We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Uyan is wonderful!”
Review of Uyan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Uyan Hotel
Ranked #195 of 1,134 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, Massachusetts
1 review
“Hotel Uyan is wonderful!”
Reviewed 9 March 2011

Hotel Uyan was our first stop in Turkey--which was my first trip abroad in quite some time. I was a bit nervous about dropping into this new culture, but Hotel Uyan was a wonderful introduction. We were picked up at the airport without a hitch after having made reservations online and from start to finish everyone was so friendly and helpful. We especially loved breakfast on the roof, looking out over the storied Istanbul skyline. If you're looking for a simple, clean, quiet hotel in the heart of Sultanahmet, look no further!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amygutman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    221
    44
    6
    13
See reviews for
110
223
90
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2011

A hotel very close to the big mosques in Istanbul. You meet a really friendly staff who is ready to help. On floor 4 you find the breakfast buffé with more to offer than expected for the hotel rating - free access to internet nearby. Upstairs the breakfastroom you have a terrace with an spectacular view of Hagia Sofia and The Blue Mosque.A frech looking bathroom and comfortable double beds, turkish carpets on the floor - and a wake up call from the minarets make you feel nearly like a sultan.
If you are going shopping you walk from the hotel in 10-15 minutes and the you are at the Grand Bazar.

. We really recommend the hotel!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annemarikbergstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asolo, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

My partner and I decided to stay in Istanbul for 1 night coming back from Doha with Turkish Airlines. We really didn't want to spend much considering we were staying there for such a short time. Hotel Uyan accommodates perfectly those short stays. It was clean, the room was large and the bed comfortable. However, we were on the ground floor (room 103) and you could hear the entire world come 7am in the morning. The breakfast was decent and included in the price also. Service overall was average. The woman at reception was not so friendly, although the doorman was a darling.

I can't wait to go back to Istanbul but I won't be returning to Hotel Uyan I'm afraid. Lastly - it's by no way a 4 star. Better to say a 2+.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2011

I stayed here with my girlfriend over Valentines this year. We paid around £40 a night so weren't expecting the world, and the deal included breakfast.....but were disappointed on arrival to be allocated a room approximately 3ft from the reception, 1ft from the office, and one that contained twin beds...great for Valentines. Not. Its room 101 by the way. It was fine inside, but being that close to people checking in, coming back, leaving in the morning was quite off-putting. Next day we asked to move, and luckily they were able to get us room 303 which was a double with a balcony, probably smaller than the last one but one that felt much more comfortable.

My experience was that the hotel was super clean, in an amazing location (you can walk anywhere from it), and has lots of character. At £40 a night, i think it represents amazing value and i'd happily stay there again. I'd recommend Turquoise Restaurant which is nearby too.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brodiej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2011

We had a very enjoyable stay, the hotel is peaceful and attractively decorated and furnished as well as very well run with friendly helpful staff always willing to go the extra mile to help out.

Thoroughly recommended as a real bargain!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyDaMata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2011

My parents and I loved this hotel. We chose it based on TA comments and it is really what has been said here about it. From online booking to check-out, the experience couldn’t have been any better.
It’s really well-located, only a few meters from Ayasofya, Blue Mosque and Topkapi Palace, in a quite calm pedestrian street. We stayed there in two different periods and in two different rooms for 3 days each: a spacious underground suite with living room and 2 large bedrooms (with also a small garden, that must be great during summer – unfortunately, it was raining heavily and it was pretty cold in Oct, and we couldn’t enjoy it…) and then on 3rd floor with a great view from Sultanahmet neighborhood.
By the way, the terrace on the top floor is amazing! We didn’t have breakfast there because of the cold weather but we took maaaaaany pics from Ayasofya and Blue Mosque from up there.
Rooms were spacious (even with my extra-bed, which was by the way, a blast, compared to other folding beds that are usually rather uncomfortable), clean and decoration and furniture is on the well-conserved antique style.
Breakfast is fine, with a good selection of food (local or not).
The staff is just great. Booking process, transfer arrangements, suggestion of city tours and everything we needed, they provided. What’s best: always with a smile on their faces and giving their best to please us (especially Mr. Murahem in the front-office, who’s really nice and attentive). We felt like old guests every time we arrived from our tours!
We definitely recommend the hotel and we’d gladly stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sofiacrater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2011

I spent Dec 29-Jan5 at this hotel; had never been to Istanbul before and used the reviews on the 'net as my guide. I was given the 'honeymoon suite' on the 4th floor and was very happy and impressed. Large room, comfy bed and the view was excellent.
The staff was really great- Arzu looked after the front desk, Canan works upstairs in the cafe and Oktay the night shift guy were all happy, helpful and friendly. Highly recommended; it ain't cheap but you get what you pay for, especially in Sultanahmet.
Rick

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rico57_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
#269 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Sultanahmet
Seven Hills Hotel
Seven Hills Hotel
#179 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sari Konak
Hotel Sari Konak
#130 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
The Magnaura Palace
The Magnaura Palace
#135 of 1,134 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Palace Hotel
Sultanahmet Palace Hotel
#384 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Sultanahmet
Adamar Hotel
Adamar Hotel
#63 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uyan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uyan Hotel

Property: Uyan Hotel
Address: Utangac Sokak No 25 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#91 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#92 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#101 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#149 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#202 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Uyan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Uyan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uyan Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing