We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideal position and very good quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kalyon Hotel Istanbul
Ranked #316 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2012

I stayed 4 nights at this hotel. It made a good impression. Tastefully designed interiors, nice smell, large and comfortable room with everything needed in it, great beds, great sea view, discrete and helpful staff. Location is very good, from the window it looks as if you're somewhere outside the city but in fact you're right in the center of the old part of the town, with a 7 minutes walk to Istanbul's most important historical monuments.The street in front of the hotel is very active and often crowded, but I didn't find the noise too big. In fact, the hotel is not directly on the street, there were 20-30 meters from our window. However, we got scared by the voice of a muezzin from a mosque nearby, probably the Blue Mosque, who woke us up at 6.00 a.m. with his morning song.
In case you come by car, they have a generous and free parking place so again a good choice.
All in all if you're not on budget it's a hotel worth your short list for your next visit to Istanbul.

Room Tip: rooms with sea view are great, it's worth paying a little extra in order to enjoy a great view.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dorinser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KALYON, Guest Relations Depatment at Kalyon Hotel Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Dear Valued Hotel Guest,

Thank you so much for your time and comments. We are so happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We will keep on working to continuosly improve ourselves in order to exceed your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.


Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (496)
There are newer reviews for Kalyon Hotel Istanbul
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 496 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2012

We have stayed for 5 nights 6 days, the hotel is located in great cite with access to the old city and the attractions, most of the attractions are within walking distrance if you use the back door of the hotel.( That needs access solution). The Front Desk staff members were great,however the Kalyon restaurent's ones were average.. The hotel can be upgraded to five stars if it has facilties, such as Gym, and a swimming pool. i do suggest to the management to convert part of the huge parking which was almost empty during our stay into a small swimming pool. In addition to that, the roof of the hotel can be a great terrace overlooking the Marmar sea. I might come back if only was on business trip.

Room Tip: Ask for the seaview rooms, but usually they charge more, the higher the better due to the early morn...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shadikbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KALYON, Guest Relations Department at Kalyon Hotel Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Dear Valued Guest ;

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind feedback and comments. We are glad to hear that you liked your stay at Kalyon Hotel.



King Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Wow, Wow, Wow - I had quite high expectations from this hotel as I was impressed by their website when booking. Gladly, my expectations were well exceeded. Entering the lobby which was perfumed with jasmine, efficient warm & friendly front office staff with a seamless check-in & excellent command of english. Very informative about the hotel facilities & amenities, and also very concise information regarding Sultanahmet / Fatih district & historical buildings, getting around, taxis etc. Outstanding on the front desk was Serap - a charming lady with a great sense of humour & dedication to always providing excellent service. Room was modern, clean, large & well appointed - great bathrooms & exceptional views of the Bosphorus. Restaurant had superb food & excellent service - Veli, the Maitre D' is truly world class & runs a tight operation dedicated to quiet elegance & unobtrusive service of the highest quality. A man proud of his staff & his heritage, and put the words 'honoured guest' back into dining. Outstanding !! I can see why this hotel is popular with visiting dignatories & local government heads. I question the 4 star rating - more like 5 star +++. Thoroughly recommend this property as Its been many years since I have come across such a gem - I am a very well travelled & have been in the travel industry for over 30yrs, so such endorsements are rare :-)

Room Tip: Second Floor (double) rooms overlooking Kennedy Avenue have spectacular views of the Bosphorus
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KALYON, Guest Relations Department at Kalyon Hotel Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

Dear Guest ;

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind feedback and comments. We are glad to hear that you liked your stay at Kalyon Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

I can recommend this hotel. Just got back from a 4 night stay. The location is pretty great. Literally on the Sea, with the teaming Old Town right behind it.

You are a five minute walk from Topkapi, Hagia Sophia, the Hippodrome, the Basilica and the Blue Mosque... and what an amazing walk it is!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dylan10101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KALYON, Guest Relations Department at Kalyon Hotel Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

Dear Valued Hotel Guest,

Thank you so much for your time and comments. We are so happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We will keep on working to continuosly improve ourselves in order to exceed your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Been to this hotel twice and it is a very, very pleasant hotel to stay. Rooms are good, staff is really friendly, family-owned (the owner is really a nice gentleman) and food is excellent.

Most certainly recommended for a short/medium stay in Istanbul (Blue Mosque 5 minutes walk), both for business and for leasure trips.

Only little negative point: the rooms do not have balconies (I sincerely enjoy a cup of coffee on the balcony in the morning sun).

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KALYON, Guest Relations Department at Kalyon Hotel Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

Dear Valued Guest ;

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind feedback and comments. We are glad to hear that you liked your stay at Kalyon Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

King Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

i want to say this hotel is clean and near from the most important buildings in Istanbul and the guest relation she is wonderful and helpfull i cant remember the name but her duty is in morning shift
and there are things is the worst i had ever in hotels:
the front desk officers is the worst and not welcomed any guest and the restaurant is good but the stuff are rude and you will not be confortable to talk with them.

i hope there is another hotel in the same location has a sea view :(

my advise : dont book this hotel other wise you have to be i want to say this hotel is clean and near from the most important buildings in Istanbul and the guest relation she is wonderful and helpfull i cant remember the name but her duty is in morning shift
and there are things is the worst i had ever in hotels:
the front desk officers is the worst and not welcomed any guest and the restaurant is good but the stuff are rude and you will not be confortable to talk with them.

i hope there is another hotel in the same location has a sea view :(

my advise : dont book this hotel other wise you have to be patient

Room Tip: rooms have sea view
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ahmed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KALYON, Guest Relations Department at Kalyon Hotel Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

We are sad that your stay at the our hotel did not fulfill your expectations.Your feedback has been noted and will be used for improvement of our services.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed at kalyon for 3 nights.it was very nice stay.the hotel is so clean and close to old town you can walk just 10 min to the blue mosque and the museums from the back door. The staff was so friendly. İ want to say special thanks to serap on guest relations and the gorkam on reception . They were so nice to us and helpful. For our next trip we will definetly choose kalyon again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beast45de
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KALYON, Guest Relations Department at Kalyon Hotel Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive comments. We are really pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Kalyon Hotel.

We will keep on working to continuosly improve ourselves in order to exceed your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Best Western Citadel Hotel
Best Western Citadel Hotel
#196 of 1,159 in Istanbul
455 reviews
Sultanahmet
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
#101 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,419 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Arcadia Blue
Hotel Arcadia Blue
#102 of 1,159 in Istanbul
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Innova Sultanahmet Istanbul
Innova Sultanahmet Istanbul
#322 of 1,159 in Istanbul
351 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Regie Ottoman Istanbul
Regie Ottoman Istanbul
#69 of 1,159 in Istanbul
200 reviews
Sultanahmet
Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalyon Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalyon Hotel Istanbul

Address: Kennedy Caddesi No:34, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #316 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £49 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kalyon Hotel Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Airport Transfer on Arrival for min. 2 night stay!!! With a very special and unique location, KALYON Hotel İstanbul witnesses the magnificent meeting of Istanbul's old city walls with the Sea of Marmara and The Bosphorus. Our Hotel stands out because of its central location, spectacular views of The Bosphorus Sea and with its quality of the service. As one of the pioneers and the leaders of the Turkish Tourism brand, KALYON has been fortunate to host several stars from Hollywood, many eminent Turkish businessmen, international artists and politicians from all round the world. Half of the bedrooms are blessed with the view of the Marmara Sea and the other half with the view of Sultanahmet old town. Guests can enjoy the free Wi-Fi while having a cup of coffee in the public areas or while relaxing in their room. Offering easy access to Istanbul's most important historical sites, KALYON Hotel İstanbul is within 10 minutes walking distance to Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque (Sultan Ahmet Mosque), Hagia Sophia Mosque and only 17km to İstanbul Atatürk Airport and 48km to İstanbul Sabiha Gökçen Airport. Kalyon Hotel offers FREE AIRPORT TRANSFER ON ARRIVAL FOR MIN. 2 NIGHTS STAY!!! The latest stage of continuous renovation of the KALYON Hotel was completed in December 2015 and as well as all the bedrooms, the Restaurant and the Bar renovated in January 2016. The teams of the KALYON Hotels always find the way to make their guests feel spoiled by personalizing their special occasions like Honeymoon Packages, Birthday, Anniversary and many more. Our hotel offers a rich open buffet breakfast in the KALYON Restaurant so guests will not only enjoy the food, but also the view - a spectacular view of the Bosphorus. Our guests can also have the opportunity to taste the special flavors of KALYON's lunch and dinner and take advantage of our special offers and discounts. Along with the unforgettable tastes of Istanbul's classical restaurants, The KALYON Restaurant offers classic dishes of Turkish and Mediterranean cuisine in a classy and romantic atmosphere. Regularly featured flavours are Traditional Shrimp Cocktail, Olive Oil Artichoke, KALYON Shish Kebab, KALYON Special Kebab, Fisherman Style Steamed Seabass and rice pudding. Cocktails and appetizers at Kalyon Bar? There's no better spot to spend the afternoon or evening in Sultanahmet Old Town. Your stay with KALYON will be smooth and relaxed as the team will take care of everything you need inside and outside the hotel whether it be our ticketing service, restaurant reservation, tours of Istanbul, any type of transfer and renting a vehicle, luggage storage, information of all our museums of the city etc. The KALYON Hotel is the perfect choice for travellers who are after the best service in order to visit museums, monuments, jog by the seaside or take a walk along the busy Bosphorus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kalyon Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing