We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great find”
Review of Uyan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Uyan Hotel
Ranked #188 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed 13 May 2011

We enjoyed our stay in this hotel, conveniently located in the Sultanahmet. Our room was a good size, comfortable beds, jacuzzi tub, big windows opening to views of the Bosphorus. The breakfast was served in a bright room that led to a rooftop area with spectacular views of the Blue Mosque and Hagai Sophia. The food was fresh and attractively served. The staff was helpful and attentive. highly recommend.

Room Tip: We liked our room 307.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jnas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    221
    44
    6
    13
See reviews for
110
223
90
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

The Hotel is situated a few minutes walk from the major tourist attractionsof Istanbul. On the roof terrace there are fine views of the Blue Mosque and the surrounding area. The front of the Hotel is not disturbed by traffic noise at all just the noise of seagulls and the Call to Prayer in the ealry hours of the morning. An ideal place to stay. The building has been modernised and is immaculate The bedrooms are furnished well with flat screen TV and safe and comfortable beds. The bathroom was larger than was expected and the shower exceeded expectations. The breakfast buffet is plentiful with lots to chose from to eat and drink. We found the staff friendly and efficient. We used the shuttle service from the airport and we were driven straight to Hotel Uyan and then picked up on our departure date. All very efficient.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCB1132b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2011

This was our first trip to Istanbul and we stayed 5 nights here in perfect comfort. We were met at Ataturk airport and speedily driven to the hotel (we travelled next to the Red Bull Racing team as passengers with BA so maybe the driver was emulating them). The roof top view was superb, Ayia Sofia one way, Blue Mosque the other. Everything was immaculate, breakfast excellent. We had a large quiet room on the ground floor with jacuzzi. And even the muezzin at 5.00 am seemed to add part of the romance. One tip: don't bother with Topkapi: it was heaving with people. Some rooms were closed (the kitchen) and we couldn't get past the door of the Treasury. The cafe prices were exorbitant. As you can visit the mosques at almost anytime I wouldn't bother to queue at 9.00am. Go later in the evening whenb all the crowds have gone. The finest mosque was Sinam's Sokkulu Pasha, there was no-one there except the guide who offered a not unreasonable collection of photos for TL 10. Take the Bosphorous trip, really excellent. Eat at the Meat restarant 50 yds from Huyan. And cheaper but food not as good at Melase where you'll see Dervish dance. The hotel was fully booked and I suspect gets booked full most of the time.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissMoppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

We were recommended to stay here by several friends who were there last year. First it is an ideal location!! I can't say enough about the ease to everything...our lonest walk was to dinner and it was only 15 minutes. Our room was OK.......they were full this week....it had 1 window and VERY low lighting on the 2nd floor...........wish we could have gotten a better room. Alomost all the staff were friendly..........but very quiet unless spoken to first. For a good quick meal go to the corner and turn left to Haggia.....there is a small restaurant........med ceviz is the name. Tony runs it and he is phenomenal!! All of his staff is awesome......food is good and tasty. He will treat you like a brother..he is from NYC.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chhase243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

This is a delightful hotel, ideally situated in the heart of Sultanahmet. It is about a 7 minute walk from the Sultanahmet Tram stop, between the Blue Mosque and the Haga Sophia.
We were given a warm and friendly greeting from the hotel staff who were all smiles when we dragged ourselves in at around 1am. We each had a single room, and although small, they were comfortable and clean. Breakfast is served each morning on the top floor and offers a nice variety of Turkish cheeses, meats, breads, and the usual selection of cereals and yogurts.
The staff are friendly, courteous, and helpful. They are always on hand to answer any questions you may have or to give assistance or advice on local tours.

The hotel’s fantastic roof terrace offers the best possible view of the Mosque – you could literally spend hours sitting in the sun, mesmerized by the presence of it. The terrace also offers a sea view, although it is mostly blocked by another hotel. It’s a lovely place to sit and enjoy the sounds and smells of Istanbul after a long day of touring the city.

The hotel is ideally located, with lots of great restaurants and cafes within walking distance. I don’t believe I have anything negative to say about it – it was perfect for what we needed it for and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EtainVeronique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2011

My lifelong dream of travelling to Istanbul came true in March 2011. My stay at Uyan Hotel only enhanced my visit o Istanbul. The hotel is incredibly clean, situated on a quiet steet but just steps away from the breathtaking Blue Mosque, Aya Sofia and Topkapi Palace. It is also close to the Tram, making it very easy to access other parts of the city.

The hotel is beautifully decorated and has a lot of character and charm. The rooms are well furnished, comfortable and clean. The room rates are very reasonable .The staff are friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family visitng Istanbul. I hope to get another chance to travel to Istanbul and woiuld most certainly stay at Uyan Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catlover75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oaxaca, Mexico
Level Contributor
284 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2011

Hotel Uyan - At first glance we were a bit nervous after our Barcelona hotel and our room was a bit dark -- but large. The staff happily moved us to 307 which was a floor up and had 3 large windows. The room was quiet and it was easy to sleep till 9:00 am. From our roof top, we could practically touch the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia minarets. Four seasons Hotel was just steps away. Room was the biggest we'd stayed in since starting our trip. Bed was large too. Big enough for two women to sleep comfortably. Breakfast was included and plentiful. Overall ratings: Looks 3; staff 5, location 5 and price 4.

Room Tip: Ask for a bright room or corner room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank springstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
#288 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Sultanahmet
Seven Hills Hotel
Seven Hills Hotel
#181 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sari Konak
Hotel Sari Konak
#131 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
The Magnaura Palace
The Magnaura Palace
#128 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Palace Hotel
Sultanahmet Palace Hotel
#385 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Sultanahmet
Adamar Hotel
Adamar Hotel
#65 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uyan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uyan Hotel

Property: Uyan Hotel
Address: Utangac Sokak No 25 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#86 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#91 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#101 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#145 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#202 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Uyan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Uyan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uyan Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing