We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent localization! Good service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kalyon Hotel Istanbul
Ranked #315 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent localization! Good service!”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Very near the old city center, excellent choice price/quality. Choose a room with view to the sea otherwise you will wake up with the first prayers at 7 in the morning.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KALYON, Guest Relations Department at Kalyon Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Valued hotel guest ,

Thank you for taking some of your precious time and writing this review.
It's a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay at Kalyon Hotel.

Thank you and we look forward seeing you again one day in the future.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    211
    54
    12
    7
See reviews for
68
158
33
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wroclaw
Level Contributor
261 reviews
260 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

The staff were very good. The location is very close to the historical placese and in front of the sea view. The rooms were nice and there was free Wifi in the hotel. The breakfast is average with limited options but has all the main stapels and was very enjoyable, plus the service is superb. Expensive restaurant, so would really suggest to eat and drink elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pawel_WRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KALYON, Guest Relations Department at Kalyon Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Dear Valued Hotel Guest ,

We are honored that you have selected our hotel for your stay in Istanbul.We also really appreciate that you wrote this review about our hotel.Thank you very much for taking the time.

For all your future inquiries please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards,
guestrelations@kalyon.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burwash, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 February 2012

In future please address your e-mails equally to women and men. It is very old fashioned to write 'Dear Sirs' as you have done in this request for feed-back. I am a woman.

The panoramic view from my bedroom window of the Marmara sea was the best feature of staying at the Hotel. Thestaff were helpful and courteous. It was winter and the bar was gloomy - how about a wood-fire in the bar to make it feel more cheerful in winter?

My work colleague and I enjoyed strolling in the evenings up through the picturesque streets in the Sultanahmet district.

Room Tip: It is worth choosing a room with a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley Abdela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KALYON, Guest Relations Department at Kalyon Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Thank you for sharing your experiences at Kalyon Hotel.
We are happy to read you had an enjoyable stay and that you appreciate our services.
It's very helpful for us to know how people think of their stay and of course we want to please all our hotel guests.

Kind Regards ,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We spent only one nigth in this hotel due to it's strategic position, near the tourist area and near the airport, it was the last night before going back home.
The building is modern but the rooms are very poor by the standard we were looking for.
Personnel very kind and efficient, breakfast ok with beautiful view on the seafront... relaxing!
We do suggest a "make up" of the rooms especially in the decoration they look really sad! Also the bathroom was suffering by age and heavy use...

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Federico C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KALYON, Guest Relations Department at Kalyon Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Dear Hotel Guest ,

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed staying at Kalyon Hotel.
We hope to see you again one day in the future.
Thank you for writing and sharing your review.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Friendly and helpful staff, clean, spacious, comfortable & quiet room, excellent breakfast, lovely location. Real value for money!

Room Tip: Rooms opposite to the Marmara sea shore are quite nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pascale K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KALYON, Guest Relations Department at Kalyon Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Thank you for taking some of your precious time to write a review...
I am sure it will be helpful for many online travellers as much as it was for us.
We are happy to read that you loved your stay at Kalyon Hotel and that you appreciated our services.We believe Kalyon Hotel offers value and quality for reasonable prices and I noticed you share our opinion.This is also one of the reasons why we have so many returning guests.

Thanks again for sharing..

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Take a look at the photo I uploaded. No need to say much! I had a 3 night stay at Kalyon hotel. My room had a sea-view. Through the big wall-size window I had a unique view of the marmar sea. The reflection of sun rays on the sea was just wonderful. I used to sit in the sun in my room looking at the sea for hours. The room was clean. The reception staff were really very very helpful and very friendly. I could easily exchange money in euro with an exchange rate better than the airport. The location of the hotel is really really close to the blue mosque and it was even closer to a sema dance place. I had a nice breakfast. I strongly recommend everyone to try its restaurant. I had a dinner once. The food quality was just great and the price was very reasonable considering the quality. I had no problem using the wireless internet and the speed was good. For sure this hotel will be the only place I consider in my next stay in Istanbul and I have already recommended it to all my friends who might travel to Turkey at some point.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amin n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KALYON, Guest Relations Manager at Kalyon Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Dear Value Guest;

Thank you for taking some of your precious time and writing this review. It's a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay at Kalyon Hotel..

Best Regards...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

I booked on the same day I arrived, and paid 70 plus euros. For this amount, the hotel was extremely good value for money. The location is super, with many restaurants and cafes not far from the hotel, and rooms overlooking the sea. The service was wonderful, everyone at reception tries so hard to accommodate our wishes. The single rooms are obviously small but with all the availabilities of a good hotel - minibar, free tea and coffee, notepad etc. Reception and lobby are huge for Istanbul hotels. Enjoyed my stay here alot and will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steppenw0lfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KALYON, Guest Relations Manager at Kalyon Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Dear Valued Hotel Guest ,

Thank you for taking some of your precious time and writing this review.
It's a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay at Kalyon Hotel.

Thank you and we look forward seeing you again one day in the future.

Kind Regards...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Best Western Citadel Hotel
Best Western Citadel Hotel
#217 of 1,141 in Istanbul
449 reviews
Sultanahmet
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
#101 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,399 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#42 of 1,141 in Istanbul
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sultan Tughra Hotel
Sultan Tughra Hotel
#126 of 1,141 in Istanbul
470 reviews
Sultanahmet
Walton Hotels Sultanahmet
Walton Hotels Sultanahmet
#25 of 1,141 in Istanbul
132 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Arcadia Blue
Hotel Arcadia Blue
#114 of 1,141 in Istanbul
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalyon Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalyon Hotel Istanbul

Property: Kalyon Hotel Istanbul
Address: Kennedy Caddesi No:34, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #315 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kalyon Hotel Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Airport Transfer on Arrival for min. 2 night stay!!! With a very special and unique location, KALYON Hotel İstanbul witnesses the magnificent meeting of Istanbul's old city walls with the Sea of Marmara and The Bosphorus. Our Hotel stands out because of its central location, spectacular views of The Bosphorus Sea and with its quality of the service. As one of the pioneers and the leaders of the Turkish Tourism brand, KALYON has been fortunate to host several stars from Hollywood, many eminent Turkish businessmen, international artists and politicians from all round the world. Half of the bedrooms are blessed with the view of the Marmara Sea and the other half with the view of Sultanahmet old town. Guests can enjoy the free Wi-Fi while having a cup of coffee in the public areas or while relaxing in their room. Offering easy access to Istanbul's most important historical sites, KALYON Hotel İstanbul is within 10 minutes walking distance to Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque (Sultan Ahmet Mosque), Hagia Sophia Mosque and only 17km to İstanbul Atatürk Airport and 48km to İstanbul Sabiha Gökçen Airport. Kalyon Hotel offers FREE AIRPORT TRANSFER ON ARRIVAL FOR MIN. 2 NIGHTS STAY!!! The latest stage of continuous renovation of the KALYON Hotel was completed in December 2015 and as well as all the bedrooms, the Restaurant and the Bar renovated in January 2016. The teams of the KALYON Hotels always find the way to make their guests feel spoiled by personalizing their special occasions like Honeymoon Packages, Birthday, Anniversary and many more. Our hotel offers a rich open buffet breakfast in the KALYON Restaurant so guests will not only enjoy the food, but also the view - a spectacular view of the Bosphorus. Our guests can also have the opportunity to taste the special flavors of KALYON's lunch and dinner and take advantage of our special offers and discounts. Along with the unforgettable tastes of Istanbul's classical restaurants, The KALYON Restaurant offers classic dishes of Turkish and Mediterranean cuisine in a classy and romantic atmosphere. Regularly featured flavours are Traditional Shrimp Cocktail, Olive Oil Artichoke, KALYON Shish Kebab, KALYON Special Kebab, Fisherman Style Steamed Seabass and rice pudding. Cocktails and appetizers at Kalyon Bar? There's no better spot to spend the afternoon or evening in Sultanahmet Old Town. Your stay with KALYON will be smooth and relaxed as the team will take care of everything you need inside and outside the hotel whether it be our ticketing service, restaurant reservation, tours of Istanbul, any type of transfer and renting a vehicle, luggage storage, information of all our museums of the city etc. The KALYON Hotel is the perfect choice for travellers who are after the best service in order to visit museums, monuments, jog by the seaside or take a walk along the busy Bosphorus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Kalyon Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing