We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confused on the Bosphorus”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
Ranked #67 of 1,151 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Confused on the Bosphorus”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Wanted to love this hotel with wonderful views of the Bosphorus but came away confused and frustrated.

We had looked forward to staying here at the end of our trip in Turkey.
On check in the prices were quoted in Euro's for club level. We later found that they where in fact in TL.
Wonderful room with the best view of the Bosphorus is a wonderful way to start and finish the day .
Huge marble bathroom and walk in closet. Wonderful.
Staff in general are warm and welcoming in that corporate way.

The minibar price list is quoted in TL ,but the tax is in Euro's?
This makes you look hard at all prices in the hotel to see what currency you are being charged.

A special mention to Onur Kanbur and Korhan Ozdilek for their very professional help in the dining room. Is this the most expensive wine list in Turkey?

Would we return ,probably not, as this was meant to be a special treat for us.

Room Tip: A high level room until the stadium below is completed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seniors2Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max Z, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Seniors2Melbourne,

Thank you for your candid feedback. Thank you especially for allowing me to recognize my colleagues Onur and Korhan.

Please note that minibar prices are quoted in Euro +VAT, there is in fact a foot note on the same size at the bottom of the page, I personally checked. In the final bill, all expenses are converted in Turkish Lira as per the current law. I am sorry if this as caused the misunderstanding.

About the list, please appreciate that Wines in Turkey, despite the 4000years of history, are subject to a “robust” level of taxation, imported ones especially. We strive to offer the very best available, included the best little local producers. You have all my most sincere and personal understanding on this matter.

If you will decide to return to visit, you will be welcomed like family, not in a corporate way, and we will test some wine together.

Again many thanks for your comments.

Sincerely
Max Zanardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    927
    276
    76
    20
    9
See reviews for
222
434
57
359
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed at this wonderful hotel for 2 nights before boarding the Aegean Odyssey for a15 day trip. The Hotel is beautifully furnished, amazing floral displays. Our room was spacious with wonderful views of the Bosphorus, the bedding luxurious, elegant bathroom and wonderful coffee machine. The buffet breakfast and friendly service is simply the best, such a great variety of foods to choose from. Our evening meals were most enjoyable, with beautiful freshly baked bread. The pool and spa area is outstanding. The staff are professional friendly and complemented our exceptional stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

From the moment you step up to the Reception Desk you know this is going to be a fine experience. The rooms are impeccable with beautiful oppulent furnishings, the bathrooms spacious, elegant marble and very well lit. Bedding great, and service wonderful. We were pleasantly surprised when my wife's book (left open face-down on the nightstand) was later discovered to be closed with a gifted bookmark inserted. The breakfast buffet was one of the most extensive we'd ever seen and was served in a beautifully appointed and attended area. Too bad I didn't have a chance to experience their Spa. Now that I've experienced Istanbul's oldest Hammam in the siouk, next time I'll go for Spa at the Ritz!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FootPrince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Just completed a stay at the Ritz Carlton and it exceeded my expectations in every way. We were celebrating a 50th birthday and Ms Atil at the hotel surprised my friend with a small cake and champagne in the room when he checked in. The next morning at breakfast, the entire staff sang happy birthday and presented him with delicious dessert.

Rooms were truly exceptional. They were quite large, in immaculate condition and bedding was superb. The bathroom was large and luxurious. The spa and health club were also top notch. The hotel offers state of the art exercise equipment with towels and water everywhere. We had a partial Bosphorous view. The decision on paying for the view is up to you, but we were always out early and gone until dark so it was not as important to us.

The hotel is situated with most of the other business and luxury hotels in Istanbul, and not particularly close to the tourist areas. But, it was only $13 US to take a 15 minute cab ride to Sultanahmet. Getting back was more of a challenge, as cabs wanted considerably more for the return trip. We found that the solution was to write the hotel name and address on a paper and show it to several cab drivers until we found one with a good rate. This generally saved us $10 or more on the return trip. But, I would still suggest staying at the Ritz Carlton, as hotels in the Old City are for the most part not anywhere near the calibre. Plus, views are better and many premiere restaurants are situated closer to the Ritz Carlton.

Breakfast was superb and I would recommend adding it as part of the room rate. Everything was fresh and top quality. Croissants and pastries were standout and the young lady who made omelets was particularly friendly and personable.

The staff were what made the stay extra special. They really could not do enough for us. When it looked like rain, we were presented with umbrellas to use for the day. We were welcomed back each afternoon with smiles and constantly asked if were enjoying our stay. We were made to feel like we were the most important guests in the hotel (even though they were sold out). Overall, a truly special stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reldim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Just completed a four night stay here. The staff was exceptional - everyone was at your service without being overbearing. Breakfast buffet is one of the best I've experienced. The views of the Bosphorus were awesome. The only negative was getting in and out of the hotel to go anywhere, the traffic in Istanbul is the worst in the world. Walking was the best way to move around and the Ritz sits on a hill, easy downhill, but coming back up was not fun. This place is wonderful and I highly recommend it to everyone! There is construction of a new soccer stadium going on right in front of the hotel. The hotel was insulated enough, you never knew it was going on unless you are looking out the window at the Bosphorus.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Bosphorus! Well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max Z, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Rena H,

I really appreciate your words and I will share your nice feedback with the team.

Thank you again for taking the time and to give me the opportunity to recognize my colleagues.

Warm Regards,

Max Zanardi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Impressive pretty much sums it up. Service, Property, Food, Room. I was very fortunate when I checked in that my Marriott status (lifetime platinum) was recognized. I was given access to their Club Lounge level which made everything good, even better. They had food out almost all day long, complimentary alcohol, and a Nespresso machine :) It was a great place to unwind, kick back and do some work, or meet with colleagues (great view of the Bosphorus, too).
My room was very nice - with an Illy coffee machine in the room as well (morning expresso). The bed was firm and the bathroom had enough space for my stuff (separate shower and tub).
But, the best part of the hotel was the staff/service. There were always friendly faces and people asking if you needed something. I'm surprised this place isn't ranked higher, but the rate, even for our group - was pretty high. Still, if I were in the area, I'd consider staying here again (maybe on points)....Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bk_t1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max Z, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear bk_t1,

I am really impressed about your comments and I greatly appreciate you adding your experience here on TripAdvisor!

I will definetly share your kind comments with my team.

We look forward to hosting you soon,

Warm Regards,

Max Zanardi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irving, TX
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This is a beautiful hotel and the staff is amazing. They always had a smile on their face and were always happy to help any way they could. Our room was large, and always well serviced. I also appreciated the enhanced security at the hotel.

The only thing I didn't like about the hotel was the location. It's a little far out from the main tourist sites. But, on the plus side it was quieter.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max Z, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Sue K,

I would like to thank you for your kind comments regarding our service and our commitment to genuine care for our guest, that is what has made The Ritz-Carlton in the years.

Warm Regards,

Max Zanardi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#72 of 1,151 in Istanbul
410 reviews
Sisli
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
#73 of 1,151 in Istanbul
1,726 reviews
Besiktas
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#78 of 1,151 in Istanbul
2,162 reviews
Sisli
Park Hyatt Istanbul - Macka Palas
Besiktas
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
#69 of 1,151 in Istanbul
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
Address: Suzer Plaza, Askerocagi Caddesi, No:6 | Elmadag/Sisli, Istanbul 34367, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#24 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#34 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#50 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#55 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul is an authentic luxury hotel offering breathtaking Bosphorus views for its high-end business and leisure guests, continuously providing genuine care and unique service delivered by its empowered Ladies and Gentlemen. Guests enjoy their stay in one of the 243 guest rooms, ranging from 38-sqm park view rooms to 64-sqm suites with panoramas of the Bosphorus or the city of Istanbul, offering a wide array of amenities as well as complimentary Wi-Fi. Located in the heart of the city overlooking the Bosphorus, The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul is just 15 minutes from the famous historical old town attractions of Sultanahmet, Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque and Grand Bazaar. The vibrant nightlife districts of Beyoğlu and Karaköy as well as the famous Galata Tower are a 25-minute stroll from the hotel. Istanbul's sophisticated shopping neighborhood of Nişantaşi is located within walking distance from the hotel, while the luxurious shopping centers of Zorlu Center and İstinye Park can be reached in less than 30 minutes. Guests at 'Bleu Lounge' can enjoy Bosphorus views alongside Mediterranean inspired snacks and innovative signature lab-cocktails in imaginative laboratory glasses. As the night continues, vibrant live musicians start their performance, performing the latest hits and raising the tempo to suit guests' mood and the night's feeling. With sunshine warming the city of Istanbul, the venue's retractable glass roof slides back, opening up 'Bleu Lounge' to delicious cool air. At The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul, the passionate pursuit of simple delicious food has been elevated to a fine art form at the hotel's new restaurant, 'Atelier Real Food'. Guests are welcomed by glittering views of the Bosphorus while the open kitchen entices with its French Rotisserie. Here, all dishes use fresh local seasonal ingredients and culinary excellence is celebrated by delicious 'farm-to-table' flavors created uniquely in the chefs' 'atelier'. The restaurant enjoys an indulgent winter garden terrace 'Atelier Terrace' for social celebrations and lovers of alfresco dining, as well as a private chef's table for those seeking dining exclusivity and a showcase cellar with 150 local and international wines. The lobby lounge 'Atelier Lounge' is a specially designed place to meet, eat and drink, offering Mediterranean-inspired Turkish dishes, along with breathtaking Bosphorus views. The spacious 'Club Lounge', reserved for 'Club Level' guests, provides complimentary culinary presentations throughout the day and a comfortable space to unwind with colleagues, friends or family, with a dedicated Concierge to attend to guests' every need. The views are extraordinary, of the Bosphorus and the timeless city of Istanbul. Two Smart Fortwo cars are also exclusively at the disposal of 'Club Level' guests offering a uniquely stylish way for urban explorers to enjoy the city or for corporate guests to get to their next appointment. The Ritz-Carlton Spa offers eight treatment rooms, a unique 17-metre indoor pool and authentic Turkish Hammam, spread over an area of 1,500 sqm. It also features a unique 'Couples Hammam Suite' which enables its guests to share an authentic memory of Turkey. The hotel also boasts the first 'Open Air Spa' terrace in the city with three contemporary Jacuzzis, a stylish sleek sunbathing terrace, two massage rooms and a pool. More than 2,403 square meters of meeting and conference space, highlighted by a magnificent Bosphorus view, are available for memorable events. Superb catering and entertainment services, high-speed Internet access in all meeting rooms and public areas, plus state-of-the-art audio-visual services and technicians all combine for our guest requirements. The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul was recognized 'Best Luxury Hotel Turkey, 2014' by Business Destinations Travel Awards and 'Central Eastern Europe's Best Employer of The Year 2013' by Aon Hewitt as well as 'Best International Business Hotel' 2009 and was recently recognized as one of the 'Best International Overseas Business Hotels' 2015 by Condé Nast Traveller Readers' Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Ritz Carlton
Ritz Istanbul
Ritz-Carlton Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing