We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location not much soul” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Istanbul Old City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wyndham Istanbul Old City
Ranked #158 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great location not much soul”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed for two nights at the end of tour of ancient sites in Turkey. This is a very impressive hotel in the heart of Istanbul. Beautifully modern but a bit soulless could have been anywhere. Impeccably trained staff but not very friendly. Rooms small but well appointed everything you need. Breakfast a bit chaotic, never seemed to be enough staff to seat people and clear tables. Location great for seeing all the main sights of a Istanbul consequently very noisey but you can't have everything.
Would I stay again probably but there is a lot of choice in Istanbul and this Hotel doesn't have anything unique to recommend it. But still a perfectly good high end hotel

Room Tip: Get a room on the highest floor away from the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moggiemo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevda K, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Istanbul Old City, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Moggiemo50,

Thank you very much for choosing us for your recent visit.

We are happy to serve you during your stay with us and learn that you liked our property and location. As you mentioned, our location is so closed to historical places that our guest can reach there by walk. Also, being on the tram route provides a great convenience for our guests.

Let me thank you again for your recent stay and sharing your reviews with us. It was a pleasure for us to welcome you and we hope to serve you in the very future again!


Kindest Regards,

Sevda KILIC
Guest Relations Executive
Wyndham Istanbul Old City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    237
    88
    29
    20
See reviews for
192
247
51
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Wyndham Istanbul Old City

This ornate hotel is built from four separate apartment buildings which are joined together by a roof and corridors which make up the public spaces with glass elevators on the outside facing into the lobby. It's quite elegant

The Wyndham Old city is a very nice hotel situated centrally in the old city. Located just off a main street Ordu street which is filled with shops restaurants and a main Metro line. It is next to the Istanbul University and only a few blocks from the Suleyman the Magnificent Mosque, which is not to be missed. The mosque Is an architectural triumph made specially apparent when you're inside and realize there are no supporting columns. It isn't as ornate as the Blue Mosque or the Hagia Sofia but it's huge and elegant.

The hotel is also a few steps away from the Grand Bazaar which of course is a must see. Other attractions are a short taxi ride.

The hotel has an excellent breakfast each morning, which should please most tastes. And the staff are very helpful and most polite.

Our room was a bit small, but our kid's room with two single beds was quite a reasonable size. I would check to see if other rooms are available if yours is on the small side.

.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheyenne2_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevda K, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Istanbul Old City, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Cheyenne2_11,

Thank you very much for taking your time to leave a feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

It was a pleasure to read your constructive comments and I am sure that your detailed explanation will be helpful for our future guests, as well. Also, I would like to mention that we have 265 rooms (7 categories) in our property and I do hope we will have another chance in the future so that we can find a much better room for you which is suitable for your expectations and needs.

Once more, I would like to thank you for your posting and I hope we would have a chance to serve you again. So that we can show you how great our hotel is and make you remember us with better feelings.

Kindest Regards,

Sevda K
Guest Relations Executive
Wyndham Istanbul Old City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tadley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Our initial experience was daunting, as the hotel had changed from a Crowne Plaza to a Wyndham within days of our booking, and we could not access any information. However, once this was established everything fell into place. I organised a Museum Pass to be delivered to the hotel upon our arrival, and lo and behold, it was handed to me immediately. Reception staff were flawless - courteous, friendly, happy and eager to help.

Our room was large, quiet and very comfortable, and perfect for a 4 day sightseeing experience. I liked the fact it was an older hotel, as it had a degree of style and comfort which is sadly lacking for more modern counterparts. We took a taxi there from the airport, which was both cheap and efficient.

We bought day passes on the Metro, and travelled around the city quite happily to all the tourist destinations - the main sights are only 3 stops away.

I loved both the hotel and the city - do go.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Farseer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevda K, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Istanbul Old City, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Farseer,

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful holiday experience with us. We were delighted to read that you had a memorable stay with us and your positive feedback .

As you have kindly mentioned, our property is located at a very unique and beautiful part of our city enabling our guests to explore the countless and fascinating aspects of Istanbul. Additionally, hearing that you completed your 4 days fully made us happy, too.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Best Regards,

Sevda K
Guest Relations Executive
Wyndham Istanbul Old City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Location is strategic and excellent.

Breakfast is not organised well and below average, when you arrive you will find a lot of empty uncleaned tables.

Don't trust their recommendation for tours, they are dealing with a tour operator called "Senkron" this operator a a group of thieves.

Housekeeping is below average.

Wifi is very poor.

Room Tip: Don't pay for their WIFI, it's slow with weak signals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zuhair S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevda K, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Istanbul Old City, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear ZuhairS,

Thank you very much for having the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us.

Please accept our apologies for falling short of your expectations. I have been investigating your comments and my research still continues. If you could reach me on sevda.kilic@wyndhamoldcity.com to complete my research and give you an explanation about this issues, I would be most grateful.

I am looking forward to your e-mail.

Kind Regards,


Sevda KILIÇ
Guest Relations Executive
Wyndham Istanbul old City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
102 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Our Turkey tour started with 3 days in Istanbul and since it involved a lot of sightseeing, we decided to select a good hotel to retreat to after sight-seeing and Wyndham Old City Hotel served its purpose.

The staff was very friendly and helpful, offering 3 day Wi-Fi as a compliment, which was not included in the package. I really appreciated this gesture, as it is always disorienting when you arrive in a new country and there is no connectivity ! Breakfast was great, with lot of options, for both vegetarians & non-vegetarians.

Only disappointment was the room. In the pictures, it looked much larger with a bathtub, which was not the case with the one we got(Room 4402). Also it was tough to locate the Hotel in Google Maps, guess it was formerly Crown Plaza Hotel, so chose for an Airport Transfer from a tour agency online (50% cost of one arranged by Hotel)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RahulRanjit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevda K, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Istanbul Old City, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear RahulRanjit,

Thank you very much for your kind words and feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

We are very glad that you had a very good stay with us. Furthermore, it is so pleasing to hear that you liked our open buffet breakfast and choices which we try to prepare every kind of food for our multinational guests. Also I would like to thank you very much for your concern about the Google Maps. We have contacted Google to make necessary changes and still dealing with it. I am sure it will be completed as soon as possible.

We do hope to welcome and serve you in the future again and are thrilled to create another memorable stay for you.

Sevda Kılıç
Guest Relations Executive
Wyndham Istanbul Old City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We spent three days in this lovely hotel. Hotel is really elegant perfect for a movie set. Breakfast wasn't great and if you can be happy just with a croissant and a cappuccino there is a lovely bar just within the hotel hall. We spent few hours in the spa and my masseurs was divine, ask for sansene ( hope I spelt her name right). Best massage ever. Location wise really good as close to tube and tram, 10 min away from all the mosques. I would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fabrizio83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevda K, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Istanbul Old City, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Fabrizio83,

Thank you for sharing your most recent experience with us.

We are appreciated both your positive and negative reviews as they are really important for us to improve our services. Thanks to the feedbacks, we can see how we are doing clearly and we can find out what we can do to provide much better services for our valued guests.

We thank you once again for taking your time to leave your valuable feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kindest Regards,

Sevda Kılıç
Guest Relations Executive
Wyndham Istanbul Old City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen
Level Contributor
202 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed here for four nights and it was a very mixed experience. The first day was a disaster. We elected to eat in what may be considered the coffee shop. We found fellow guests walking out having waited for 30 minutes without being served. Rather than get wet eating out we demanded the manager and to his credit he made things happen. Breakfast was a zoo with large groups eating at the same time and inadequate staff to cope and clear. After that day the congestion eased considerably. The hotel is really designed and set up for private guests but has been taken over by groups. Not sure whether this is anything to do with the recent change of ownership.I would not choose this as a hotel if travelling privately. The rooms are small as to be expected in a city centre hotel but are well equipped. Rooms are vulnerable to outside noise. The swimming pool is good - take cap! Easy access to sites via trams. Food was good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-GR_WyndhamOldCity, General Manager at Wyndham Istanbul Old City, responded to this review, 16 January 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at Wyndham Istanbul Old City.

We appreciate your positive comments, as well as your constructive feedback which I have already shared with the team and I will follow up personally. Apologies for any expectation that we may have failed to fulfill.

We look forward welcoming you back on your next trip to İstanbul!

Kindest regards,

Murat Köni
General Manager
Wyndham Istanbul Old City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
#114 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Ramada Istanbul Grand Bazaar
Ramada Istanbul Grand Bazaar
#191 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sura Design Hotel & Suites
Sura Design Hotel & Suites
#105 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Kent Hotel Istanbul
#295 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Fener & Balat
Dosso Dossi Hotels Downtown
Dosso Dossi Hotels Downtown
#77 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Istanbul Old City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Istanbul Old City

Property: Wyndham Istanbul Old City
Address: Fethi Bey Cad. | Laleli-Fatih, Istanbul 34134, Turkey (Formerly Crowne Plaza Istanbul Old City)
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Grand Bazaar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#59 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#122 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#162 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#232 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Wyndham Istanbul Old City 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious hotel in Istanbul is 400 m from the Grand Bazaar. It has a spa, an indoor pool and a gym. Free private parking is available. You can access free WiFi in public areas. The elegant rooms at the 5-star Wyndham Istanbul Old City have satellite TV, a tea/coffee maker and a private bathroom with luxurious toiletries. Some rooms have a flat-screen TV and a spacious seating area. The Lale Restaurant serves a rich buffet breakfast in the mornings. A gourmet menu of international cuisine is served in the evenings. Guests of the Wyndham Istanbul can enjoy a range of beauty treatments at the spa, or work out with cardiovascular equipment at the gym. The Hagia Sophia and the Sirkeci Train Station are located 3 km from the Wyndham Istanbul. Ataturk Airport is 18 km from the premises, and airport transfer services can be offered upon request at an additional charge. Fatih is a great choice for travellers interested in museums, monuments and architecture. This is our guests' favourite part of Istanbul, according to independent reviews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Wyndham Istanbul Old City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Istanbul Old City Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing