We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful! Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
Ranked #62 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful! Wonderful!”
Reviewed 8 July 2009

From the breathtaking views to the wonderful Turkish Delights and juices waiting for you in the lobby, this is a thoughtful glorious place to stay. It's the Ritz and it lives up to it's name. The lobby is beautiful, the restaurant is beautiful, the food, especially mezza plate is wonderful and the staff is probably the best staff I have ever encountered. Friendly and helpful, I don't think "no" or "can't do it" is in their vocabulary.

The hotel is a bit far from the old city or Taksim, but we LOVE to walk and it is a fun walk from the hotel to the various sights, so it was not a problem for us.

Had a Turkish Bath and this was definitely a different experience. The spa was beautiful. Oh, and the Ritz Burger...absolute must at every Ritz...fantastic.

Adored Istanbul and adored this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMCSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    902
    268
    74
    19
    8
See reviews for
207
421
57
351
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2009

We stayed at the Ritz Carlton-Istanbul May 27-June 2, 2009, during our Girls Week Vacation and enjoyed our stay at the Ritz.

Postivite points....
Restaurants: Apart of our vacation package, we were able to eat the breakfast buffet in the main restaurant. The buffet has a wonderful mix of traditional Turkish, European, and Western cuisine. The wait staff immediately sat us each morning and always offered a variety of teas, coffees, and juices. One evening we had a late dinner in the lobby of the hotel (at the Lobby Bar), and sat and watched the wonderful view of the Bosphorus. Again, the late night menu is very tasty with a variety of "snacky" foods (mozzarella sticks, salads, soups), etc. There is also an outside Lounge with heated lamps for the breezy nights. However, only drinks are served here and not food.

Spa/Turkish Bath: The hotel offers a full service spa and Turkish Bath. This is a GREAT alternative to have a traditional Turkish Bath in the hotel, but not at one of the many public Turkish baths that are found in and around Istanbul. Two of us tried the Turkish Bath and it was great! I was totally scrubbed down and relaxed by the time my Bath attendant finished. :) Definitely a well deserved treat to try!

Staff/Concierge: Very welcoming, friendly, ethusiastic. There was a slight mix-up/miscommunication in the initial rate when we booked the hotel three months prior to our arrival. However, the staff literally did everything possible (with a little help of American Express Travel) to fix the rate. Even when we were going to move to another hotel (nothing personal, but trying to stay within our original budget), they were able to match the rate of the new hotel. Yes, clearly EVERYTHING is negotiable in Turkey.

Rooms: We had two rooms on the 9th floor (914 and 915), which were conjoining rooms. This is a perfect set up if you are traveling with a group of 4 or more and/or have two rooms. Room 915 (which was the corner room), was larger than the other room and had an EXCELLENT view of the Bosphorus (see picture attached, as taken from the room view).

Points to Consider....
Security at arrival: Upon arriving at the Ritz Carlton Istanbul, all cab drivers (and other vehicles) must be swept for bombs. This was a bit overwhelming at first, but I understand why. You will also go through a metal detector everytime you enter the hotel.

Internet/Business Center: I did not bring my laptop along on vacation, but I wish I did! There is free wireless internet in the lobby. However, there is a "business center" available, but its 8 Euros per every 15 minutes!

Location: The Ritz sits up on a hill above the main Stadium in Istanbul. During our visit, the Soccer team was celebrating its successful Soccer season--and celebrate they did! For two nights in a row, there was a HUGE HUGE HUGE fan celebration, which spilled out from the stadium and into the streets. If you decide to stay at the Ritz-Istanbul, make sure you inquire if there are any major sporting or other events. As this will be a logistical concern on how to get in and out of the hotel.

All in all, I had a wonderful time at the Ritz Carlton- Istanbul. There were some positive and negative points about Istanbul itself, but I'll leave those comments on the Lonley Planet website!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Luxury Link

Helpful?
Thank LivingFab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaunas
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2009

I've been there with my close friend and all I remember that I was in a dream :) We had a room facing Bosforos and it can't be any better to sit in front of window, (there is a cosy armchair, it could be used for two) drink wine and watch colors of the bridge changing!!! The service was great starting from cleaness to the very small details (like turkish delights, updated weather forecast brough to the room, etc.) Food was incredible (we had breakfast) and "omlete guy" was too sweet to cook some special breakfast with the smiley. In general I was jelous to myself

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank astulle17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan, NY, USA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2009

Typical Ritz-Carlton hotel: elegant, well-appointed with excellent service. The breakfast is really well done and the space it's served in has amazing views. The room I had also had really nice views of the Bosphorus. The spa and hamam services are also really good.

A couple negatives: our first room was over some kind of night club and even though we were on a quite high floor, the thumping of the music was still audible. The staff switched our room per my request, but it was somewhat obnoxious that the Ritz-Carlton would even have a property affected by a night club.

Another negative is the location on top of a big hill. Not a huge deal, but it's still kind of hike.

I'd stay here again but would strongly consider the nearby Four Seasons.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelMfromNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MUMBAI
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2009

This hotel was suggested by my friend ,who is travel agent I stayed in this hotel for 4 days 3 nights It has good location You can view bosphoous from your room Room was spacious neat clean ,with all the aminities Bathroom was big comfortable Food was excellent. Breakfast was excellent as I did not find problem for pure veg food I was extremely happy with this hotel and highly recomend Staff also very nice and helpful

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Keyur M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazil
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2009

I stayed at Ritz Carlton for 6 days on January. I had an amazing stay! The staff is helpfull and gentle, it's a nice luxury hotel.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GHBRAZIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2009

The Hotel combines traditional turkish elements with an extremely modern hotel. The breakfast area overlooks the bhosphorus and is a treat. The underground pool is great and the rooms and bathrooms luxurious.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kaninikamishra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#67 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Sisli
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
#73 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
Besiktas
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
#72 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#85 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,070 reviews
Sisli
Park Hyatt Istanbul - Macka Palas
Besiktas
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
Address: Suzer Plaza, Askerocagi Caddesi, No:6 | Elmadag/Sisli, Istanbul 34367, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#23 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#34 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#46 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#55 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul is an authentic luxury hotel offering breathtaking Bosphorus views for its high-end business and leisure guests, continuously providing genuine care and unique service delivered by its empowered Ladies and Gentlemen. Guests enjoy their stay in one of the 243 guest rooms, ranging from 38-sqm park view rooms to 64-sqm suites with panoramas of the Bosphorus or the city of Istanbul, offering a wide array of amenities as well as complimentary Wi-Fi. Located in the heart of the city overlooking the Bosphorus, The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul is just 15 minutes from the famous historical old town attractions of Sultanahmet, Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque and Grand Bazaar. The vibrant nightlife districts of Beyoğlu and Karaköy as well as the famous Galata Tower are a 25-minute stroll from the hotel. Istanbul's sophisticated shopping neighborhood of Nişantaşi is located within walking distance from the hotel, while the luxurious shopping centers of Zorlu Center and İstinye Park can be reached in less than 30 minutes. Guests at 'Bleu Lounge' can enjoy Bosphorus views alongside Mediterranean inspired snacks and innovative signature lab-cocktails in imaginative laboratory glasses. As the night continues, vibrant live musicians start their performance, performing the latest hits and raising the tempo to suit guests' mood and the night's feeling. With sunshine warming the city of Istanbul, the venue's retractable glass roof slides back, opening up 'Bleu Lounge' to delicious cool air. At The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul, the passionate pursuit of simple delicious food has been elevated to a fine art form at the hotel's new restaurant, 'Atelier Real Food'. Guests are welcomed by glittering views of the Bosphorus while the open kitchen entices with its French Rotisserie. Here, all dishes use fresh local seasonal ingredients and culinary excellence is celebrated by delicious 'farm-to-table' flavors created uniquely in the chefs' 'atelier'. The restaurant enjoys an indulgent winter garden terrace 'Atelier Terrace' for social celebrations and lovers of alfresco dining, as well as a private chef's table for those seeking dining exclusivity and a showcase cellar with 150 local and international wines. The lobby lounge 'Atelier Lounge' is a specially designed place to meet, eat and drink, offering Mediterranean-inspired Turkish dishes, along with breathtaking Bosphorus views. The spacious 'Club Lounge', reserved for 'Club Level' guests, provides complimentary culinary presentations throughout the day and a comfortable space to unwind with colleagues, friends or family, with a dedicated Concierge to attend to guests' every need. The views are extraordinary, of the Bosphorus and the timeless city of Istanbul. Two Smart Fortwo cars are also exclusively at the disposal of 'Club Level' guests offering a uniquely stylish way for urban explorers to enjoy the city or for corporate guests to get to their next appointment. The Ritz-Carlton Spa offers eight treatment rooms, a unique 17-metre indoor pool and authentic Turkish Hammam, spread over an area of 1,500 sqm. It also features a unique 'Couples Hammam Suite' which enables its guests to share an authentic memory of Turkey. The hotel also boasts the first 'Open Air Spa' terrace in the city with three contemporary Jacuzzis, a stylish sleek sunbathing terrace, two massage rooms and a pool. More than 2,403 square meters of meeting and conference space, highlighted by a magnificent Bosphorus view, are available for memorable events. Superb catering and entertainment services, high-speed Internet access in all meeting rooms and public areas, plus state-of-the-art audio-visual services and technicians all combine for our guest requirements. The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul was recognized 'Best Luxury Hotel Turkey, 2014' by Business Destinations Travel Awards and 'Central Eastern Europe's Best Employer of The Year 2013' by Aon Hewitt as well as 'Best International Business Hotel' 2009 and was recently recognized as one of the 'Best International Overseas Business Hotels' 2015 by Condé Nast Traveller Readers' Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Ritz Carlton
Ritz Istanbul
Ritz-Carlton Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing