We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
Ranked #57 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Hotel was nice and as expected for a ritz carlton. Upon check-in, there were two types of Turkish delights which were right behind check in. They were delicious and we went back daily to snack on them. Our room was nice with perfect views do the Bosporus with a huge wall of windows showing the view. The rooms themselves were a bit smaller than expected for an RC, however it was well-maintained. The asprey toiletries are always a nice touch and housekeeping did a nice job. During our three night stay. At some point we had breakfast, lunch and dinner at the hotel. The food was 'good' but not exceptional. At the same time, the best meals we had in istanbul were at the ritz carlton as the food we had heard so much about in istanbul was a bit lacking to be quite honest- the flavors were good but the quality was not. At the RC, try the Turkish lentil soup which was the best meal I had in istanbul. The gym at the hotel is great- spacious with very few other guests working out so you have your pick of machines! Also, the spa pool is fantastic- very relaxing, pristine and exactly as depicted in the online photo. As for hotel location, it's a five minute walk from taksim square and nisantasi, the wonderful and upscale shopping district. It's about an hour walk from old town istanbul. If we return to istanbul we would return to the RC.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMB-BOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yasemin2013, Public Relations Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear CMB-BOB,

Thank you for your comments. We are very fortunate to have so many great reviews here on TripAdvisor and I greatly appreciate you adding your experience.

We look forward to hosting you in your next trip to Istanbul!

Warm Regards,

Max Zanardi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    888
    265
    73
    18
    7
See reviews for
205
413
56
345
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Our first family trip to Istanbul. So glad we chose to stay at the Ritz. Denny's, the club manager, was a wonderful hostess. Each day after our adventures she would greet us with treats and here are stories. Highly recommend for families with children. Room service was excellent. The pool great fun. And the breakfast buffet beyond compare. Easy to hop a train to all the sites down in the hustle and bustle of the city center. Overall excellent experience

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MikeGreene1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yasemin2013, Public Relations Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Mike Greene1,

Thank you for your comments. We are fortunate to have so many great reviews here on TripAdvisor and I greatly appreciate you adding your experience. We always take care our little guests comfort.

Thank you again for your feedback,

Max Zanardi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Provincetown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay at the Ritz-Carlton Istanbul and we thoroughly enjoyed it again. The rooms are so comfortable and the staff go way out of their way to care for and acknowledge you. They are great?

The hamam is wonderful and offers a great place to relax and decompress. The breakfast buffet is the best in the city.

It is a short cab ride to any place in Sultanahmet or to Galata/Beyoglu. Greta restaurants and sight seeing are totally accessible and the concierge can recommend great options for anything.

You have lots of choices in Istanbul, but none offers the sense of well-being and caring and luxury that Ritz-Carlton does. I can't wait to return!

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Innkeeper_8DyerHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yasemin2013, Public Relations Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Innkeeper_8DyerHotel,

I would like to thank you for your kind comments and glad to know that you had a comportable stay in our hotel.

We look forward to hosting you in your next trip to Istanbul,

Warm Regards,

Max Zanardi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Excellent experience throughout the two weeks. Very friendly and helpful staff. Spacious rooms with comfortable king size beds. Beautiful Bosphorous view. Walking access to the Taksim square, tram and train station.

Room Tip: Get the rooms with the full Bosphorous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OneWorld_UA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yasemin2013, Public Relations Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Globby301,

I would like to thank you for kind comments.


Best Regards,

Max Zanardi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

The hotel is well located and the rooms are nice although I have yet to succeed in getting an upgrade to an Bosphorous view room. The service is really great and all the staff goes out of their way to make everything perfect. After the first day, everyone greats you by name. The flowers in the hotel are really beautiful and the Spa is first rate. There are so many great hotels in Istanbul, so its a competitive business but they do a good job here.

Room Tip: Higher level floors are better but Bosphorus views are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yasemin2013, Public Relations Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Julie M,

Thank you for your comments. We are very fortunate to have so many great reviews here on TripAdvisor and I greatly appreciate you adding your experience.

Thank you again for your wonderful feedback!

General Manager
Max Zanardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, CT
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Just returned from a wonderful vacation in Turkey. We stayed two nights at this wonderful hotel. We found the front desk staff to be very helpful and attentive. We were given a nice corner room over looking the river on the Club Floor. Rooms are well appointed. Good size, room for relaxing, a good size desk, very comfortable bed, high quality pillows and sheets. Bathroom had two sinks, good size shower and separate bath. We had small problem with a leak from the ceiling. It was fixed immediately and the staff followed up to be sure all was well. The Club was very nice. Evening snacks and drinks was actually enough for a dinner. It was a nice place to relax and interact with other guests. Breakfast was also very good. Nice variety of hot and cold selections. Attentive staff. We loved the spa. Men and women areas were separate, which is not always the case in Turkey. You must get a Turkish bath during a visit. Just loved the treatment. While there isn't too much to walk to in this location, it was easy to get a cab into the city. Our view did have the sight of the football stadium under construction, but you could not hear any noise [they are working on it 24/7]. I will stay here on my next visit to Turkey. This hotel easily met and exceeded my expectations as you would expect from a Ritz-Carlton.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RJMGreenwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yasemin2013, Public Relations Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear RJM Greenwich,

Thank you for your comments. We are very fortunate to have so many great reviews here on Tripadvisor and I greatly appreciate you adding your experience.

We look forward to welcoming you in your next trip to Istanbul!

Warm Regards,

Max Zanardi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night as a treat during a recent city break to Istanbul.

We were greeted with a cup of salip and some Turkish delight, our cases were taken to our room, everything you would expect from a 5 star hotel.

There was a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine and rose petals waiting in our room as it was our anniversary, this was very unexpected and a lovely surprise. The room was spacious, separate bath and shower, again everything you would expect.

A stunning view over the Bosporus, but spoilt by the huge building site immediately in front of the hotel.

The spa was the main reason for us booking this hotel, and here is where the disappointment started. Male and female jacuzzi, sauna & hammam were segregated. The outdoor hot tubs are not open in the winter. There were children splashing and shouting in the pool. Not the relaxing romantic break we had in mind. The staff were very good and prepared the whirlpool bath in the treatment room for us to use in private, which was nice, but just a bath not a spa!!

We decided to stay in the hotel for dinner as it felt as if the hotel is quite far from any lively areas (we did only stay one night so can't be sure). Again this was disappointing. We expected a high class restaurant. It is actually a choice between the breakfast room just off the lobby, or a covered in outdoor terrace furnished with patio furniture and lit with fluorescent blue lights! Choice was limited & only 2 or 3 Turkish dishes. Food was good, but no better than any food we ate in Istanbul for a fraction of the price. Was very rushed, our meals arrived before our drinks, we were shown the dessert trolley whilst they were clearing the table.

Breakfast however was excellent. They staff were very helpful and eager to please. Offered out complimentary drinks and gifts at the slightest complaint.

Overall we were disappointed as we were expected much better from a world renowned hotel chain.

Would recommend staying on the peninsula golden horn part of the city if you want to visit the attractions on foot and have good restaurants near by.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hebrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yasemin2013, Public Relations Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Hebrooks,

Thank your for posting this review and sharing your feedback that we take very seriously, it ultimately allows us to improve.

I am sorry if we were not able to meet in full your expectations for a romantic getaway. We have a new restaurant on the pipeline that I am sure would cater better to your needs. Regarding the Spa we will address the situation, hopefully to be able to make our little guests happy as well.

We remain looking forward to welcome you back like family, once again thank you.

Warmest regards,

Max Zanardi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#69 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Sisli
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
#74 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
Besiktas
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
#73 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#80 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,024 reviews
Sisli
Park Hyatt Istanbul - Macka Palas
Besiktas
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
Address: Suzer Plaza, Askerocagi Caddesi, No:6 | Elmadag/Sisli, Istanbul 34367, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#19 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#34 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#41 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#55 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul is an authentic luxury hotel offering breathtaking Bosphorus views for its high-end business and leisure guests, continuously providing genuine care and unique service delivered by its empowered Ladies and Gentlemen. Guests enjoy their stay in one of the 243 guest rooms, ranging from 38-sqm park view rooms to 64-sqm suites with panoramas of the Bosphorus or the city of Istanbul, offering a wide array of amenities as well as complimentary Wi-Fi. Located in the heart of the city overlooking the Bosphorus, The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul is just 15 minutes from the famous historical old town attractions of Sultanahmet, Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque and Grand Bazaar. The vibrant nightlife districts of Beyoğlu and Karaköy as well as the famous Galata Tower are a 25-minute stroll from the hotel. Istanbul's sophisticated shopping neighborhood of Nişantaşi is located within walking distance from the hotel, while the luxurious shopping centers of Zorlu Center and İstinye Park can be reached in less than 30 minutes. Guests at 'Bleu Lounge' can enjoy Bosphorus views alongside Mediterranean inspired snacks and innovative signature lab-cocktails in imaginative laboratory glasses. As the night continues, vibrant live musicians start their performance, performing the latest hits and raising the tempo to suit guests' mood and the night's feeling. With sunshine warming the city of Istanbul, the venue's retractable glass roof slides back, opening up 'Bleu Lounge' to delicious cool air. At The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul, the passionate pursuit of simple delicious food has been elevated to a fine art form at the hotel's new restaurant, 'Atelier Real Food'. Guests are welcomed by glittering views of the Bosphorus while the open kitchen entices with its French Rotisserie. Here, all dishes use fresh local seasonal ingredients and culinary excellence is celebrated by delicious 'farm-to-table' flavors created uniquely in the chefs' 'atelier'. The restaurant enjoys an indulgent winter garden terrace 'Atelier Terrace' for social celebrations and lovers of alfresco dining, as well as a private chef's table for those seeking dining exclusivity and a showcase cellar with 150 local and international wines. The lobby lounge 'Atelier Lounge' is a specially designed place to meet, eat and drink, offering Mediterranean-inspired Turkish dishes, along with breathtaking Bosphorus views. The spacious 'Club Lounge', reserved for 'Club Level' guests, provides complimentary culinary presentations throughout the day and a comfortable space to unwind with colleagues, friends or family, with a dedicated Concierge to attend to guests' every need. The views are extraordinary, of the Bosphorus and the timeless city of Istanbul. Two Smart Fortwo cars are also exclusively at the disposal of 'Club Level' guests offering a uniquely stylish way for urban explorers to enjoy the city or for corporate guests to get to their next appointment. The Ritz-Carlton Spa offers eight treatment rooms, a unique 17-metre indoor pool and authentic Turkish Hammam, spread over an area of 1,500 sqm. It also features a unique 'Couples Hammam Suite' which enables its guests to share an authentic memory of Turkey. The hotel also boasts the first 'Open Air Spa' terrace in the city with three contemporary Jacuzzis, a stylish sleek sunbathing terrace, two massage rooms and a pool. More than 2,403 square meters of meeting and conference space, highlighted by a magnificent Bosphorus view, are available for memorable events. Superb catering and entertainment services, high-speed Internet access in all meeting rooms and public areas, plus state-of-the-art audio-visual services and technicians all combine for our guest requirements. The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul was recognized 'Best Luxury Hotel Turkey, 2014' by Business Destinations Travel Awards and 'Central Eastern Europe's Best Employer of The Year 2013' by Aon Hewitt as well as 'Best International Business Hotel' 2009 and was recently recognized as one of the 'Best International Overseas Business Hotels' 2015 by Condé Nast Traveller Readers' Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Ritz Carlton
Ritz Istanbul
Ritz-Carlton Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing