We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great on the Inside and Fantastic Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
Ranked #70 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Warwickshire, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great on the Inside and Fantastic Staff”
Reviewed 10 February 2009

This is an exceptional hotel. The staff are fantastic and the rooms are excelent. Attention to detail in all areas is amazing. The only real downside is there isn't really any outside space. It is the perfect base for business or people who don't like to sit outside!

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Outside space
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JimmyN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    914
    270
    75
    19
    9
See reviews for
212
426
57
356
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2009

Stayed at the Istanbul Ritz Carlton for four days over the Christmas holiday. A wonderful experience -- I echo the comments of other reviews with respect to the excellent service, the comfort of the rooms, and the quality of the pool and fitness centre. A couple of things I would point out, however: the hotel is oddly situated. It occupies several floors of a large office building/shopping complex and from the outside is utterly charmless. There is a nice entrance on one side, but it is difficult to reach by car as it is on a long one-way street. From the other side one must enter through this shopping arcade. I had one taxi driver who had never heard of the hotel and got completely lost, even when I provided him with a map. If you don't mind a short walk, the tram is by far the easiest and fastest way to get from the hotel into the old city. The tram stop is about 7 minutes from the back door (through the shopping arcade), and it's a quick and cheap ride. If you're staying at the Ritz Carlton and looking for interesting nightlife, don't miss Istiklal Caddesi (Independence Avenue). It's about 15 minutes away on foot, across Taksim Square, and has countless shops, bars, clubs, and restaurants that are lively into the early hours of the morning. I also took a ferry ride across the Bosphoros which provided great views - but the Asian side was a bit of a letdown. All in all, a great stay, in a great city, in a great hotel. Highly recommended!

  • Liked — excellent quality of all hotel amenities - room, fitness ctr., restaurant, bar, etc.
  • Disliked — awkward location; difficult to get to
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank frequent_flier_0813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London,
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2009

We have stopped over in Istanbul for a couple of days break on our way home and stayed at the Ritz Carlton in Istanbul. The hotel is magnificent to say the least and we have never experienced such incredible service before. It was so lovely that it was hard to drag ourselves away from the hotel to go to see the city.

We stayed at the presidential suite - thanks to the hotel who upgraded us - and it was beaituful. The hotel is located in the european side and close to all the modern amenities while the old town is few minutes way on a taxi ride. It is close to all modern shopping ammenities and less than 5 mins taxi ride to Taksim Square.

The hotel facilities are excellent, staff are very friendly and accomodating and while the Club was closed, all the facilities were made available to us in the main restaurant. There is a spa facility which we did not use but the services offered looked fantastic.

Overall I would say this is probably the best hotel we have ever stayed in on holiday and trust me I am extremely fussy!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Sakiin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2008

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a conference in Istanbul. Sadly didn't spend too much time in the hotel but the room was absolutely outstanding, wonderfully comfortable bed.
Didn't eat in the hotel although grabbed some breakfast and the views from the restaurant over the Bosphorus are wonderful. Same applies to the bar during the evening, great atmosphere and attentive, friendly staff. We were then on a very good deal, would normally be out of my budget.

Great hotel, strongly recommended.

  • Liked — Comfortable bed
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grumpy_Old_Man_Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Near Woolacombe, North Devon
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2008

Stayed here for a 3 day conference.

Wonderful place on the inside, incredible service, the bed was like falling into the most comfortable giant marshmallow - never known such luxurious linen before or since. Just sorry that I didn't have more time to relax and enjoy the room itself.

Stayed May 2003
Helpful?
Thank sibergrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2008

We stayed at the Ritz for 4 nights in late October 2008 and had a great experience. Excellent service and attention to detail. We stayed on the club level and were really delighted with all the amenities and the caliber of service. Staff always took the time to do a little extra to make the stay really special. It was my birthday and they wrote me a card & sent me a cake. Our room was made special for the occasion and we received a lovely gift upon checkout. Much has been made in previous reviews regarding the location of the hotel in an area far from the historical sights and on top of a hill...bottom line if you are paying the money to stay at this hotel already, the few taxi rides it takes to get you to the historical sites will not break you budget. Taxis are plentiful and not expensive. The Dolamache Palace is just at the bottom of the hill from the hotel (less than a 5 minute walk) as is the historical tramway which you can also take to the historical sites if you so choose, rather than taking taxis. An added bonus, the RC bar in the hotel provides a great view of the Bosphorus from which we were able to view the Turkish National Day fireworks. We highly recommend this hotel and would definately stay here again.

  • Liked — Excellent Service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoleneBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Ritz for five nights in a club-level room. This hotel has everything you would expect from the Ritz Carlton including a very attentive staff and plush comfortable rooms.

This hotel is actually well located for exploring Istanbul. While it is not in the "old-city" where most of the attractions are located, it does have good access to a tram station that will take you to most of the major tourist sights. The tram is located down the hill from the hotel, suggest exiting on the Mall level and walking down.

We were a bit taken back by the way some of the guests dressed while using the Club. Pajamas are not what I would consider appropriate attire.

Be aware that the Ritz is also a base for overnighting some cruiseship passengers -albeit a higher end client base.

My wife claims that the SPA and Turkish bath were both excellent and highly reccomended.

All in all a above average stay, but not the best Ritz experience ever, so only 4 stars for this review.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fryfrye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#73 of 1,141 in Istanbul
359 reviews
Sisli
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
#77 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,699 reviews
Besiktas
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
#74 of 1,141 in Istanbul
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#83 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,105 reviews
Sisli
Park Hyatt Istanbul - Macka Palas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
Address: Suzer Plaza, Askerocagi Caddesi, No:6 | Elmadag/Sisli, Istanbul 34367, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#25 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#34 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#53 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#55 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul is an authentic luxury hotel offering breathtaking Bosphorus views for its high-end business and leisure guests, continuously providing genuine care and unique service delivered by its empowered Ladies and Gentlemen. Guests enjoy their stay in one of the 243 guest rooms, ranging from 38-sqm park view rooms to 64-sqm suites with panoramas of the Bosphorus or the city of Istanbul, offering a wide array of amenities as well as complimentary Wi-Fi. Located in the heart of the city overlooking the Bosphorus, The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul is just 15 minutes from the famous historical old town attractions of Sultanahmet, Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque and Grand Bazaar. The vibrant nightlife districts of Beyoğlu and Karaköy as well as the famous Galata Tower are a 25-minute stroll from the hotel. Istanbul's sophisticated shopping neighborhood of Nişantaşi is located within walking distance from the hotel, while the luxurious shopping centers of Zorlu Center and İstinye Park can be reached in less than 30 minutes. Guests at 'Bleu Lounge' can enjoy Bosphorus views alongside Mediterranean inspired snacks and innovative signature lab-cocktails in imaginative laboratory glasses. As the night continues, vibrant live musicians start their performance, performing the latest hits and raising the tempo to suit guests' mood and the night's feeling. With sunshine warming the city of Istanbul, the venue's retractable glass roof slides back, opening up 'Bleu Lounge' to delicious cool air. At The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul, the passionate pursuit of simple delicious food has been elevated to a fine art form at the hotel's new restaurant, 'Atelier Real Food'. Guests are welcomed by glittering views of the Bosphorus while the open kitchen entices with its French Rotisserie. Here, all dishes use fresh local seasonal ingredients and culinary excellence is celebrated by delicious 'farm-to-table' flavors created uniquely in the chefs' 'atelier'. The restaurant enjoys an indulgent winter garden terrace 'Atelier Terrace' for social celebrations and lovers of alfresco dining, as well as a private chef's table for those seeking dining exclusivity and a showcase cellar with 150 local and international wines. The lobby lounge 'Atelier Lounge' is a specially designed place to meet, eat and drink, offering Mediterranean-inspired Turkish dishes, along with breathtaking Bosphorus views. The spacious 'Club Lounge', reserved for 'Club Level' guests, provides complimentary culinary presentations throughout the day and a comfortable space to unwind with colleagues, friends or family, with a dedicated Concierge to attend to guests' every need. The views are extraordinary, of the Bosphorus and the timeless city of Istanbul. Two Smart Fortwo cars are also exclusively at the disposal of 'Club Level' guests offering a uniquely stylish way for urban explorers to enjoy the city or for corporate guests to get to their next appointment. The Ritz-Carlton Spa offers eight treatment rooms, a unique 17-metre indoor pool and authentic Turkish Hammam, spread over an area of 1,500 sqm. It also features a unique 'Couples Hammam Suite' which enables its guests to share an authentic memory of Turkey. The hotel also boasts the first 'Open Air Spa' terrace in the city with three contemporary Jacuzzis, a stylish sleek sunbathing terrace, two massage rooms and a pool. More than 2,403 square meters of meeting and conference space, highlighted by a magnificent Bosphorus view, are available for memorable events. Superb catering and entertainment services, high-speed Internet access in all meeting rooms and public areas, plus state-of-the-art audio-visual services and technicians all combine for our guest requirements. The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul was recognized 'Best Luxury Hotel Turkey, 2014' by Business Destinations Travel Awards and 'Central Eastern Europe's Best Employer of The Year 2013' by Aon Hewitt as well as 'Best International Business Hotel' 2009 and was recently recognized as one of the 'Best International Overseas Business Hotels' 2015 by Condé Nast Traveller Readers' Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Marriott, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Ritz Carlton
Ritz Istanbul
Ritz-Carlton Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing