We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, wonderful staff, good value for money”
Review of Uyan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Uyan Hotel
Ranked #194 of 1,171 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2011

I stayed here for four nights and really enjoyed my stay. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly – nothing was too much bother. I thought the breakfast buffet was good value for money and the free Internet access was much appreciated. The hotel is located slap bang in the middle of the main tourist district so it's easy to get your bearings. You can walk to all the main attractions – even down to the harbour area and the tram/buses to the Tunel district stop close to the hotel.

Overall I was really satisfied with the hotel and will stay there again – there is so much to do and see in this fabulous city that one weekend just isn’t enough!
However, I must mention the one slightly negative experience we had. We booked a “small” double room online and were surprised how cheap it was. Once I saw the room, I realised why! The room was TINY – approx. 12 sq m. After one night we decided to upgrade (we had to pay a little extra because the only room available was a deluxe double. The second room was fabulous - a king bed plus a single, massive bathroom with a Jacuzzi tub. There was nothing wrong with the first room apart from the size and I’m sure a lot of people would have preferred to put up with that and spend the extra money on shopping or going out for dinner etc. But after one night I was already sick of stepping over my trolley to get to the loo – there was only room for one of our cases in the bedroom so mine was stashed in the bathroom!

Despite having to pay extra, the “huge” double was still terrific value for money! And I would definitely recommend this hotel – just be aware that if you book a (cheap) small double that it will be rather cosy!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murf32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (615)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 615 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2011

Very impressed!
I stayed here for less then a week and I don’t think I could have found a better hotel. The place was very clean, relaxing and in a fantastic part of the city (around the corner from Aya Sofia and the Blus Mosque. 15 minutes walk, or two tram stops, from The Grand Bazaar). The prices were very resonable as well. Couldn’t recommend this place more. There are lots of different shops and resturants nearby too. It was very nice hearing the call to pray at different times of the day because of all the mosques nearby.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharleyWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2011

Hotel Uyan was our first stop in Turkey--which was my first trip abroad in quite some time. I was a bit nervous about dropping into this new culture, but Hotel Uyan was a wonderful introduction. We were picked up at the airport without a hitch after having made reservations online and from start to finish everyone was so friendly and helpful. We especially loved breakfast on the roof, looking out over the storied Istanbul skyline. If you're looking for a simple, clean, quiet hotel in the heart of Sultanahmet, look no further!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amygutman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

A hotel very close to the big mosques in Istanbul. You meet a really friendly staff who is ready to help. On floor 4 you find the breakfast buffé with more to offer than expected for the hotel rating - free access to internet nearby. Upstairs the breakfastroom you have a terrace with an spectacular view of Hagia Sofia and The Blue Mosque.A frech looking bathroom and comfortable double beds, turkish carpets on the floor - and a wake up call from the minarets make you feel nearly like a sultan.
If you are going shopping you walk from the hotel in 10-15 minutes and the you are at the Grand Bazar.

. We really recommend the hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annemarikbergstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

My partner and I decided to stay in Istanbul for 1 night coming back from Doha with Turkish Airlines. We really didn't want to spend much considering we were staying there for such a short time. Hotel Uyan accommodates perfectly those short stays. It was clean, the room was large and the bed comfortable. However, we were on the ground floor (room 103) and you could hear the entire world come 7am in the morning. The breakfast was decent and included in the price also. Service overall was average. The woman at reception was not so friendly, although the doorman was a darling.

I can't wait to go back to Istanbul but I won't be returning to Hotel Uyan I'm afraid. Lastly - it's by no way a 4 star. Better to say a 2+.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2011

I stayed here with my girlfriend over Valentines this year. We paid around £40 a night so weren't expecting the world, and the deal included breakfast.....but were disappointed on arrival to be allocated a room approximately 3ft from the reception, 1ft from the office, and one that contained twin beds...great for Valentines. Not. Its room 101 by the way. It was fine inside, but being that close to people checking in, coming back, leaving in the morning was quite off-putting. Next day we asked to move, and luckily they were able to get us room 303 which was a double with a balcony, probably smaller than the last one but one that felt much more comfortable.

My experience was that the hotel was super clean, in an amazing location (you can walk anywhere from it), and has lots of character. At £40 a night, i think it represents amazing value and i'd happily stay there again. I'd recommend Turquoise Restaurant which is nearby too.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brodiej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2011

We had a very enjoyable stay, the hotel is peaceful and attractively decorated and furnished as well as very well run with friendly helpful staff always willing to go the extra mile to help out.

Thoroughly recommended as a real bargain!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyDaMata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
#322 of 1,171 in Istanbul
399 reviews
Sultanahmet
Seven Hills Hotel
Seven Hills Hotel
#138 of 1,171 in Istanbul
618 reviews
Sultanahmet
Side Hotel and Pension
Side Hotel and Pension
#287 of 1,171 in Istanbul
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#72 of 1,171 in Istanbul
752 reviews
Sultanahmet
Burckin Suites Hotel
Burckin Suites Hotel
#348 of 1,171 in Istanbul
451 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Valide Sultan Konagi
Hotel Valide Sultan Konagi
#183 of 1,171 in Istanbul
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uyan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uyan Hotel

Address: Utangac Sokak No 25 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#100 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#150 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#200 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £34 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Uyan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Uyan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uyan Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing