We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotless but missing that special something”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Atakoy Marina Hotel
Ranked #941 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Stayed for four nights in sept 2013 for a work trip. Staff were friendly enough, service was also pretty good and food was ok, but for a trip where every food experience was amazing, the hotel food was 4/5. Still better than most equivalent uk hotels though! Marks lost for air con which refused to work properly (i had to open a window each night, in gales), curtains which failed to shut out marina lights, a wake-up call system which didn't work properly and a swimming pool that had limited opening hours, plus only two or three english tv channels.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aagoodey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

I stayed in the new part, next to the marina as they were overbooked
When I came in to the suite, I thought this was the most luxurious hotel I ever stayed at.
However, things went downhill very quickly.
From being promised over 500 channels, only 20 worked and they were all in Turkish.
The blinds didn't cover the windows 100% so street light came right in my face when I tried to go to sleep and when I closed the shower door, I got the handle in my hand.
As I had an early departure, I tried to check out at 6 AM, they only had a security guard at the desk as you needed to go over 300 meter to the other hotel to check out.(which no-one told me when I checked in)
There were a small problem with the guard. He only spoke Turkish and when he finally understood that I was trying check out, he called the marina. They asked on what boat I stayed on but I told them that I was trying to check out from the hotel. Sadly the just hang up on me

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwedeMedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I spent 22 days in this hotel in June 2013 on a work trip. I was quite apprehensive about staying here after reading most of the reviews. I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel though dated, is neat, clean and spacious. It is quite suitable for a family as the rooms are really spacious and airy.
In real estate terms when they say it's all about the location, this hotel fits the bill. Situated at the Atakoy Marina, this hotel is home to spectacular views where the swish set of Istanbul come to let their hair down. Possibly the only hotel with spacious balconies, it gives you the feel of a resort. The twice daily shuttles to SultanAhmet, Taxim and the Airport take care of your commuting requirements quite nicely. It is an approximately 30TL ride to the city by cab. The drive to the city centre is by the sea and very scenic. There are bus stops at the Galleria Mall nearby. The hotel is not close to any train line.
Food at the hotel is ok, and the breakfast outdoors is excellent. The Restaurant Manager Davut Sel goes out of his way to accommodate requests and requirements. The number of eateries around the hotel premises is good enough to satisfy any palette.
The property shares an excellent pool and spa facility with the adjacent Sheraton.
The two Zeynaps at the Reception are hospitable.
I'm not sure why the Management is not refurbishing the property even after so many adverse reviews about the shabbiness but it needs a makeover urgently. Over the weekend, the noise from the partying and traffic in the adjacent Marina can be annoying.
I rate this overall package quite high.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
Thank Jamal234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Stayed for a week with my husband to attend a wedding there.
It has such bad reviews I was on the verge of cancelling at one time.however we went with it and as the cab arrived from the airport and we got out it looked a bit tired.However the bedroom was huge and very clean,the bed and pillows were very comfy and the chamber maids changed the beds every day.
Whilst it is very 70s and dated,it is also clean, and to be honest, for the money I paid, that's all I am worried about. Great position for restaurants and luxury harbour but a bit off the beaten track if you want the bazaars and monuments. We used the pool and facilities at the Sheraton, which you walk to through the gardens. Would I stay there again? Probable not, but I'd stay next door at the Sheraton. However, don't let the reviews put you off. if you want a cheap hotel close to the airport with a clean room.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kate m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

It was a short Stay there and we did felt good in this Hotel. It was not far away from the international Airport and the Transfer was made fast and friendly. Although we have been there only 2 Nights, we say, that it was all very friendly and totally clean there. During our Stay, we went two times there for Breakfast, wich was nice decorated and all fresh. Good Coffee there!!! Very nice view to the Sea!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BEACHSUN1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

I stayed there just for a day, It is 10 minutes to the airtport by taxi, 5 minutes to the sea transportation (just goes to Kadıköy) other than that the transportation to any other location could be hard for a tourist.
It is a nice clean well decorated room that I stayed.
Breakfast is included in the price.
Other than that it is next to bunch of nice restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank ickis_t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed here because we had an early morning flight. It was relatively close to Ataturk airport and was less expensive than other airport hotels. It is about half way between the airport and the old city. The check in staff was extremely helpful giving us directions back into Istanbul for some last time shopping. We took a taxi to the metro (14TL) and then the metro to the Grand Bazaar (3TL). It took about an hour. The Atakoy is a large hotel and has a great view of the marina. The furnishing could use some updates but it is clean. There is a shuttle to the airport but it does not start running until about 7 AM. Taxi to airport costs about 30TL. There is a breakfast included if you pay more in your room rate. We were leaving before it was served so we did not include it in our rate. Alcohol is extremely expensive at the hotel.

There is a whole string of restaurants within a very short walk. The restaurants serve a lot of American food which we were excited to have after two weeks of Turkish food. We ate at SanSenDo. We had hamburgers and they were delicious. The food was a little expensive and alcohol was a little more expensive than other places in Turkey. These restaurants seem to be very popular with the locals and all the restaurants were very busy.

Room Tip: The restaurants stay open late and are noisy (at least on a Friday night). We were in block 4 of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SDTraveler033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Istanbul Atakoy Hotel
Sheraton Istanbul Atakoy Hotel
#263 of 1,159 in Istanbul
587 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Istanbul Atakoy
0.2 mi away
The Time Hotel Marina
The Time Hotel Marina
#756 of 1,159 in Istanbul
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Istanbul Atakoy
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Istanbul Atakoy
Hyatt Regency Istanbul Atakoy
#100 of 1,159 in Istanbul
418 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bakirkoy Tashan Business & Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atakoy Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atakoy Marina Hotel

Address: Sahilyolu Atakoy | Ataköy, Istanbul 34158, Turkey (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#465 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £114 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Atakoy Marina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Atakoy Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing