We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great roof views in Old Town and English speaking staff”
Review of Angel's Home Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Angel's Home Hotel
Ranked #90 of 1,151 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great roof views in Old Town and English speaking staff”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed 3 nights, our first trip to Turkey. We booked the room directly thru e-mail. Their cancellation policy was better than booking sites. We used credit card to book, but paid cash for a discount when we got there. The staff helped with local arrangements, pick up at our hotel for the Bosphorus Boat trip, shuttle to airport for our flight out of Istanbul. The roof garden served as the Breakfast spot with a huge array of food and beverages, included with our room. The room was charming and clean and the marble bathroom spotless. Free Wi Fi . The local evening neighborhood street scene is well lit and active until late, so you can wander and enjoy the sights every evening. Great convenient location,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicagoflygirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selamiduyar, Sahibi at Angel's Home Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2015
Our Valued Guest,
We would like to thank you for your review about Angel’s Home Hotel on tripadvisor. Please contact with us if you need any kind of assistance about Istanbul or Turkey. Hope to see you again. Have a good day and good life  Best Regards from Istanbul.
Owner and Manager
Selami DUYAR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    254
    50
    9
    6
See reviews for
133
387
36
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We spent 5 nights at Angel's Home. The location is very close to the blue mosque and hagiasophia. We booked this hotel off of hotels.com ratings.

Positives; It is very close to the tram line. The terrace has a good view of the blue mosque. The included breakfast is delicious. The room is good sized, clean, and includes a safe.

NEGATIVES; we felt like the staff was judging us the whole time. When we would walk in, they would look at us awkwardly. We are an early 30s middle class couple from Denver. We travel internationally frequently. One morning I went running. I went to the breakfast, still wearing running clothes and the staff questioned my room number. Like I had snuck in wearing my fluorescent green shirt. Another seriously annoying thing- there is a "rule" that you cannot bring in outside food or drink to the hotel. I bought a few beers from the local market and when we went back to the hotel the staff looked at my bag. I could tell they wanted to say something. There is some verbage about them being able to confiscate food or drink. The wifi internet was VERY slow. I think we got the worst room. It was ground floor facing the alley. It was next to the stairs that everyone else had to use. The bathroom stunk the whole time. The staff asks that you pay in cash. Stating that there are a number of unknown charges if you use card. I paid them cash and they were unable to come up with change. The guy was trying to give me change in coins and couldn't come up with it. He told me that he would get the rest of the change before we checked out. When we checked out he still didn't have the change and the porter had to run to another hotel, The hotel said that if you were there 3 nights, one way transfer to the airport was included. This is only if you book through the hotel website. Not through expedia or another site. Otherwise they charge you 5 euro per person. We could've ridden the tram for half that. The next issue is that they charge 5 euro per bag if you ask for bag storage before you check in or after you check out. It is a 20+ walk to eminonu port. The area is very touristy and that drives prices up for food and other things. I am still very mixed about the hotel. It is very charming but poorly run.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank rugbyco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel March 31-April 2. Our room was upstairs.
This room was a nice room facing the road.
Decoration of the room was very cute.
You can see the Blue Mosque from the terrace of this hotel !!
It was soo beautiful view.
Hotel staffs were very kind.
When the breakfast, I had a fun time with them.
When we checked out, the maid said goo-bye from our room.
It was like a movie scene.

Our trip was very short,but I want to stay here again.
Thank you very much!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yayoyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I stayed here on my own for two nights as part of a brief trip to Istanbul. Nice, clean rooms with true charm.
The best about it was the terrace and roof, with amazing views on the Blue Mosque and the historic district, especially in the early morning and at night. I was very fond of the terrace breakfast,a great way to start the day.
The staff is really friendly; I particularly appreciated Kaan who went out of his way to be helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank svanreusel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selamiduyar, Sahibi at Angel's Home Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2015
My name is Selami DUYAR, I am the Manager and Owner of the Angel’s Home Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet.
Thank you very much for your kind words.
If we may ever be of assistance about Istanbul, please let us know. We hope to see you with us again.
Yours cordially,

Owner and Manager
Selami DUYAR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We had a wonderful 3 days at the Angel's House. Especially after we changed our room - see below.

Can't even begin to describe the roof top view, other than to say it is SPECTACULAR. Our upgraded room was lovely. Staff were fab, particularly Basir who had some great advice on what to see, where to eat, etc. Breakfast was a good selection, but not amazing. Good shuttle service back to the airport.

Room Tip: We got a not so good room booking through Expedia - definitely book direct with the Hotel as they ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelBradley2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selamiduyar, Sahibi at Angel's Home Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2015
My name is Selami DUYAR, I am the Manager and Owner of the Angel’s Home Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet.
Thank you very much for your kind words.
If we may ever be of assistance about Istanbul, please let us know. We hope to see you with us again.
Yours cordially,

Owner and Manager
Selami DUYAR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2014

It is a sweet home. Me and my boyfriend stayed here 3 nights. It was all good. Comfortable , clean room and bathroom. Staff were all good to us. Friendly. Roofterrace was super view. Breakfast was so good. We were very happy with this sweety home. Thank you Angels family.

Room Tip: Angel suite is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aldonza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selamiduyar, Sahibi at Angel's Home Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2015
My name is Selami DUYAR, I am the Manager and Owner of the Angel’s Home Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet.
Thank you very much for your kind words.
If we may ever be of assistance about Istanbul, please let us know. We hope to see you with us again.
Yours cordially,

Owner and Manager
Selami DUYAR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We had an excellent experience in Angel’s Home Hotel. The location was superb; it’s located in Sultanahmet Area and is within a walking distance from many major touristic places. Breakfast is served on the roof with an amazing view of Blue Mosque, Haghia Sophia and Bosphorus. The staff of the hotel were very friendly and helpful, especially Kaan who helped us a lot and provided us with excellent recommendations. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Wifi is available in all areas and is free of charge. Overall, I enjoyed my stay at this hotel and I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farnaz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selamiduyar, Sahibi at Angel's Home Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2015
My name is Selami DUYAR, I am the Manager and Owner of the Angel’s Home Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet.
Thank you very much for your kind words.
If we may ever be of assistance about Istanbul, please let us know. We hope to see you with us again.
Yours cordially,

Owner and Manager
Selami DUYAR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Grand Bazaar
Laleli Gonen Hotel
Laleli Gonen Hotel
#455 of 1,151 in Istanbul
218 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Palace Hotel
Sultan Palace Hotel
#546 of 1,151 in Istanbul
109 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,151 in Istanbul
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Evsen
Hotel Evsen
#231 of 1,151 in Istanbul
313 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#18 of 1,151 in Istanbul
757 reviews
Sultanahmet
Recital Hotel
Recital Hotel
#66 of 1,151 in Istanbul
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angel's Home Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angel's Home Hotel

Property: Angel's Home Hotel
Address: Amiral Tafdil Street, 26 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#57 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#93 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#212 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Angel's Home Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultanahmet Hotel Angel's Home is a First Class Boutique Hotel in Istanbul / Turkey. It has a quiet location in the old city center Sultanahmet where you can find the heart of Istanbul's History - former Constantinople. Angel's Home Hotel was built in the begining of the 20th century by Admiral Tafdil and his wife Melek (Angel), who gave her name to the house. A street was aslo named after the Admiral. Angel's Home opened its doors as a boutique hotel in October 2003 after being restaured to its orginal state and is run by the Duyar Family. Our unique cafe bar is located on a terrace offering arguably the best view of magical Sultanahmet. While enjoying a glass of wine you can watch the sunset on St.Sophia, Topkapi Palace and the Blue Mosque, which are only moments away. As the boats light up on the Marmara Sea and the Bosphorus, Angel's Home Hotel is ready with its well decorated rooms, terrace with clear Marmara Sea and Blue Mosque view, Lobby Bar and of course always smiling, friendly and helpfull staff for you. We promise you to be better and better to make you feel like at your home in the queen of the cities Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Angel's Home Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angels Home Boutique Hotel
Angels Home Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing