We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly rećommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Istanbul Old City
Ranked #146 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Lima, Peru
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Highly rećommend”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I just spent 5 days in the hotel that just changed management from Crowne Plaza. We refused a room on the street and were given an extremely quiet inside room. Both the room and bathroom were quite ample and spotless. The service was excellent especially since the hotel caters to groups. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The location is good. We walked and took advantage of the tram to get everywhere. The breakfast includes a very wide variety of local and western food. Minor complaints are a dimly lit room and there is a charge for wi-fi in the guest rooms.
We whole-heartedly recommend the hotel and plan to return.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank hrk_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevda K, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Istanbul Old City, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear hrk_9,

Thank you very much for your kind words and feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

We are very glad that you had a very good stay with us. Also, it is so pleasing to hear that you liked our open buffet breakfast and choices which we try to prepare every kind of food for our multinational guests.

We do hope to welcome and serve you in the future again and are thrilled to create another memorable stay for you.

Kind Regards,


Sevda Kılıç
Guest Relations Executive
Wyndham Istanbul Old City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    243
    89
    32
    20
See reviews for
199
258
54
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

For this hotel my recommendation is short :
If you are looking for a perfect hotel close to all the major attraction in the Istanbul old town (walking distance). Don’t look further you have found it!
Just 900 meters from the Grand bazar and very close to the Sultanahmet Mosque, Hagia Sohia, Basilica cistern , Topkapi.
Further advantages are, excellent breakfast, very well noise isolated ( almost no outside city noise), Metro station in front. Very friendly and professional staff. Here I would like to highlite the excellent service we received from the 2 ladies (the one from Adana in particular- great wine advice) that were running the restaurant and bar in the lobby.
The food in the restaurant is seriously good on quality, cooking, taste and presentation, next friendly priced for hotel dinners (you will pay an equal amount if you would visit a GOOD quality restaurant in the old town)
I would recommend this hotel for anyone that would like a great hotel in the middle of the Istanbul Old Town.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_WyndhamOldCity, Genel Müdür at Wyndham Istanbul Old City, responded to this review, 8 March 2016
Dear Mr.Jack V,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback about Wyndham Istanbul Old City Hotel.

We are thrilled to hear you had a great stay with us and enjoyed our hotel.

Looking forward to seeing you again in Old City.

Kind regards,

Duygu Sönmez
General Manager
Wyndham Istanbul Old City Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The Crowne Plaza in Istanbul is within walking distance to restaurants, shopping, cafes and great dessert places. One can get a good feel for the city from this location and the hotel is clean with a great breakfast. The rooms are fine--a good size, no good views, friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yolanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_WyndhamOldCity, Genel Müdür at Wyndham Istanbul Old City, responded to this review, 8 March 2016
Dear Mss. Yolanda C ,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your comments about Wydnham Istanbul Old City Hotel.

My team and I are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a great weekend in Istanbul.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

All the best,

Duygu Sönmez
General Manager
Wyndham Istanbul Old City Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We had a good stay at this hotel.
Although small (typical for a city centre hotel), the rooms were clean, comfortable and well furbished. Staff were helpful and responded politely to our enquiries.
The breakfast buffet offered a good choice and restaurant staff were attentive.
This hotel is located within easy reach of the Sultanahmet area and the Grand Bazaar.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gorame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevda K, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Istanbul Old City, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Gorame,

Many thanks for your recent stay with us and taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to hear you have enjoyed your overall stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to our hotel soon.

Best regards,


Sevda Kılıç
Guest Relations Executive
Wyndham Istanbul Old City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2014

After emailing the hotel to let them know that we were on our honeymoon, we were really pleased to find we had a large room with red velvet heart shaped pillows and throw. How sweet. They also sent up a pastry/dessert for us. Although, new to the city, we asked reception for a map (as my husband had left the guide book on the plane!) of which they said they didn't have any. How about recommendations for dinner? There weren't any good restaurants nearby, but they could recommend a restaurant who would pick us up. No thanks.
On a positive the hotel was well staffed, breakfast was aplenty, clean and efficient and the honey was to die for. A must try
Great location. We got a tram ticket and topped it up, thus saving our legs for later, and felt like a local.
Would recommend this hotel, although it changed hands during our stay

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nightboat_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevda K, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Istanbul Old City, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Nightboat_England,

Thank you very much for choosing us for your visit and having the time to leave a feedback.

We are glad to hear that you liked our hotel, location and our team. It is our pleasure to welcome and serve you at our property. As you know, our brand switched to Wyndham on the 1st of May and I would like to mention that we aim to escalate the level of high guest satisfaction and make our distinguished guests’ stays more comfortable, memorable and rewarding.

We do hope to welcome you soon again!

Kindest regards,


Sevda K
Guest Relations Executive
Wyndham Istanbul Old City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This was my second stay here. Easy to reach from the airport on the metro / tram (not recommended if you have lots of bags, there's one change at Zeytinburnu and a fair hike from arrivals to the platform) - Laleli/Universite is the stop, 300 yards from the hotel.
Easy check-in, nice room (though I had to move the laptop away from the workstation to get a better wireless connection). Staff were very pleasant and helpful - the concierge set me up a very good day trip to Gallipoli with RSL Tours, who were excellent.
Breakfast in the exec lounge was good, and there is a good hammam / sauna etc, as well. Hammam / massage was decent value - not cheap but very relaxing and professional.
There was also a very lovely harpist playing in the foyer most evenings, which made for a relaxing tea and pastry!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_WyndhamOldCity, Genel Müdür at Wyndham Istanbul Old City, responded to this review, 8 March 2016
Dear Mr.David P,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments about Wyndham Istanbul Old City Hotel.

My team and I are very happy you enjoyed our hotel and had a great nice experience.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm Regards

Duygu Sönmez
General Manager
Wyndham Istanbul Old City Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed here with my wife Asmaa for 5 nights from the 20th April. It is a reasonable 4 star hotel.
We went for the club room but would not pay the extra again as not much for the extra money.
The free coffee , small sandwiches and pastries in the club room are excellent but they are time limited which is not apparent on the website so it is of limited value for the upgrade.
The hotel seems to shut off your air con in the middle of the night remotely which is a pain when you wake up feeling way to warm … complain and it does not happen
Room service was poor … forgot lots of the order, salt and cutlery … Plates for the food cold so the food is cold. Complained and it improved.
Street noise is an issue but you are in the middle of the city.
The F & B manager and his deputy tried very hard and succeeded in making up for the room service complaint.
Breakfast is a bit disappointing … hot food is a bit on the cold side and warm plates are not very warm …. Biggest issue is a lack of staff to clear and clean tables and in turn to find a clean one to use
Dinner was ok but my wife ordered rack of lamb but it was mutton (sheep) … large bone in the rack the give away!

The best bit is the location ….

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevda K, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Istanbul Old City, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Ray L,

Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.

Your comments are very important for us to even further upgrade and improve our services. Thus, we appreciate your positive comments, as well as your constructive feedback which we have already started to take actions while you were here with us.

We do hope to have a chance to welcome you again at our property with higher quality and better services if your trips will bring you back to Istanbul!

Best Regards,


Sevda K
Guest Relations Executive
Wyndham Istanbul Old City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Kent Hotel Istanbul
#312 of 1,149 in Istanbul
325 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Legacy Ottoman Hotel
Legacy Ottoman Hotel
#246 of 1,149 in Istanbul
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
#121 of 1,149 in Istanbul
1,258 reviews
Grand Bazaar
FER Hotel
FER Hotel
#7 of 1,149 in Istanbul
169 reviews
Sisli
Wyndham Grand Istanbul Levent
Wyndham Grand Istanbul Levent
#86 of 1,149 in Istanbul
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Istanbul Old City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Istanbul Old City

Property: Wyndham Istanbul Old City
Address: Fethi Bey Cad. | Laleli-Fatih, Istanbul 34134, Turkey (Formerly Crowne Plaza Istanbul Old City)
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Grand Bazaar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#58 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#111 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#162 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#231 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Wyndham Istanbul Old City 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious hotel in Istanbul is 400 m from the Grand Bazaar. It has a spa, an indoor pool and a gym. Free private parking is available. You can access free WiFi in public areas. The elegant rooms at the 5-star Wyndham Istanbul Old City have satellite TV, a tea/coffee maker and a private bathroom with luxurious toiletries. Some rooms have a flat-screen TV and a spacious seating area. The Lale Restaurant serves a rich buffet breakfast in the mornings. A gourmet menu of international cuisine is served in the evenings. Guests of the Wyndham Istanbul can enjoy a range of beauty treatments at the spa, or work out with cardiovascular equipment at the gym. The Hagia Sophia and the Sirkeci Train Station are located 3 km from the Wyndham Istanbul. Ataturk Airport is 18 km from the premises, and airport transfer services can be offered upon request at an additional charge. Fatih is a great choice for travellers interested in museums, monuments and architecture. This is our guests' favourite part of Istanbul, according to independent reviews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Istanbul Old City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Istanbul Old City Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing