We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurous Hotel but Location could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
Ranked #55 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2010

An excellent Ritz Carlton in bustling Istanbul with the usual outstanding service and room amenities. The beds and bathroom were outstanding, and the staff go out of their way to make your stay at the hotel a memorable one. The only criticism is the location. You can't leave the hotel and walk somewhere close by to see the sights. In this regard, the Kempinski Hotel, which is on the Bosporus, is a much better location.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Speedywheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

953 - 959 of 1,386 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2010

We stayed in the RC for 4 nights. The building totally does NOT fit in the sky line but the inside is really beautifull. The staff, food , rooms, pool everything is great. The location of the hotel is in fact very central but it is on a hill so it is hard to go somewhere by foot. You need to take cabs to go somewhere. Probable one of the best hotels in the beautifull city of Istanbul but the 2 four seasons are much nicer. But anyway highly recommended !!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Netherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2010

Me and my husband went to Istanbul before a work trip in Greece and Paris ,and we have chosen Ritz Carlton Istanbul because of the price X quality relation .The hotel has not the best location in Istanbul once you have to walk a little bit uphill to reach Taksim Square and Istiklal Caddesi, but the the hotel absolutely worths the walk! Wonderful entrance hall ,super front desk staff, lovely and spacious rooms (we took the park view one, and it was fabulous...i can imagine the Bosphorus view one!! ) ,great marble bathrooms with nice amenities,compliment bottle of water and chocolates every day, super comfortable king bed with super duvets.We got the breakfast included offer through internet (GTA Hotels) and it was great because it was almost a meal. Wonderful turkish yoghurt, best cheeses and breads , all kinds of fruits,freshly squeezed juices and more ,in a wonderful Bosphorus view room! RC has also an amazing LAVEDA spa downstairs (services are extra) ,but the guests are allowed to use the sauna and the AMAZING indoor swimming pool.It has also a wonderful and modern fitness center with all comforts(compliment bottle of water,towels,etc).We could also experience a hammam in the sauna complex,which was a great thing!We absolutely recommend Ritz Carlton Istanbul and would definitely stay there again next time!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HelianaCalmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2010

I am a travel agent (Journeys Around the World) and recently stayed at the Ritz for two nights prior to going on a cruise with Regent Seven Seas. This is a beautiful hotel with very accomodating staff...great concierge!. Nice rooms and public areas and wonderful, huge breakfast. Had a partial Bosphorus view. Did a turkish bath and massage at the spa which was great. Of course at the Ritz, the turkish bath is a private bath as opposed to the public baths! Restaurant and bar overlooks the Bosphorus. Only downside is that it is not in the old city but otherwise it was wonderful and the price was good compared to many of the other 5* hotels.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JourneysTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2010

I enjoyed my stay at the Ritz-Carlton as soon as I arrived. The staff is pleasant, helpful, and courteous. I arrived very early in the morning, and they found me a room to check into as soon as possible, with a wonderful borsphorous view. The breakfast there is amazing and worth its price, probably the best I have ever had, even better than at other luxury hotels such as the Four Seasons. All in all, the services there are not as overpriced as they usually are in other places, with an affordable very good internet connection. My room was splendid, full of little touches to make my stay as memorable as possible. As usual in Turkey, taxis, even belonging to the hotel, can be crooks, so be aware of establishing your itinerary with the help of the hotel staff before you get in.
The spa was amazing, do check our the Hamman massage package. The reception staff was always helpful, even when I came in with a very time consuming and harduous request.
The only room for improvement overall would be for the hotel to use organic soaps and creams as opposed to generic brands. Nevertheless, I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VBretonne35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

I have booked a double club room from my agent here in lebanon and thanks God I did!! it was really amazing! A very luxurious room with a great view over the city and a part of the bosphor. The club floor is really like your home away from home like one of the reviews said that I've read before booking in this hotel. The staff are great and very helpful. the food on the club floor isn't great but ok compared to nearby restaurants, the menu didn't vary a lot during our 4 days stay! The room i've had was nicely furnished and neat so i really liked it (by the way i'm a very demanding person and i'm not easily satisfied) so you can say that The Ritz Carilton is the best experience for those who seek perfection. The SPA at the hotel was really too expensive, so i decided not to try it and that's what i've regreted the most because all my friends told me that the Hammam is one of the greatest experiences in Turkey! don't miss it! bad luck for me, maybe next time. the hotel is five minutes walk from Istiklal Street, a busy street with lots of shops.At last I say thank you Ritz Carlton for this great experience and I would definitely go back one day!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ninaelkhalil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2010

Superb bed, sparkling clean, bottled water replaced at least twice a day, well furnished, comfortable suite with separate living and bed rooms, two big screen TVs, two bathrooms, separate shower and tub, lots of little amenities around like shoe polish, tooth brush, and the usual creams and glop to clean you. Very quiet.
It was therefore surprising that the widow curtains were not capable of darkening the rooms. Enough light came in through the closed curtains that I could see shadows in the room in the middle of the night. She liked the standard pillows, I found the requested firm pillows to be lumpy. Although classed as a smoking room, there was no smoke smell present.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#75 of 1,163 in Istanbul
591 reviews
Beyoglu
InterContinental Istanbul
InterContinental Istanbul
#92 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,819 reviews
Besiktas
Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Sisli
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
#70 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,819 reviews
Besiktas
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
#54 of 1,163 in Istanbul
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul

Address: Suzer Plaza, Askerocagi Caddesi, No:6 | Elmadag/Sisli, Istanbul 34367, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#23 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#33 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#41 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#43 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £125 - £471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul is an authentic luxury hotel in Istanbul, Turkey offering breathtaking Bosphorus views for its high-end business and leisure guests, continuously providing genuine care and unique service delivered by its empowered Ladies and Gentlemen. Guests enjoy their stay in one of the 243 guest rooms, ranging from 38-sqm park view rooms to 64-sqm suites with panoramas of the Bosphorus or the city of Istanbul, offering a wide array of amenities as well as complimentary Wi-Fi. Located in the heart of the city overlooking the Bosphorus, The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul is just 15 minutes from the famous historical old town attractions of Sultanahmet, Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque and Grand Bazaar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Ritz Carlton
Ritz Istanbul
Ritz-Carlton Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing