We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could not be happier”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
Ranked #57 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Could not be happier”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2008

We stayed at the Ritz for 4 nights in late October 2008 and had a great experience. Excellent service and attention to detail. We stayed on the club level and were really delighted with all the amenities and the caliber of service. Staff always took the time to do a little extra to make the stay really special. It was my birthday and they wrote me a card & sent me a cake. Our room was made special for the occasion and we received a lovely gift upon checkout. Much has been made in previous reviews regarding the location of the hotel in an area far from the historical sights and on top of a hill...bottom line if you are paying the money to stay at this hotel already, the few taxi rides it takes to get you to the historical sites will not break you budget. Taxis are plentiful and not expensive. The Dolamache Palace is just at the bottom of the hill from the hotel (less than a 5 minute walk) as is the historical tramway which you can also take to the historical sites if you so choose, rather than taking taxis. An added bonus, the RC bar in the hotel provides a great view of the Bosphorus from which we were able to view the Turkish National Day fireworks. We highly recommend this hotel and would definately stay here again.

  • Liked — Excellent Service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoleneBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    886
    265
    73
    18
    7
See reviews for
204
413
55
345
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Ritz for five nights in a club-level room. This hotel has everything you would expect from the Ritz Carlton including a very attentive staff and plush comfortable rooms.

This hotel is actually well located for exploring Istanbul. While it is not in the "old-city" where most of the attractions are located, it does have good access to a tram station that will take you to most of the major tourist sights. The tram is located down the hill from the hotel, suggest exiting on the Mall level and walking down.

We were a bit taken back by the way some of the guests dressed while using the Club. Pajamas are not what I would consider appropriate attire.

Be aware that the Ritz is also a base for overnighting some cruiseship passengers -albeit a higher end client base.

My wife claims that the SPA and Turkish bath were both excellent and highly reccomended.

All in all a above average stay, but not the best Ritz experience ever, so only 4 stars for this review.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fryfrye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigadoon, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2008

Stayed here for two nights as part of an APT cruise/tour Amsterdam to Istanbul. Very comfortable hotel with friendly, attentive staff. We were not unnerved by the metal detector and security at the door. Our room was quiet, with all the amenities you’d expect from a Ritz. Had a partial Bosporus view. Clean, though the carpet was stained. A/C worked properly, maintained a comfortable temperature. Good bathroom, especially the shower. Laundry service and internet expensive, as you’d expect. Had dinner at Cintemani restaurant, which was an OK meal, beautifully presented. My pide was too salty, but they took it off the bill when they saw I didn’t eat much, and insisted I have a complimentary fruit plate . Restaurant setting also lovely with views of the Bosphorus. (Forget cost of meal, but a glass of ordinary Loire wine was 22 YTL.) Great breakfast buffet, with interesting choices. (Had to leave at 6am on check-out day, which was before the buffet opened, but there were pastries and juice available in the lobby, most welcome).
The hotel isn’t near anything much and it’s a pedestrian-unfriendly hike to Taksim Square. You need to take a cab to get anywhere, the first cab we hailed at the Grand Bazaar wouldn’t go to the hotel; the second took us but dropped us up the road a bit in order to avoid a tricky turn. There is an ATM in the hotel, did not check out other facilities as time was limited. The hotel stored some bags for us while we went to Cappadocia and Ephesus, even though we stayed at a hotel in Sultanahmet on our return. The Ritz is a good choice if you are in Istanbul and need to be in the new part, but if you are a tourist Sultanahmet is much more convenient to the most important sites.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ozitravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2008

An offer to spend 4 days in Istanbul came from our friends unexpected. We did not plan to visit this city, so we did not search where to stay. The trip was planned and arranged and we had to accept that. And we were not disappointed. The hotel transfer was arranged through Ritz. We were pleased to see a mini van (there were 8 of us) with champagne and flowers inside. The hotel is beautiful and elegant. Ritz is Ritz. What can I say! We got aspacious Bosphorus view room. there was a bottle of wine and turkish sweets as a welcome.
Restaurant is great. You enjoy both the food and the Bosphorus view from the huge windows.
Pool and fitness center are of standard quality.
We also noticed that this hotel would be good for seminars and conferences. There are lots of meeting rooms in the hotels.
I would absolutely recommend this hotel. It is of top quality.

  • Liked — rooms, restaurant
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank keen_traveller495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2008

The Ritz Carlton in Istanbul, Turkey, is a beautiful, exquisite property. The lobby and lobby lounge are absolutely beautiful and resplendent in decor and furnishings. My room was tastefully decorated with sparkling cleaniness. The bathroom was spacious and replete with every amenity.

The personnel at reception and concierge were professional, helpful, friendly.

The buffet breakfast was sumptious, enough to satisfy you for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Add to all this, live music, very rare these days, every afternoon at tea time continued on until evening hours.

The only negative: location is not in the city center, not near public transportation, and they did not provide complimentary shuttle to the city center. You had to take a taxi to go anywhere.

  • Liked — the elegance, the professional personnel, the cleanliness, the up-to-date furnishings
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Starlight36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryn Mawr, PA
Level Contributor
397 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 356 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2008

Okay, this is in many ways a nice hotel. The Ritz chain is my favorite and is generally the most consistent luxury chain in terms of quality. However, on balance, our experience was only average.

The exterior is an ugly, off-putting mirrored glass tower that resembles an insurance company's headquarters. The hotel's location on a steep hill inconvenient to shops or restaurants discourages walking, though inexpensive taxis are easily obtained. We were disconcerted by the high level of security: all vehicles entering the property are searched and everyone must pass through a metal detector and put personal belongings through an x-ray machine before entering the lobby.

The interior and our room, on the other hand, were lovely, and the terrace bar was pleasant and welcoming, with a fine view of the Bosphorus far below.

The downsides: we paid a premium for a Bosphorus view room, and if you stood wa-a-a-ay over in the corner of the window, you could barely see a sliver of the Bosphorus. More problematic, however, was the presence of a large amusement park directly across the street from our room. It started gearing up at dark, and at 2 a.m. the noise, music and car horns were still keeping us awake. By 3 a.m. the place finally closed, but the result was a sleepless night despite a very comfortable bed.

One other thing: the hotel seems to have some sort of arrangement with the Blue Fish Restaurant in town. It sends many of its guests there, in some cases when they have asked for reservations elsewhere (this happened to friends of ours who stayed there shortly before we did). It wasn't bad, but it wasn't "the best in town", as the concierge stated. Just be aware.

  • Liked — Attractive room
  • Disliked — Strange location, noisy amusement park across the street
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank BrynMawrBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2008

We spent three nights at this hotel in June and were extremely impressed by the standard of customer care. They excelled at anticipating guests' needs in an unobtrusive and friendly manner and how nice it was to be told 'it's my pleasure' after thanking staff members.We were always greeted on our return to the hotel and given a cold drink and of course there was plenty of Turkish Delight. The breakfasts were excellent. A meal in the outside restaurant was most enjoyable and had such a glorious view. It did not turn out to be too expensive.
Our room was large and well equipped, had a delightful welcome tray. Unfortunately it had only a partial view of the Bosphorous.The bathroom with separate bath, shower and toilet cubicles had the best array of toiletries we have come across.
As others have mentioned the hill is the one negative factor, it was quite warm and while one can get a taxi, doing so takes the spontaneity out of going out for a stroll or coffee.

  • Liked — The excellent service
  • Disliked — The hill!
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JosephineAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#70 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Sisli
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
#73 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,645 reviews
Besiktas
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
#67 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#79 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
Sisli
Park Hyatt Istanbul - Macka Palas
Besiktas
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
Address: Suzer Plaza, Askerocagi Caddesi, No:6 | Elmadag/Sisli, Istanbul 34367, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#19 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#34 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#41 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#55 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul is an authentic luxury hotel offering breathtaking Bosphorus views for its high-end business and leisure guests, continuously providing genuine care and unique service delivered by its empowered Ladies and Gentlemen. Guests enjoy their stay in one of the 243 guest rooms, ranging from 38-sqm park view rooms to 64-sqm suites with panoramas of the Bosphorus or the city of Istanbul, offering a wide array of amenities as well as complimentary Wi-Fi. Located in the heart of the city overlooking the Bosphorus, The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul is just 15 minutes from the famous historical old town attractions of Sultanahmet, Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque and Grand Bazaar. The vibrant nightlife districts of Beyoğlu and Karaköy as well as the famous Galata Tower are a 25-minute stroll from the hotel. Istanbul's sophisticated shopping neighborhood of Nişantaşi is located within walking distance from the hotel, while the luxurious shopping centers of Zorlu Center and İstinye Park can be reached in less than 30 minutes. Guests at 'Bleu Lounge' can enjoy Bosphorus views alongside Mediterranean inspired snacks and innovative signature lab-cocktails in imaginative laboratory glasses. As the night continues, vibrant live musicians start their performance, performing the latest hits and raising the tempo to suit guests' mood and the night's feeling. With sunshine warming the city of Istanbul, the venue's retractable glass roof slides back, opening up 'Bleu Lounge' to delicious cool air. At The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul, the passionate pursuit of simple delicious food has been elevated to a fine art form at the hotel's new restaurant, 'Atelier Real Food'. Guests are welcomed by glittering views of the Bosphorus while the open kitchen entices with its French Rotisserie. Here, all dishes use fresh local seasonal ingredients and culinary excellence is celebrated by delicious 'farm-to-table' flavors created uniquely in the chefs' 'atelier'. The restaurant enjoys an indulgent winter garden terrace 'Atelier Terrace' for social celebrations and lovers of alfresco dining, as well as a private chef's table for those seeking dining exclusivity and a showcase cellar with 150 local and international wines. The lobby lounge 'Atelier Lounge' is a specially designed place to meet, eat and drink, offering Mediterranean-inspired Turkish dishes, along with breathtaking Bosphorus views. The spacious 'Club Lounge', reserved for 'Club Level' guests, provides complimentary culinary presentations throughout the day and a comfortable space to unwind with colleagues, friends or family, with a dedicated Concierge to attend to guests' every need. The views are extraordinary, of the Bosphorus and the timeless city of Istanbul. Two Smart Fortwo cars are also exclusively at the disposal of 'Club Level' guests offering a uniquely stylish way for urban explorers to enjoy the city or for corporate guests to get to their next appointment. The Ritz-Carlton Spa offers eight treatment rooms, a unique 17-metre indoor pool and authentic Turkish Hammam, spread over an area of 1,500 sqm. It also features a unique 'Couples Hammam Suite' which enables its guests to share an authentic memory of Turkey. The hotel also boasts the first 'Open Air Spa' terrace in the city with three contemporary Jacuzzis, a stylish sleek sunbathing terrace, two massage rooms and a pool. More than 2,403 square meters of meeting and conference space, highlighted by a magnificent Bosphorus view, are available for memorable events. Superb catering and entertainment services, high-speed Internet access in all meeting rooms and public areas, plus state-of-the-art audio-visual services and technicians all combine for our guest requirements. The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul was recognized 'Best Luxury Hotel Turkey, 2014' by Business Destinations Travel Awards and 'Central Eastern Europe's Best Employer of The Year 2013' by Aon Hewitt as well as 'Best International Business Hotel' 2009 and was recently recognized as one of the 'Best International Overseas Business Hotels' 2015 by Condé Nast Traveller Readers' Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Ritz Carlton
Ritz Istanbul
Ritz-Carlton Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing