We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“latest on uyan”
Review of Uyan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Uyan Hotel
Ranked #195 of 1,134 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“latest on uyan”
Reviewed 6 May 2011

We were recommended to stay here by several friends who were there last year. First it is an ideal location!! I can't say enough about the ease to everything...our lonest walk was to dinner and it was only 15 minutes. Our room was OK.......they were full this week....it had 1 window and VERY low lighting on the 2nd floor...........wish we could have gotten a better room. Alomost all the staff were friendly..........but very quiet unless spoken to first. For a good quick meal go to the corner and turn left to Haggia.....there is a small restaurant........med ceviz is the name. Tony runs it and he is phenomenal!! All of his staff is awesome......food is good and tasty. He will treat you like a brother..he is from NYC.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chhase243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    221
    44
    6
    13
See reviews for
110
223
90
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

This is a delightful hotel, ideally situated in the heart of Sultanahmet. It is about a 7 minute walk from the Sultanahmet Tram stop, between the Blue Mosque and the Haga Sophia.
We were given a warm and friendly greeting from the hotel staff who were all smiles when we dragged ourselves in at around 1am. We each had a single room, and although small, they were comfortable and clean. Breakfast is served each morning on the top floor and offers a nice variety of Turkish cheeses, meats, breads, and the usual selection of cereals and yogurts.
The staff are friendly, courteous, and helpful. They are always on hand to answer any questions you may have or to give assistance or advice on local tours.

The hotel’s fantastic roof terrace offers the best possible view of the Mosque – you could literally spend hours sitting in the sun, mesmerized by the presence of it. The terrace also offers a sea view, although it is mostly blocked by another hotel. It’s a lovely place to sit and enjoy the sounds and smells of Istanbul after a long day of touring the city.

The hotel is ideally located, with lots of great restaurants and cafes within walking distance. I don’t believe I have anything negative to say about it – it was perfect for what we needed it for and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EtainVeronique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2011

My lifelong dream of travelling to Istanbul came true in March 2011. My stay at Uyan Hotel only enhanced my visit o Istanbul. The hotel is incredibly clean, situated on a quiet steet but just steps away from the breathtaking Blue Mosque, Aya Sofia and Topkapi Palace. It is also close to the Tram, making it very easy to access other parts of the city.

The hotel is beautifully decorated and has a lot of character and charm. The rooms are well furnished, comfortable and clean. The room rates are very reasonable .The staff are friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family visitng Istanbul. I hope to get another chance to travel to Istanbul and woiuld most certainly stay at Uyan Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catlover75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oaxaca, Mexico
Level Contributor
284 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2011

Hotel Uyan - At first glance we were a bit nervous after our Barcelona hotel and our room was a bit dark -- but large. The staff happily moved us to 307 which was a floor up and had 3 large windows. The room was quiet and it was easy to sleep till 9:00 am. From our roof top, we could practically touch the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia minarets. Four seasons Hotel was just steps away. Room was the biggest we'd stayed in since starting our trip. Bed was large too. Big enough for two women to sleep comfortably. Breakfast was included and plentiful. Overall ratings: Looks 3; staff 5, location 5 and price 4.

Room Tip: Ask for a bright room or corner room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank springstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2011

We booked this hotel on spec from the UK and could not have made a better choice. The Manager and his staff are extremely attentive and helpful. The location is absolutely ideal for visiting all the highlights which Istanbul has to offer. It is also in an excellent place for restaurants etc, which the staff are able to recommend. The room is spacious and very clean, with an especially well appointed bathroom. The breakfast is also a highlight, plenty of choice and a good time span. There is also a roof terrace with spectacular views to the sea and the Blue Mosque. I can’t wait to return, and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GPO2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2011

I stayed here for four nights and really enjoyed my stay. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly – nothing was too much bother. I thought the breakfast buffet was good value for money and the free Internet access was much appreciated. The hotel is located slap bang in the middle of the main tourist district so it's easy to get your bearings. You can walk to all the main attractions – even down to the harbour area and the tram/buses to the Tunel district stop close to the hotel.

Overall I was really satisfied with the hotel and will stay there again – there is so much to do and see in this fabulous city that one weekend just isn’t enough!
However, I must mention the one slightly negative experience we had. We booked a “small” double room online and were surprised how cheap it was. Once I saw the room, I realised why! The room was TINY – approx. 12 sq m. After one night we decided to upgrade (we had to pay a little extra because the only room available was a deluxe double. The second room was fabulous - a king bed plus a single, massive bathroom with a Jacuzzi tub. There was nothing wrong with the first room apart from the size and I’m sure a lot of people would have preferred to put up with that and spend the extra money on shopping or going out for dinner etc. But after one night I was already sick of stepping over my trolley to get to the loo – there was only room for one of our cases in the bedroom so mine was stashed in the bathroom!

Despite having to pay extra, the “huge” double was still terrific value for money! And I would definitely recommend this hotel – just be aware that if you book a (cheap) small double that it will be rather cosy!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murf32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2011

Very impressed!
I stayed here for less then a week and I don’t think I could have found a better hotel. The place was very clean, relaxing and in a fantastic part of the city (around the corner from Aya Sofia and the Blus Mosque. 15 minutes walk, or two tram stops, from The Grand Bazaar). The prices were very resonable as well. Couldn’t recommend this place more. There are lots of different shops and resturants nearby too. It was very nice hearing the call to pray at different times of the day because of all the mosques nearby.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharleyWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
#269 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Sultanahmet
Seven Hills Hotel
Seven Hills Hotel
#179 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sari Konak
Hotel Sari Konak
#130 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
The Magnaura Palace
The Magnaura Palace
#135 of 1,134 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Palace Hotel
Sultanahmet Palace Hotel
#384 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Sultanahmet
Adamar Hotel
Adamar Hotel
#63 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uyan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uyan Hotel

Property: Uyan Hotel
Address: Utangac Sokak No 25 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#91 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#92 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#101 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#149 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#202 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Uyan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Uyan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uyan Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing