked like they had been there since the city was known as Constantinople!
Finally the hotel lost our bags delaying our departure to our Cruise ship by 25 minutes.Fortunately we were not on a tight schedule.
FS you must do better than this.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank second row
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,120 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,901 reviews
Besiktas
Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,120 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#3 of 1,120 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Beyoglu
Tomtom Suites
Tomtom Suites
#8 of 1,120 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Besiktas
Raffles Istanbul
Raffles Istanbul
#10 of 1,120 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Address: Teyfikhane Sok No 1 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#4 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#9 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#14 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Istanbul At Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Istanbul
Istanbul Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing