We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful central hotel”
Review of Angel's Home Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Angel's Home Hotel
Ranked #91 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful central hotel”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I stayed here by myself before joining a tour I had booked. I arrived late (about 11.30pm) and was greeted by a very friendly man on receiption. Was provided with a map of the city and given directions on how best to spend my limited time in Istanbul. A porter helped carry my bags to my room and was not interested in a tip.
The only reason I couldn't give this hotel 5 stars is because you aren't allowed to flush toilet paper down the toilet. I know this isn't uncommon for Turkey because of the ageing pipes in some buildings, but it was the only hotel (out of 6 I stayed in Turkey) which had this requirement.
Outside of this the hotel was perfect, very very quiet - infact the only thing I could hear with my windows open was the odd cat meowing yet its only a 5 minute walk to both the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia. The staff are very friendly and will help with what ever it is you may need. The rooftop has 360 degree views of the city and great comfy bean bags so you can sit and watch the sun set. I had breakfast included and that was amazing as well. I stayed at one other hotel in Istanbul as part of my tour and although being of similiar price, was no comparison to this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    254
    50
    9
    6
See reviews for
133
387
36
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Yes it is true the staff, position, cleanliness, terrace and breakfast are fantastic and all the little extras are nice touches. However none of the photos or reports describe room 322 . It was small and pokey and the walls and ceiling paper paper thin making it very noisy. We were able to share all the Breakfast preparations! It smelt musty with a strong chemical smell, the room was in need of redecoration and a replacement shower head much needed. The duvet failed to cover both of us at the same time as it was too small and the pillows uncomfortable. We can only assume we had such a poor room because we booked it with Expedia as a fly hotel deal. This also meant we did not qualify for a free pick up. All in all a poor deal and if we had realised the saving was not even that great.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Angels Hotel has an excellent location,easily accessible to the Blue Mosque and Aya Sophia,whole area..In fact from the rooftop you get an excellent view of the Bosphorus and the Blue Mosque,which you will enjoy with your morning breakfast.
The staff are friendly,very helpful,rooms are good in size,clean, and overall experience was very good.
Their Wi Fi works very well/they also have a free Internet for guests to use.
Would certainly recommend a stay in in this Hotel,as Istanbul is most certainly a must to visit for anyone who likes to travel.

Room Tip: We had ground floor rooms,not much view,but were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ananth337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2014

When we arrived in the hotel, the staff was immediatly welcoming. They told us where to go in Istanbul during our trip and gave us a plan of the city. Then, someone have carried our heavy luggage to the room, very nice!
The room and the bathroom are very clean, in a quiet street of the old Istanbul.
The breakfast is very good and we can take it in a terrace which have a beautiful view (you can see bosphorus, golden horn and the sea of marmara). But you can also see ayasofya and blue mosquee on the other side.
The evening, you can drink a turkish tea (free!) on a couch right in front of the blue mosquee, and look the beautiful sunset.
Thank you so much, our first time in Istanbul was perfect ! We'll come back !
Aurevoir Istanbul, The French are satisfied ! :)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Violettacharra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selamiduyar, Sahibi at Angel's Home Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2015
My name is Selami DUYAR, I am the Manager and Owner of the Angel’s Home Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet.
Thank you very much for your kind words.
If we may ever be of assistance about Istanbul, please let us know. We hope to see you with us again.
Yours cordially,

Owner and Manager
Selami DUYAR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This was our first trip to Istanbul and Angels Home was one of the most pleasing aspects as we had no idea what to expect. The staff were incredibly helpful as well as warm and welcoming and did everything possible to make our stay a pleasure. The room was comfortable, clean and quiet and the view from the terrace at breakfast of the Blue Mosque was an added bonus. Location was also ideal for old Istanbul. We will almost certainly go back to Istanbul again and Angels Home would be our first place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This little hotel is placed in the heart of the sights in Sultanhamet. It is close to sights, restaurants and Bars. Despite this it is quite at night. From the roof you have a free view of the Blue Mosque and Aya Sophia to one side and the Bosphorus on the other. The rooms are comfortable, not particularly large but they have everything you need. The Showers fantastic. the staff are friendly, helpful and everything is possible. They make you feel at home and welcome. If we are back in Istanbul we will be staying here again. Great Value Great Breakfasts

Room Tip: 321 have own balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lone K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selamiduyar, Sahibi at Angel's Home Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2015
My name is Selami DUYAR, I am the Manager and Owner of the Angel’s Home Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet.
Thank you very much for your kind words.
If we may ever be of assistance about Istanbul, please let us know. We hope to see you with us again.
Yours cordially,

Owner and Manager
Selami DUYAR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Upon our arrival to the hotel, my boyfriend and I were immediately told by an old couple who were checking out that angels home is a really good hotel and we made a good choice. They were right, we were impressed with their awesome staff esp Banis who sat down and went through the attractions and places without us even asking, very helpful and attentive indeed! We were allocated to a room on the ground floor and there were no windows, but its ok because we had big luggages and we had a early flight to catch the day after. The terrance was so nice and you can see the blue mosque clearly, however there weren't any beanies or sofa as shown from the photos when we were there. Nevertheless it was a nice hotel with perfect location to visit the sultanhamet area and I recommend to anyone visiting istanbul!

Room Tip: no window in the room on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Grand Bazaar
Laleli Gonen Hotel
Laleli Gonen Hotel
#463 of 1,149 in Istanbul
217 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Palace Hotel
Sultan Palace Hotel
#548 of 1,149 in Istanbul
109 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,149 in Istanbul
1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Evsen
Hotel Evsen
#235 of 1,149 in Istanbul
313 reviews
Fener & Balat
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
#296 of 1,149 in Istanbul
128 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#19 of 1,149 in Istanbul
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angel's Home Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angel's Home Hotel

Property: Angel's Home Hotel
Address: Amiral Tafdil Street, 26 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#57 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#93 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#212 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Angel's Home Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultanahmet Hotel Angel's Home is a First Class Boutique Hotel in Istanbul / Turkey. It has a quiet location in the old city center Sultanahmet where you can find the heart of Istanbul's History - former Constantinople. Angel's Home Hotel was built in the begining of the 20th century by Admiral Tafdil and his wife Melek (Angel), who gave her name to the house. A street was aslo named after the Admiral. Angel's Home opened its doors as a boutique hotel in October 2003 after being restaured to its orginal state and is run by the Duyar Family. Our unique cafe bar is located on a terrace offering arguably the best view of magical Sultanahmet. While enjoying a glass of wine you can watch the sunset on St.Sophia, Topkapi Palace and the Blue Mosque, which are only moments away. As the boats light up on the Marmara Sea and the Bosphorus, Angel's Home Hotel is ready with its well decorated rooms, terrace with clear Marmara Sea and Blue Mosque view, Lobby Bar and of course always smiling, friendly and helpfull staff for you. We promise you to be better and better to make you feel like at your home in the queen of the cities Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Angel's Home Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angels Home Boutique Hotel
Angels Home Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing