We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad,but just”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wyndham Istanbul Old City
Ranked #145 of 1,151 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Not too bad,but just”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We booked a Deluxe room and a standard room but couldn't see the difference.
Room are small dark and not very clean, carpets and curtains needs changing or thorough cleaning.
Staff is friendly but must of them speak only Turkish and very few speak English.
Breakfast is good, lot of choices of fresh food. No problem there.
Location is excellent, easy reach from airport and the bazaar.

Room Tip: If you can't walk or are in a wheelchair this hotel is not for you because of the many steps eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank François R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-GR_WyndhamOldCity, General Manager at Wyndham Istanbul Old City, responded to this review, 16 January 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at Wyndham Istanbul Old City.

We appreciate your positive comments, as well as your constructive feedback which I have already shared with the team and I will follow up personally. Apologies for any expectation that we may have failed to fulfill.

We look forward welcoming you back on your next trip to İstanbul!

Kindest regards,

Murat Köni
General Manager
Wyndham Istanbul Old City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    244
    89
    32
    20
See reviews for
201
258
54
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The best part of the hotel was the location. Walking distance to the Grand Bazaar and all the shops. We were a group of six so I saw 4 rooms. The best room was the two single beds room it was large overall. Other rooms the bathroom was tiny and the toilette behind the door. Very bad lighting in the rooms. We chose the hotel due tithe fact that it had a pool and unfortunately it was shut for renovations which was a real disappointment. The staff at least tried to help and gave us a room upgrade and free wifi otherwise you have to pay. Our room was much larger and had a view onto the Main Street. Pleas be aware that rooms overlooking the Street are noisy from the traffic. Breakfast was terrible. If you do need to use the pool they require you to wear a swimming cap for hygiene purposes and I had to buy one considering the pool was shut for the rest of the week! Also they ruined one of our shirts when it was sent to the laundry. The did however reimburse us for the cost of the shirt. Also a couple of machines in the gym were not working. Overall average stay, the location was the best part of the hotel. Also they did find us a great driver to take us to all the sites and he recommended some excellent restaurants to eat.

Room Tip: Do not have a room overlooking the street it's noisy from the traffic and street lights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane_T80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-GR_WyndhamOldCity, General Manager at Wyndham Istanbul Old City, responded to this review, 6 January 2015
Dear Diane,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at Wyndham Istanbul Old City.

There is no such a nice feeling that hearing you had a notable experience with us, as well as we could do our best for giving a satisfied service during your stay with us. Your comments increased our motivation positively and we are confident of providing much better facilities and services for our valued guest so it has been.

We look forward to welcome you soon again!

Best Regards,

Murat Köni
General Manager
Wyndham Istanbul Old City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Had a great time at the Wyndham. We were in Istanbul for our honeymoon, and told the hotel about it. We were there the first two days of our trip, and the last two days of our trip.

The first two days, we were in a pretty dingey room, not much light, with a giant column in the middle of the open area of the room. It was alright, weren't going to spend much time in the room anyway, but still wasn't amazing.

In any event, the breakfast included at the hotel was pretty good, it's a beautiful hotel that is well maintained, and there's a nice spa area. However, if you want to use the indoor pool (no outdoor pool) be prepared to freeze. Also, you have to buy a bathing cap for 5 lira before you use the pool.

The last two days of our trip, we returned to the Wyndham, and this time the manager approached us, told us that they knew it was our honeymoon, and told us they had prepared a special room for us. The room was a suite, with a huge parlor/sitting room, another room bedroom (with a heart shaped pillow), and two bathrooms. A few minutes after checking in, a waiter arrived at the door with a bottle of red wine, fruits, and a cake for us. It was amazing treatment, and the hotel really did the job right the second time.

We'd highly recommend this hotel. It's in a good, safe area, about a 15 minute walk from the big sites of the Golden Horn, and with plenty of shops and restaurants around.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-GR_WyndhamOldCity, General Manager at Wyndham Istanbul Old City, responded to this review, 6 January 2015
Dear Adam H,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us and leaving such a nice feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are happy to know that we could provide you a memorable stay with us and you enjoyed every moment with us in Istanbul. We do hope to welcome you back to the Wyndham Istanbul Old City again!

Best Regards,

Murat Köni
General Manager
Wyndham Istanbul Old City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We booked a non-smoking junior suite with king bed A month in advance. When we arrived in a hotel we were told that our junior suite was not ready. Then they were trying to make us pay for an upgrade to a bigger suite. We asked to look at it first and found out that the bigger suite had two separate beds. We declined saying that as a couple we would not be comfortable and that we specifically asked for a king bed when booking the room. And of courses we did not want to pay more for 2 separate beds. The hotel was very pushy saying that they would put 2 beds together - Obviously, in their mind it would be the same as the king size.. yeah right... and you call it a five star service? What a backward attitude! So we said no, we do not want to upgrade and we will wait for our junior suite when it's ready. When we came back from a walk around Istanbul, we found out that they had still upgraded - this time for free as it turned out they did NOT have any junior suites available at all! However they gave us a smoking room. It stunk as hell. When we complained their response was we... that's all what we have as the hotel is sold out and there is no more rooms available. And .. listen to that - they said that the room is not smoking "it's just the guest who stayed there before asked for ash trays ... to put some nuts in it..." Isn't it moronic or what?!!!! Do they really think that their guests are fools? There were 3 ash trays in the room.. The room smelled like cigarettes and they were lying to us thinking that we were idiots? This is not a 5 star service. Then finally the manager called with an apology and said that they would give us free dinner... and they would clean the room... well their cleaning was basically opening the windows in the room... SO BE AWARE - IF YOU HATE SMOKING ROOMS THERE IS NO GUARANTEE THAT YOU WILL GET NON-SMOKING ONE EVEN IF YOU BOOK IT!

Room Tip: Got a very noisy room at the corner facing the main street in Sultanahmet area - ask for a quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Americanaexotica7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-GR_WyndhamOldCity, General Manager at Wyndham Istanbul Old City, responded to this review, 16 January 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.

Your comments are very important for us to even further upgrade and improve our services. It is most unfortunate to hear we could not meet your expectations during your stay with us. Your feedback have already shared with the team and I will follow up personally. Apologies for any expectation that we may have failed to fulfill.

We do hope to have a chance to welcome you back and make you remember us much better feelings.

Best Regards,

Murat Köni
General Manager
Wyndham Istanbul Old City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton Junction, New Jersey, United States
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This Was earlier the Crowne Plaza Hotel, Old City so many cab drivers confuse in reaching it. Best landmark, this is Right Opposite the Lalilih Mosque (Camii). Right from our check in to moving the luggage to the rooms and the few days we stayed there, most - if not all - parts of the Reception, Bell Captain, Concierge, HouseKeeping Service was Excellent.

The location is right in the SultanAhmet Area, so Blue Mosque is around 16-18 MInute by walk (Uphill though, half of the way) or 3 Tram stops away. Ataturk Airport is like a 40-45 Lira ride, the other Airport is a good 120 Lira ride by Cab.

We often had meals at the Cafe near the Reception and they could make pizza and pasta to our liking. There was some medical situation and the Hotel extended the courtesy of a Nurse on complementary basis. They even gave us their Wheel Chair - again, complementary - for use as it was needed. That was a great help.

Comfortable stay, very well appointed Lobby with a European Feel and staff ready to help.
This was True Turkish Delight at Istanbul.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jitendra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-GR_WyndhamOldCity, General Manager at Wyndham Istanbul Old City, responded to this review, 6 January 2015
Dear Jitendra M,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us and leaving such a nice feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to hear you have enjoyed your overall stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to our hotel soon.

Best regards,

Murat Köni
General Manager
Wyndham Istanbul Old City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is a great hotel in the middle of the city. Staff was great and helpful. It looks better than the pictures and the main buiding inside looks great. It is very clean and I was suprised with the service. It was a great choice to be there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bel_Ami_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-GR_WyndhamOldCity, General Manager at Wyndham Istanbul Old City, responded to this review, 6 January 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us and leaving such a nice feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are happy to know that we could provide you a memorable stay with us and you enjoyed every moment with us in Istanbul.
We do hope to welcome you back to the Wyndham Istanbul Old City again!

Best Regards,

Murat Köni
General Manager
Wyndham Istanbul Old City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This hotel offers modern conveniences within the luxurious atmosphere of an old palace. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. For example, several days before I was to check in, they were willing to receive my lost luggage and hold it for me till I arrived. The concierge helped me call Air France to report damage to my luggage; he also suggested other places to visit in Turkey and offered to make introductions to people he knew there.

Breakfasts are amazing, served buffet style, comprising everything from soup and hot entrees to salads to fresh fruit to cereal to pastries. You can't imagine how lavish the spread is, which obviates any need to eat until dinner time. The rooms are beautifully appointed and the beds very comfortable.

The location of the hotel is within walking distance of many sites: University of Istbanbul-Laleli, the Grand Bazaar, historic mosques (Blue, Suleymanye), and Topkapi Palace.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JHMiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-GR_WyndhamOldCity, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Istanbul Old City, responded to this review, 6 January 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us for your visit in Istanbul and having the time to leave a feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

We are glad to hear that you like our hotel, location, facilities and our team. It is our pleasure to welcome and serve you at our property and we do hope to welcome you soon again!


Kindest regards,

Murat Köni
General Manager
Wyndham Istanbul Old City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Kent Hotel Istanbul
#300 of 1,151 in Istanbul
325 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Legacy Ottoman Hotel
Legacy Ottoman Hotel
#247 of 1,151 in Istanbul
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
#121 of 1,151 in Istanbul
1,259 reviews
Grand Bazaar
FER Hotel
FER Hotel
#8 of 1,151 in Istanbul
172 reviews
Sisli
Wyndham Grand Istanbul Levent
Wyndham Grand Istanbul Levent
#87 of 1,151 in Istanbul
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Istanbul Old City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Istanbul Old City

Property: Wyndham Istanbul Old City
Address: Fethi Bey Cad. | Laleli-Fatih, Istanbul 34134, Turkey (Formerly Crowne Plaza Istanbul Old City)
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Grand Bazaar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#58 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#111 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#162 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#231 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Wyndham Istanbul Old City 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious hotel in Istanbul is 400 m from the Grand Bazaar. It has a spa, an indoor pool and a gym. Free private parking is available. You can access free WiFi in public areas. The elegant rooms at the 5-star Wyndham Istanbul Old City have satellite TV, a tea/coffee maker and a private bathroom with luxurious toiletries. Some rooms have a flat-screen TV and a spacious seating area. The Lale Restaurant serves a rich buffet breakfast in the mornings. A gourmet menu of international cuisine is served in the evenings. Guests of the Wyndham Istanbul can enjoy a range of beauty treatments at the spa, or work out with cardiovascular equipment at the gym. The Hagia Sophia and the Sirkeci Train Station are located 3 km from the Wyndham Istanbul. Ataturk Airport is 18 km from the premises, and airport transfer services can be offered upon request at an additional charge. Fatih is a great choice for travellers interested in museums, monuments and architecture. This is our guests' favourite part of Istanbul, according to independent reviews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Istanbul Old City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Istanbul Old City Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing