We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOCATION LOCATION”
Review of Uyan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Uyan Hotel
Ranked #191 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
MT ELIZA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“LOCATION LOCATION”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

As far as location goes, this would be hard to beat. Less than 5 min walk to hammam, Blue Mosue, Aya Sophia, also walking distance to grand bazaar.The hotel is quite good, very clean, staff are excellent. It is an old building that has been modernized to provide all that you need. In general it is quiet except for the call to prayers at 4am, but this is Istanbul and Sultanahmet. Would I stay there again, in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rob f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    222
    44
    6
    13
See reviews for
112
223
91
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We reserved two rooms through Hotwire, and when the three of us arrived, they claimed it was for two single rooms. We showed them our itinerary which clearly had (2 adults) listed as the room category, but they refused to let us check in. We'd been traveling the prior 24 hours and all just wanted sleep and showers. In order to get a double room, we had to pay 1.5x what we had previously paid for the room, almost doubling the room cost for the three of us.

Then came the ironic kicker: They had no single rooms available so we would have been in double rooms regardless. I don't know if this has happened to anyone else, but it seemed like a pretty well coordinated scam.

They later charged us double for laundry than what was originally claimed.

The breakfast had items run out and were never replaced, like the borek, fairly early in the dining period.

All in all, this was a pretty horrible experience other than the view from the rooftop. The management here should be fired.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I came to Istanbul over my would-be Thanksgiving holiday - this hotel was the perfect home-base for our trip. It is walkable to all the sites in Sultahmet - 5min to Blue Mosque and Haya Sophia; a few minutes to tram, steps away from shops, coffee shops and restaurants all around, and quality ceramic plate shops within feet. The rooms were clean and large, far exceeding expectations. Breakfast is served on the rooftop every morning and has a nice view of the mosque up there. Because we were there in the winter, it was quite cold out and unfortunately quite cold in our room. Apart from that it was a perfect stay.

Room Tip: If you can manage, get a room facing the mosque. If you're not that lucky, you'll get one fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Fantastic location - a few steps from Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia but down a quiet side street, close to Four Seasons. Only noise was birdsong and Call to Prayer. Nice comfortable and clean room too. Had problems with the WiFi but no other complaints.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patchogue, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Perfect location in the Old City. Steps from Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia, both of which are visible while you have breakfast on the rooftop terrace. Helpful staff. Clean, comfortable rooms. Great neighborhood with lots of options for food, drink, and leisure. Even a great hamam just a block away.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Walking distance from all main attractions.
Great people at the hotel, very helpful with everything.
Nice and spacious room with a good bathroom.
Excellent free Wi-Fi coverage everywhere.
Good breakfast, roof-top view is great.
Hotel building itself feels a bit old thou.
We had a wonderful time there, fully satisfied with everything.
Fully recommend the hotel to any visitors.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nodirjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Our first visit to Istanbul and we couldn't have asked for a better place to stay - clean, in close proximity to important sites and friendly staff. The hotel is a 5 minute walk to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia and tram station(in case you ever need it). It is in a fairly quiet neighborhood with many restaurants. The rooftop terrace has an amazing view of the Blue Mosque which you can enjoy especially during breakfast. The only downside were the thin walls because you can hear everything especially if you have noisy neighbors - as we did. All in all, I would still recommend it because the value of cleanliness, location, and helpful staff for the price is unbeatable!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KPFStravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
#295 of 1,141 in Istanbul
388 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sari Konak
Hotel Sari Konak
#129 of 1,141 in Istanbul
833 reviews
Sultanahmet
Seven Hills Hotel
Seven Hills Hotel
#198 of 1,141 in Istanbul
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
The Magnaura Palace
The Magnaura Palace
#128 of 1,141 in Istanbul
493 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#39 of 1,141 in Istanbul
724 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#61 of 1,141 in Istanbul
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uyan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uyan Hotel

Property: Uyan Hotel
Address: Utangac Sokak No 25 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#91 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#98 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#101 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#149 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#202 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Uyan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Uyan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uyan Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing