We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic luxury hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
Ranked #54 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2009

We have stopped over in Istanbul for a couple of days break on our way home and stayed at the Ritz Carlton in Istanbul. The hotel is magnificent to say the least and we have never experienced such incredible service before. It was so lovely that it was hard to drag ourselves away from the hotel to go to see the city.

We stayed at the presidential suite - thanks to the hotel who upgraded us - and it was beaituful. The hotel is located in the european side and close to all the modern amenities while the old town is few minutes way on a taxi ride. It is close to all modern shopping ammenities and less than 5 mins taxi ride to Taksim Square.

The hotel facilities are excellent, staff are very friendly and accomodating and while the Club was closed, all the facilities were made available to us in the main restaurant. There is a spa facility which we did not use but the services offered looked fantastic.

Overall I would say this is probably the best hotel we have ever stayed in on holiday and trust me I am extremely fussy!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Sakiin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

986 - 992 of 1,376 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2008

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a conference in Istanbul. Sadly didn't spend too much time in the hotel but the room was absolutely outstanding, wonderfully comfortable bed.
Didn't eat in the hotel although grabbed some breakfast and the views from the restaurant over the Bosphorus are wonderful. Same applies to the bar during the evening, great atmosphere and attentive, friendly staff. We were then on a very good deal, would normally be out of my budget.

Great hotel, strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grumpy_Old_Man_Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2008

Stayed here for a 3 day conference.

Wonderful place on the inside, incredible service, the bed was like falling into the most comfortable giant marshmallow - never known such luxurious linen before or since. Just sorry that I didn't have more time to relax and enjoy the room itself.

Stayed: May 2003
Thank sibergrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2008

We stayed at the Ritz for 4 nights in late October 2008 and had a great experience. Excellent service and attention to detail. We stayed on the club level and were really delighted with all the amenities and the caliber of service. Staff always took the time to do a little extra to make the stay really special. It was my birthday and they wrote me a card & sent me a cake. Our room was made special for the occasion and we received a lovely gift upon checkout. Much has been made in previous reviews regarding the location of the hotel in an area far from the historical sights and on top of a hill...bottom line if you are paying the money to stay at this hotel already, the few taxi rides it takes to get you to the historical sites will not break you budget. Taxis are plentiful and not expensive. The Dolamache Palace is just at the bottom of the hill from the hotel (less than a 5 minute walk) as is the historical tramway which you can also take to the historical sites if you so choose, rather than taking taxis. An added bonus, the RC bar in the hotel provides a great view of the Bosphorus from which we were able to view the Turkish National Day fireworks. We highly recommend this hotel and would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoleneBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Ritz for five nights in a club-level room. This hotel has everything you would expect from the Ritz Carlton including a very attentive staff and plush comfortable rooms.

This hotel is actually well located for exploring Istanbul. While it is not in the "old-city" where most of the attractions are located, it does have good access to a tram station that will take you to most of the major tourist sights. The tram is located down the hill from the hotel, suggest exiting on the Mall level and walking down.

We were a bit taken back by the way some of the guests dressed while using the Club. Pajamas are not what I would consider appropriate attire.

Be aware that the Ritz is also a base for overnighting some cruiseship passengers -albeit a higher end client base.

My wife claims that the SPA and Turkish bath were both excellent and highly reccomended.

All in all a above average stay, but not the best Ritz experience ever, so only 4 stars for this review.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank fryfrye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2008

Stayed here for two nights as part of an APT cruise/tour Amsterdam to Istanbul. Very comfortable hotel with friendly, attentive staff. We were not unnerved by the metal detector and security at the door. Our room was quiet, with all the amenities you’d expect from a Ritz. Had a partial Bosporus view. Clean, though the carpet was stained. A/C worked properly, maintained a comfortable temperature. Good bathroom, especially the shower. Laundry service and internet expensive, as you’d expect. Had dinner at Cintemani restaurant, which was an OK meal, beautifully presented. My pide was too salty, but they took it off the bill when they saw I didn’t eat much, and insisted I have a complimentary fruit plate . Restaurant setting also lovely with views of the Bosphorus. (Forget cost of meal, but a glass of ordinary Loire wine was 22 YTL.) Great breakfast buffet, with interesting choices. (Had to leave at 6am on check-out day, which was before the buffet opened, but there were pastries and juice available in the lobby, most welcome).
The hotel isn’t near anything much and it’s a pedestrian-unfriendly hike to Taksim Square. You need to take a cab to get anywhere, the first cab we hailed at the Grand Bazaar wouldn’t go to the hotel; the second took us but dropped us up the road a bit in order to avoid a tricky turn. There is an ATM in the hotel, did not check out other facilities as time was limited. The hotel stored some bags for us while we went to Cappadocia and Ephesus, even though we stayed at a hotel in Sultanahmet on our return. The Ritz is a good choice if you are in Istanbul and need to be in the new part, but if you are a tourist Sultanahmet is much more convenient to the most important sites.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ozitravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2008

An offer to spend 4 days in Istanbul came from our friends unexpected. We did not plan to visit this city, so we did not search where to stay. The trip was planned and arranged and we had to accept that. And we were not disappointed. The hotel transfer was arranged through Ritz. We were pleased to see a mini van (there were 8 of us) with champagne and flowers inside. The hotel is beautiful and elegant. Ritz is Ritz. What can I say! We got aspacious Bosphorus view room. there was a bottle of wine and turkish sweets as a welcome.
Restaurant is great. You enjoy both the food and the Bosphorus view from the huge windows.
Pool and fitness center are of standard quality.
We also noticed that this hotel would be good for seminars and conferences. There are lots of meeting rooms in the hotels.
I would absolutely recommend this hotel. It is of top quality.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank keen_traveller495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#73 of 1,163 in Istanbul
564 reviews
Beyoglu
InterContinental Istanbul
InterContinental Istanbul
#92 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,803 reviews
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
#55 of 1,163 in Istanbul
794 reviews
Besiktas
Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus
Sisli
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
#71 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul

Address: Suzer Plaza, Askerocagi Caddesi, No:6 | Elmadag/Sisli, Istanbul 34367, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#22 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#33 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#40 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#54 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £126 - £421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul is an authentic luxury hotel in Istanbul, Turkey offering breathtaking Bosphorus views for its high-end business and leisure guests, continuously providing genuine care and unique service delivered by its empowered Ladies and Gentlemen. Guests enjoy their stay in one of the 243 guest rooms, ranging from 38-sqm park view rooms to 64-sqm suites with panoramas of the Bosphorus or the city of Istanbul, offering a wide array of amenities as well as complimentary Wi-Fi. Located in the heart of the city overlooking the Bosphorus, The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul is just 15 minutes from the famous historical old town attractions of Sultanahmet, Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque and Grand Bazaar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Ritz Carlton
Ritz Istanbul
Ritz-Carlton Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing