We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barcelo, Never again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eresin Hotels Topkapi
Ranked #144 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Barcelo, Never again!”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I would give them 3 stars, losing two stars to the location, to the moody attitude of the staff, and to the horrible elevators, if it wasn't for a seriously awful experience I had with Barcelo Topkapi. But I am giving them only one star, as this has been the worst hotel experience in my entire life (I am a frequent traveler and I have stayed in at least 250 hotels)

In August of 2013, I with eleven other family and extended family members pick Istanbul as the location for our family reunion. We flew from three different countries to Turkey to have a great time there together. Barcelo Eresin Topkapi managed to almost ruin our entire visit! I will write down my experience in another review. Just be aware Barcelo, the company as a whole, is all about their revenue and monetary profit! They could not care less about their client's satisfaction or the level of customer service they provide.

I will avoid staying at Barcelo hotels at any cost!

Regardless of my awful experience this is my honest opinion about Barcelo Eresin Topkapi:

The good:
- Rooms are of good size and are clean
- Nice swimming pool, steam rooms, sauna and Turkish bath complimentary use for the hotel guests

The bad:
- The manager of the hotel and his condescending attitude
- Elevator: This is a large building with several floors and so many rooms, there are only three very slow elevators. For most of the time at least one of the elevators was out of order. We had to wait a good ten minutes each time we wanted to use the elevators
- Location: If you are not very familiar with Istanbul, beware that to get to the touristy areas and monuments you have 20-40 minutes train ride from the hotel, although the train stop is right in front of the hotel, the trains are ALWAYS jam packed and the ride on those trains are not very pleasant! You may want to try using the trains once just for the experience but you will need to get cabs from the hotel to places you want to visit! This hotel is not in walking distance to anywhere you want to see
- Area: There is no decent restaurants or shops around this hotel. You will need to walk for 25 minutes or so to reach the first restaurant with good food
- Food at the hotel: Extremely expensive! I got two local beer bottles and one water bottle from the hotel bar and ended up paying $25! They charged us $6 for every regular size can of soda that we had from the mini bar. Breakfast also is very expensive something like $35 per person for a not-so-amazing breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sishab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    637
    512
    179
    49
    26
See reviews for
325
522
69
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius, Lithuania
1 review
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I‘m glad I had an opportunity to stay at Barcelo Eresin Topkapi as I was really warmly welcomed by everyone over there! The hotel is located just a minute from a tram stop, in this case it‘s easy to get whenever you want (don‘t be lazy to look carefully at the map or just ask the staff!). Continuing about them - staff is great, always willing to help and give you some advice. THANKS for Jose for a nice welcome, Vuslat, for suggestions of the places worth seeing and not getting bored only with the most visited ones and, Alex, for answering my never-ending questions! You made my stay easier and nicer, no doubts! So after any chaotic day in Istanbul , the hotel is a perfect place to relax , especially, cause of the atmosphere around.
Tad rekomenduočiau visiems!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monika J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Really great hotel and at the discounted price of £250 for three nights including flights and spa, a bargain. Breakfast was quality and comprehensive. Trams are right outside and take about ten minutes to get into the centre. Staff were all really helpful. A real pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Cronin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Province of Florence, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Just spent a week here and it was the friendliest hotel in Turkey. From check in the staff were friendly, helpful and went out of their way to make our stay very enjoyable. Hellos and smiles greeted us every day and when we needed help,or suggestions each staff member was very helpful....even where to buy the best sweets in Istanbul, which we did and gave them to the staff.
The tram stop is right outside and for 3 lira you can travel anywhere in the city quicker than by car.
Recommend this hotel for big comfortable rooms and windows that open!
The spa and hamam are wonderful as well.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank wendie1935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
1 review
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Your won't find more helpful staff or a more pleasant place to stay than at Barcelo Eresin Topkapi. The hotel is on the tram line which makes it very easy to access the city and the cleanliness and services of the hotel are first rate.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Petrea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaco
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Good hotel with large rooms, very friendly service and situated next to a tramway station.

Maybe not the best choice for people who visit Istanbul for the first time and with little time as this hotel is around 15 mn from the main touristic attractions per tramway. Nothing is at walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OliMonaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Wow, just wow! This hotel is just amazing! Great location 5 minutes from grand bazaar ,blue mosque, and so much more! The staff are so friendly and willing to help! The room was also brilliant and very big! Perfect if you are anyone who wants the best of the best for a reasonable price! Also the spa facilities were amazing especially the massages! The tram station is very close - which is important for tourists like me and my family who want to see things ! Just amazing i would just reccommend ths hotel to everyone

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vareesha N N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Holiday Inn Istanbul City
#325 of 1,156 in Istanbul
601 reviews
Sultanahmet
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
#106 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fener & Balat
Dosso Dossi Hotels & Spa Downtown
Mercure Istanbul Topkapi
#442 of 1,156 in Istanbul
161 reviews
Sultanahmet
Eresin Crown Hotel Sultanahmet
Eresin Crown Hotel Sultanahmet
#215 of 1,156 in Istanbul
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eresin Hotels Topkapi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eresin Hotels Topkapi

Property: Eresin Hotels Topkapi
Address: Millet Cd. No: 186 | Fatih, Istanbul 34104, Turkey (Formerly Barcelo Eresin Topkapi)
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#110 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#139 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#156 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#183 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Eresin Hotels Topkapi 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover this elegant hotel located in the old part of Istanbul. The Barceló Eresin Topkapi***** hotel is situated in the Old Town, in Istanbul's European quarter. Thehistoric centre, the Gran Baazar and the Sütlüce conference centre are only 10 min by tram which stops right in front of the hotel. This hotel in the Barceló Premium category boasts spacious, light-filled rooms, a fantastic health and wellness centre (1,000 m²): the U-Spa, a conference centre with 12 meeting rooms and free Wi-Fi connection in all the rooms and common areas. There is also a fabulous culinary offer with themed menus in the Picasso Restaurant. The hotel also boasts its own Hammam (Turkish bath) to help you discover the traditions of this fascinating country. Enjoy the distinction and beauty of this marvellous hotel which makes every guest feel special, because your comfort is so important to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Eresin Hotels Topkapi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Eresin Topkapi Hotel Istanbul
Barcelo Hotel Istanbul
Barcelo Hotel Eresin Topkapi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing