We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eresin Hotels Topkapi
Ranked #144 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed at the Barcelo Eresin for 5 nights. We were upgraded to a premium room on arrival. The room was excellent, modern, spacious and very clean with wifi, large TV and Tea/Coffee making facilities.
Staff were very helpful especially the concierge on the evening of our arrival. He was very helpful in telling us how to use the trams, where to get off etc extremely knowledgeable on the area. Also thanks to Vuslat the corordinator who took an interest in her guests. The barman in the lounge bar who also was very good with the guests, in fact thanks to everyone.
We found the location very good as it was not in the city centre but still only 10 mins away by tram. We did all the tourist sights, Blue Mosque, Aya Sofya, Eminou, Spce Bazar, Grand Bazar etc all by tram with no problems, they do get a bit crowded in rush hour but that is to be expected in a city that size.
We will be returning to Istanbul early in 2015 and shall again stay at the Barcelo Eresin

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDOWN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    637
    512
    179
    49
    26
See reviews for
325
522
69
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

So... got this via lastminute.com (which I don't recommend anyone to use anyways). First issue was google map somehow picked another location with a similar name 20 min away so I got a bit lost. Word of advise (thats if you are really staying in this hotel), type out the actual address rather than google map the hotel name.

In general everything is OK, it is not the newest hotel nor the grandest rooms. It is comfortable and relatively clean. The price is ok as well... Services aren't great (can never reach the reception or concierge or anyone for that matter from your room).

also, it was rather mis leading re "free" spa, their definition of a spa is actually the gym. so yes if you expect a spa session, you not going to get one but the access to the gym is "complementary" (which to me should not really be a selling point).

the GYM is not bad, and the pool. can do lapse if you really want to.

finally - frankly I dont think this is a 5 star hotel, but it says it is.

location - ok? can get on T1 and go to most attractions, so thats not bad.

Room Tip: Ask for a non smoking room and don't go for rooms with room number after 40 (e.g. dont go for 54...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CY L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We would like to say special thank to Public Relation Coordinator Vuslat Aslan. She is so professional, attentive. She pay attention to all of your requests quickly and deeply. Then we can feel that you are special guest of the Hotel. This gave us the great enjoy of this Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Abenova S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Barcelo is a nice hotel, fairly close to airport (~30 minutes) with convenient access to tram stop and hence to the centre of Istanbul. The rooms are comfortable; Wi-fi is free and reasonably fast and coffee making facilities and bathroom make the room very good. However, in terms of furnishing and decoration it is barely 4 star , the aircon didn't function during our stay; - the friendleness of staff make up for some of the shortcomings.

Room Tip: Ask for room at the back and away from main road which can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gs488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I would like by starting with the positives. The staff were extremely friendly, helpful and professional from the start. The gentleman who greeted me at my taxi was every so kind, and was happy to help with my bags and help me check in. All throughout my 2 day stay I can say that I was happy with every aspect of the service. The location is good as it is a reasonably quick taxi ride from the airport, and if you do want to get into the more historic side of town there is a really cheap and quick tram stop right outside the front of the hotel.
Now, on to the areas that could do with improvement, which for a business traveller such as myself are paramount to a successful trip. The WiFi, though it is free is virtually useless. It took over 15 minutes to send a simple 1 MB email which is a nightmare when you need to be in regular contact with colleagues and customers. The rooms though reasonably large were rather dated in their décor, and I am glad that it was not too hot as the air-conditioning in the room was next to useless. It did have the facility to increase the power, but this merely seemed to act as a volume control rather than actually lowering the temperature of the room. Also, my room was apparently designated a "Non Smoking" room, but this had obviously been ignored by the previous occupant as the room smelt of stale smoke.
It is a shame that there were these issues, because I really did want to enjoy my stay a lot more than I sadly did.
But, I must say that I cannot comment on the spa or the rest of the facilities on-site, which I did hear from other guests were great. I was too busy trying to fruitlessly send emails.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRyanWeymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We booked this hotel as a part of packaged holiday (hotel and flights) from a popular UK website.

The hotel is about 20 mins from airport, which is great, but in our opinion its bit far from the Touristic places (Sultanamet) and main markets (Grand bazar). The hotel is good tram 8-9 stops away from the tourist attractions.

While making a booking, we specifically requested for a double bed (and not a twin bed) but to our surprise, a twin bed room was reserved!

We had to insist on a room with double bed, and the friendly hotel staff immediately showed us another room, which (again) turned out to be a twin bed room. We could smell cigarettes in that room (as it was a smoking room).

Again, we had to see another room , which was non-smoking and double bed.
Finally , after 20-25 mins , we got in our room, which was facing a very busy road. We were already tired and 20-25 mins delay matters, especially after a journey.

At night, the room temperature felt a bit high, so we decided to decrease the temperature. That didn’t work, so we called reception and they sent a member of staff immediately(although it was 10 past midnight!).

We were informed that only heating is working at the moment and we can’t decrease room temperature. We were advised to open the windows for fresh / cold air. This hotel claims to be 5 star and no temperature control? That was disappointing!!

We had no choice but to open the window, which meant we couldn’t sleep well due to constant siren noise and traffic / trams noise.

Next morning, breakfast was nice, they had huge selection of items to choose from. Staff in the restaurant was attentive and they were refilling often.

Due to our short stay, we didn’t get a chance to visit the spa and pool area etc, but it was noticeable that this hotel requires refurbishment (carpets in the lobby were worn out) and definitely needs installation of air conditioning units in each room!

Overall, an average experience, hotel staff was friendly and welcoming but the facilities need to go a long way.
PS: If you are planning to stay here, do try a nearby restaurant , called www.kebapcimurat.com.tr , for authentic Turkish food at decent price . We loved the food and people were really friendly!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nilesh_Rathod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Very beautiful hotel, we had a great time in Istanbul, everything was perfect, the staff in the hotel was really nice and welcoming. I highly recommend the spa in the hotel, Alex who is in charge of it was great. We had a wonderful massage in the hammam. Definitely one of the best in Istanbul.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Avjfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Holiday Inn Istanbul City
#325 of 1,156 in Istanbul
601 reviews
Sultanahmet
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
#106 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fener & Balat
Dosso Dossi Hotels & Spa Downtown
Mercure Istanbul Topkapi
#442 of 1,156 in Istanbul
162 reviews
Sultanahmet
Eresin Crown Hotel Sultanahmet
Eresin Crown Hotel Sultanahmet
#215 of 1,156 in Istanbul
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eresin Hotels Topkapi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eresin Hotels Topkapi

Property: Eresin Hotels Topkapi
Address: Millet Cd. No: 186 | Fatih, Istanbul 34104, Turkey (Formerly Barcelo Eresin Topkapi)
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#110 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#139 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#156 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#183 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Eresin Hotels Topkapi 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover this elegant hotel located in the old part of Istanbul. The Barceló Eresin Topkapi***** hotel is situated in the Old Town, in Istanbul's European quarter. Thehistoric centre, the Gran Baazar and the Sütlüce conference centre are only 10 min by tram which stops right in front of the hotel. This hotel in the Barceló Premium category boasts spacious, light-filled rooms, a fantastic health and wellness centre (1,000 m²): the U-Spa, a conference centre with 12 meeting rooms and free Wi-Fi connection in all the rooms and common areas. There is also a fabulous culinary offer with themed menus in the Picasso Restaurant. The hotel also boasts its own Hammam (Turkish bath) to help you discover the traditions of this fascinating country. Enjoy the distinction and beauty of this marvellous hotel which makes every guest feel special, because your comfort is so important to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eresin Hotels Topkapi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Eresin Topkapi Hotel Istanbul
Barcelo Hotel Istanbul
Barcelo Hotel Eresin Topkapi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing