We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great property....to bad it aint Crowne Plaza anymore....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Istanbul Old City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wyndham Istanbul Old City
Ranked #158 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
157 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great property....to bad it aint Crowne Plaza anymore....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

I have stayed at this hotel several times when it was still a Crowne Plaza. Liked everything about it, friendly service, great lobby, new rooms, good AC, location relatively close to Sultanahmet and tram stop.
I am very unhappy that IHG let this property go to Wyndham... Good for the Wyndham chain...usually their hotels are not so good, this one will definitely be a star in their collection. I gotta find me a new favorite place to stay in Istanbul now....

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DIOGENES L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevda K, General Manager at Wyndham Istanbul Old City, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear DIOGENES L,

Thank you very much for leaving us such a kind comment on tripadvisor.

It was so great to read your comments about our property , services and staffs. Additionally, you made us with your comments not only honoured but also sad. Being a favorite place of yours, we do hope that we would have a chance to welcome you back in the Wyndham Istanbul Old City in the future again...

Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    237
    88
    29
    20
See reviews for
192
247
51
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vilassar de Dalt, Spain
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

We reserved 2 rooms (double and single) for 3 a few months ago, but surprisingly when we arrived at the hotel they told us there was a problem with the power in a part of the hotel so they had to relocate us to the only available room, the presidential suite. Sadly there was only a king bed so they brought me a very tiny bed for sleeping. Horrible bed and night.
Luckiky next night they changed me the room so I could have a normal bed.
The hotel is nice and clean.
Breakfast is simple, nothing special.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank rubenix1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_WyndhamOldCity, Genel Müdür at Wyndham Istanbul Old City, responded to this review, 8 March 2016
Dear Mr.Rubenix1976,

Thank you for taking the time to share you experience at Wyndham Istanbul Old City Hotel.

My team and I are glad you had a great stay with us and thank you for your average feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,

Duygu Sönmez
General Manager
Wyndham Istanbul Old City Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Big Hotel with great location. The rooms are fairly very small to other hotel in Europe. It is nicely located in the heart of Istanbul. Connected to Aksaray metro station (direct line to airport) and situated on the main tram line connecting all major attractions in Istanbul. Breakfast was average with very less options for vegeterain, though the main duty manager was attentive, he ordered a vegeterian dish for us on our last morning. It has very small spa too

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rkothari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevda K, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Istanbul Old City, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Rkothari,

Thank you very much for sharing your reviews regarding your stay in May.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location. Our building is a historical property built in 1921, it was orginally for public housing and converted into hotel later. We have seven room categories currently and we wish to provide you a better room suits your requests if your trips bring you back to Istanbul in the future again.


Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I just spent 5 days in the hotel that just changed management from Crowne Plaza. We refused a room on the street and were given an extremely quiet inside room. Both the room and bathroom were quite ample and spotless. The service was excellent especially since the hotel caters to groups. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The location is good. We walked and took advantage of the tram to get everywhere. The breakfast includes a very wide variety of local and western food. Minor complaints are a dimly lit room and there is a charge for wi-fi in the guest rooms.
We whole-heartedly recommend the hotel and plan to return.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank hrk_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevda K, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Istanbul Old City, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear hrk_9,

Thank you very much for your kind words and feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

We are very glad that you had a very good stay with us. Also, it is so pleasing to hear that you liked our open buffet breakfast and choices which we try to prepare every kind of food for our multinational guests.

We do hope to welcome and serve you in the future again and are thrilled to create another memorable stay for you.

Kind Regards,


Sevda Kılıç
Guest Relations Executive
Wyndham Istanbul Old City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

For this hotel my recommendation is short :
If you are looking for a perfect hotel close to all the major attraction in the Istanbul old town (walking distance). Don’t look further you have found it!
Just 900 meters from the Grand bazar and very close to the Sultanahmet Mosque, Hagia Sohia, Basilica cistern , Topkapi.
Further advantages are, excellent breakfast, very well noise isolated ( almost no outside city noise), Metro station in front. Very friendly and professional staff. Here I would like to highlite the excellent service we received from the 2 ladies (the one from Adana in particular- great wine advice) that were running the restaurant and bar in the lobby.
The food in the restaurant is seriously good on quality, cooking, taste and presentation, next friendly priced for hotel dinners (you will pay an equal amount if you would visit a GOOD quality restaurant in the old town)
I would recommend this hotel for anyone that would like a great hotel in the middle of the Istanbul Old Town.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_WyndhamOldCity, Genel Müdür at Wyndham Istanbul Old City, responded to this review, 8 March 2016
Dear Mr.Jack V,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback about Wyndham Istanbul Old City Hotel.

We are thrilled to hear you had a great stay with us and enjoyed our hotel.

Looking forward to seeing you again in Old City.

Kind regards,

Duygu Sönmez
General Manager
Wyndham Istanbul Old City Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
173 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

The Crowne Plaza in Istanbul is within walking distance to restaurants, shopping, cafes and great dessert places. One can get a good feel for the city from this location and the hotel is clean with a great breakfast. The rooms are fine--a good size, no good views, friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yolanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_WyndhamOldCity, Genel Müdür at Wyndham Istanbul Old City, responded to this review, 8 March 2016
Dear Mss. Yolanda C ,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your comments about Wydnham Istanbul Old City Hotel.

My team and I are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a great weekend in Istanbul.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

All the best,

Duygu Sönmez
General Manager
Wyndham Istanbul Old City Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We had a good stay at this hotel.
Although small (typical for a city centre hotel), the rooms were clean, comfortable and well furbished. Staff were helpful and responded politely to our enquiries.
The breakfast buffet offered a good choice and restaurant staff were attentive.
This hotel is located within easy reach of the Sultanahmet area and the Grand Bazaar.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gorame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevda K, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Istanbul Old City, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Gorame,

Many thanks for your recent stay with us and taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to hear you have enjoyed your overall stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to our hotel soon.

Best regards,


Sevda Kılıç
Guest Relations Executive
Wyndham Istanbul Old City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
#116 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Ramada Istanbul Grand Bazaar
Ramada Istanbul Grand Bazaar
#199 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sura Design Hotel & Suites
Sura Design Hotel & Suites
#104 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Kent Hotel Istanbul
#298 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Fener & Balat
Dosso Dossi Hotels Downtown
Dosso Dossi Hotels Downtown
#77 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Istanbul Old City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Istanbul Old City

Property: Wyndham Istanbul Old City
Address: Fethi Bey Cad. | Laleli-Fatih, Istanbul 34134, Turkey (Formerly Crowne Plaza Istanbul Old City)
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Grand Bazaar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#59 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#122 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#162 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#232 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Wyndham Istanbul Old City 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious hotel in Istanbul is 400 m from the Grand Bazaar. It has a spa, an indoor pool and a gym. Free private parking is available. You can access free WiFi in public areas. The elegant rooms at the 5-star Wyndham Istanbul Old City have satellite TV, a tea/coffee maker and a private bathroom with luxurious toiletries. Some rooms have a flat-screen TV and a spacious seating area. The Lale Restaurant serves a rich buffet breakfast in the mornings. A gourmet menu of international cuisine is served in the evenings. Guests of the Wyndham Istanbul can enjoy a range of beauty treatments at the spa, or work out with cardiovascular equipment at the gym. The Hagia Sophia and the Sirkeci Train Station are located 3 km from the Wyndham Istanbul. Ataturk Airport is 18 km from the premises, and airport transfer services can be offered upon request at an additional charge. Fatih is a great choice for travellers interested in museums, monuments and architecture. This is our guests' favourite part of Istanbul, according to independent reviews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Southall Travel and Hotels.com so you can book your Wyndham Istanbul Old City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Istanbul Old City Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing