We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A relaxing and invigorating experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
Ranked #57 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A relaxing and invigorating experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2010

In a crowded city which has a bad traffic and so much going on such as Istanbul I don't necessarily expect to relax however Ritz Carlton gave me just that this Christmas. The hotel is situated at a perfect location if you want to visit both the European and the Anatolian sites. It is a stone throw away from Istiklal Street, Ciragan and Dolmabahce Palaces' however it is at a quite location away from the hustle and the bustle of the city. The service is excellent. the concierge staff are one of the best I have experienced. Very knowledgeable, friendly and warm but not intrusive; they helped us finding a good dentist at an emergency. Served in a beautiful Ottoman themed hall, the breakfast is just wonderful. As well as the turkish delights and the "Sahlep", a traditional turkish drink served as a complimentary in the lobby are pleasantries. The rooms are very quite and spacious, even my husband who is a light sleeper had long uninterrupted sleeps. All the other amenities, the spa, the pool, the hamam and the gym was top conditions as well as being very delightful. There is very little negative to say about this hotel except the view is not the best unless you are on a higher floor. It was my second stay in this hotel and I 'd love to return again. :))

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank semush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    890
    265
    73
    19
    7
See reviews for
206
413
56
346
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2010

We stayed 4 nights in January. If you opt for Bosphorus view than you shall select "full view", otherwise it doesn't make sense. Hotel is from 1st until 17th floor, futher residential floors. City view side is looking out directly to the building of state university, somewhat 200m away upper the hill. Sultanhamet (partial Bosphorus side) can been seen only from top floors, as hotel is located half way on a steep hill and neaby buildings are closing the view. On the opposite side (also partial Bosphorus) view is better, looking out to the city, partially Bosphorus, the Bridge and Besiktas arena. Nevertheless, just below windows there's some parking for buses and communal cleaning machines. So, consider twice which view you're paying for. Benifits of Club Floor do not pay off its extra price, as you also have to breakfast in the Club, where the choice is extremely limited. All in all, hotel is very nice and we fully support previous contributors. Nevetheless, we have already stayed in Kempinski Ciragan Palace 3 years ago and for the next stay, if any, would probably select stay right on Bosphorus. Most probably it would be Four Seasons, adjacent to Ciragan. One tip for dining out which you would not find in tourist guides: there is a great restaurant/bar in the Modern Art Museum, overlooking Bosphorus. Food is very delicious! In warm months they also have open air veranda, literally pendant over water.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fomych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2009

Great service and unmatchable buffet breakfast!!!Stunning view if you pay for the difference. Business suite is very relaxing. Room had a very bed mattress. The hotel is within walking distance to the busy Taksim square.

Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Recomendation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2009

Went to istanbul in August 2009 for a conference and stayed at the Ritz Carlton. Absolutely top rate luxurious hotel with a fabulous view. Was staying on the 12th floor with an amazing view of the Bosphorus.
Very good food quality and good service. highly recommended.

  • Liked — View and the room quality
  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mayukh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
72 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2009

Hotel is located in the first 15 floors or so of an ugly residential building. Rooms and service just average.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phenompilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2009

Our stay came at the end of a month long tour from Paris, with 21 days of river cruising and we were thrilled that the tour had chose the Ritz Carlton for the last 3 nights. As first timers in Istanbul with only 2 days in the city which were filled with tours, we found the location - a ten minute walk from Taksim Square - to be good, although we did not have to get around the city on our own. The staff at the Ritz Carlton was fabulous, but we were somewhat disappointed that in our spacious room the carpet was stained and worn and the porcelain soap tray was chipped. Others in our tour group agreed that while it was obviously a "grand dame," one does not expect these types of deficiencies in a Ritz. Also, be warned that food costs were exorbitant - a light snack and light dinner in the lounge (NOT the dining room) came to 47 and 89 Turkish lira respectively, which was equivalent to US$32 and US$60. Fortunately we found an internet cafe at Taksim which charged only US$2/hour as the hotel business center charged US$6.50 for only 15 minutes on-line, although we understand that those with laptops could use a hotspot in the lobby for free. When we return to Istanbul - which we certainly will do - we will not be staying at the Ritz Carlton

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cinderella_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2009

What can you say about something so close to perfection? The bed was amazingly comfortable, the service immaculate, the views of the river unmatched. The spa incredible and the extra surprises in your room when you got back from a long day a real delight. All in all a true 5 star, with little room for improvement. My only complaint was I happen to be facing a street party one night for university students and when I mentioned it to the concierge he told me it was the pool music and that it would be over soon. The music continued loud until well past 2am and they finally moved me, however a little reluctantly.

Quick side note, be careful with the taxi drivers! Everyone of them tried to screw me. Watch the meter at all times, as they have a tendency to hit buttons that increase the charges or they tell you a price prior to getting in which is 5 X what you should be paying. Cabs have meters, never negotiate a price anywhere and remember cabs are cheap so make the conversion in your head to decide if its too much or not. EVERY cab driver tried to rob me one way or another….

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joeiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#68 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Sisli
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
#71 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,652 reviews
Besiktas
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
#70 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#79 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,035 reviews
Sisli
Park Hyatt Istanbul - Macka Palas
Besiktas
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
Address: Suzer Plaza, Askerocagi Caddesi, No:6 | Elmadag/Sisli, Istanbul 34367, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#19 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#34 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#41 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#55 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul is an authentic luxury hotel offering breathtaking Bosphorus views for its high-end business and leisure guests, continuously providing genuine care and unique service delivered by its empowered Ladies and Gentlemen. Guests enjoy their stay in one of the 243 guest rooms, ranging from 38-sqm park view rooms to 64-sqm suites with panoramas of the Bosphorus or the city of Istanbul, offering a wide array of amenities as well as complimentary Wi-Fi. Located in the heart of the city overlooking the Bosphorus, The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul is just 15 minutes from the famous historical old town attractions of Sultanahmet, Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque and Grand Bazaar. The vibrant nightlife districts of Beyoğlu and Karaköy as well as the famous Galata Tower are a 25-minute stroll from the hotel. Istanbul's sophisticated shopping neighborhood of Nişantaşi is located within walking distance from the hotel, while the luxurious shopping centers of Zorlu Center and İstinye Park can be reached in less than 30 minutes. Guests at 'Bleu Lounge' can enjoy Bosphorus views alongside Mediterranean inspired snacks and innovative signature lab-cocktails in imaginative laboratory glasses. As the night continues, vibrant live musicians start their performance, performing the latest hits and raising the tempo to suit guests' mood and the night's feeling. With sunshine warming the city of Istanbul, the venue's retractable glass roof slides back, opening up 'Bleu Lounge' to delicious cool air. At The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul, the passionate pursuit of simple delicious food has been elevated to a fine art form at the hotel's new restaurant, 'Atelier Real Food'. Guests are welcomed by glittering views of the Bosphorus while the open kitchen entices with its French Rotisserie. Here, all dishes use fresh local seasonal ingredients and culinary excellence is celebrated by delicious 'farm-to-table' flavors created uniquely in the chefs' 'atelier'. The restaurant enjoys an indulgent winter garden terrace 'Atelier Terrace' for social celebrations and lovers of alfresco dining, as well as a private chef's table for those seeking dining exclusivity and a showcase cellar with 150 local and international wines. The lobby lounge 'Atelier Lounge' is a specially designed place to meet, eat and drink, offering Mediterranean-inspired Turkish dishes, along with breathtaking Bosphorus views. The spacious 'Club Lounge', reserved for 'Club Level' guests, provides complimentary culinary presentations throughout the day and a comfortable space to unwind with colleagues, friends or family, with a dedicated Concierge to attend to guests' every need. The views are extraordinary, of the Bosphorus and the timeless city of Istanbul. Two Smart Fortwo cars are also exclusively at the disposal of 'Club Level' guests offering a uniquely stylish way for urban explorers to enjoy the city or for corporate guests to get to their next appointment. The Ritz-Carlton Spa offers eight treatment rooms, a unique 17-metre indoor pool and authentic Turkish Hammam, spread over an area of 1,500 sqm. It also features a unique 'Couples Hammam Suite' which enables its guests to share an authentic memory of Turkey. The hotel also boasts the first 'Open Air Spa' terrace in the city with three contemporary Jacuzzis, a stylish sleek sunbathing terrace, two massage rooms and a pool. More than 2,403 square meters of meeting and conference space, highlighted by a magnificent Bosphorus view, are available for memorable events. Superb catering and entertainment services, high-speed Internet access in all meeting rooms and public areas, plus state-of-the-art audio-visual services and technicians all combine for our guest requirements. The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul was recognized 'Best Luxury Hotel Turkey, 2014' by Business Destinations Travel Awards and 'Central Eastern Europe's Best Employer of The Year 2013' by Aon Hewitt as well as 'Best International Business Hotel' 2009 and was recently recognized as one of the 'Best International Overseas Business Hotels' 2015 by Condé Nast Traveller Readers' Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Ritz Carlton
Ritz Istanbul
Ritz-Carlton Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing