We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kalyon Hotel Istanbul
Ranked #315 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The perfect holiday”
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Sea view quite and yet who thin an easy access to all the sights and important places in sultan Ahmed Very friendly staff. Clean. Haven't tried the restaurant the only thing they need to work on is their sound proofing of the rooms. But would definitely recommend it and go back

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShereenYussuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KALYON, guestrelations Supervisor at Kalyon Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Valued hotel guest ,

Thank you for taking some of your precious time and writing this review.
It's a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay at Kalyon Hotel..

Thank you and we look forward seeing you again.

Kind Regards
Elvan ERTEN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    211
    54
    12
    7
See reviews for
68
158
33
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The hotel was conveniently located, near enough to the old town but just 30 minutes from the airport. The hotel was clean throughout but our 'classic' double room was so, so tiny - there wasn't enough room to swing a cat. It was probably the smallest room I have ever stayed in and for the price that was being paid grossly overpriced and overrated. There was only 1 towel in the bathroom (thank goodness the cleaning trolley was just down the corridor) and you need to be a size '0' model to use the shower. We had tea and coffee but no kettle. We told reception who argued that there must be one in the room but they would check - they didn't and we went without. The TV remote did not work. All in all, thank goodness that our stay was one night only. I would certainly recommend looking elsewhere for your stay in Istanbul.

Room Tip: If you do choose to stay here I would ask for a sea facing room and don't choose the 'classi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StantonJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Good location and not far from the Blue mosque. About a 5 min walk using the back door exit. Staff are friendly enough. The wifi isnt great and drops out. The room is very clean and spacious. You can go for a walk by the water at the front of the hotel. We stayed there for 2 days in summer. Its a decent place for a short stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ia2T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KALYON, guestrelations Supervisor at Kalyon Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest ,

Thank you for writing this review. It's a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay at Kalyon Hotel. Thank you and we look forward seeing you again.

Kind Regards
Elvan ERTEN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
146 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Our travel agent in Turkey (Sojourn Turkey) told us that we had been 'upgraded' to this hotel since it was much better than our earlier selection. We took the agent's word for it. It is located on the Sea of Marmara. The location cannot be beat. Our room on the other hand was at the back of the hotel overlooking a rear alleyway. The room was small but that was not a problem in and of itself. It was well appointed and had all the amenities that we needed. Since we were busy sightseeing we did not spend a lot of time in this room.
The staff was consistently polite with the exception of the gent who runs the restaurant. He was mostly dour and grumpy. The breakfast spread was very good and the restaurant with a beautiful view of the Sea of Marmara was a great place to eat. The one dinner we ate at this restaurant was adequate and will do in a pinch.
The lady concierge was very good and efficient. She was able to help us with all our reservations and tickets for the Mevlevi Sema ceremony at the Hodgapasha center.
Without an ocean view room this was a wasted 'upgrade'. Would have been better off staying someplace with out a view. I admit it was my fault for not making this clear to the travel agent.

Room Tip: Make sure you get an ocean view room when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scrippsmater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KALYON, guestrelations Supervisor at Kalyon Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive comments. We are really pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Kalyon Hotel.

We will keep on working to continuosly improve ourselves in order to exceed your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards,
Elvan ERTEN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wien, Österreich
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This Hotel is located at a Coast Boulevard and meets a very good standard. The rooms offer all what is really needed, the cleanliness is very good. There is even a bed turndown service every day, where they placed every day a piece of chocolate on the pillow, along with a card showing next days weather forecast. The personell is extremly friendly and helpful, doing so without the typical oriental habit of expecting a tip all the time.The breakfast is overcomplete, even offering honeycomb from the beeyard. Concerning excursions to the City, at the backside of the Hotel Lobby there is an extra door guests may use for quick access to the little roads showing typical Turkish atmosphere and leading within 10 Minutes walk to the Blue Mosque and to Hagia Sophia Mosque, as well as to a multitude of small and nice restaurants. Also the Metro tram leaves there to the other side of Istanbul. So, in total I must say, this is an excellent place to go, there was absolutely nothing to complain, I can therefore suggest to other travellers to go there.

Room Tip: Rooms to the backside are a bit more quiet, as in front of the Hotel there is a road with a lot of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dieter577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KALYON, Guest Relations Supervisor at Kalyon Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Hotel Guest ,

We are happy to know that you had a lovely stay in Istanbul and at Kalyon Hotel.
Our goal is to create an enjoyable stay for all our hotel guests.
We appreciate your efforts it took you to write and share this review online.

We hope to see you again one day in the future.

Kind Regards,
Elvan ERTEN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

I was not sure what to expect. I had one day for sight seeing and this hotel was recommended by a Turkish Business Group. I normally stay at international chains. From the moment I arrived to my check out I was treated with Turkish hospitality. The service is very friendly. I had reserved a room with a view of the Bosphorus and it was well worth it.
The room was spacious, very comfortable and exceptionally clean. I was also happy with the strong shower pressure.
You can walk to the Sultanahmet historic area and the Grand Bazaar. For dinner there are many fish restaurants near by in the water.
The hotel also has a nice breakfast buffet for 30 TL which was good and fresh.
I am now a fan of this hotel and will recommend to friends. Great service, room and location. What more can one ask for.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozgur20817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KALYON, Guest Relations Supervisor at Kalyon Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking some of your precious time to share your review with us and with so many online travellers.I am sure these reviews are as much important to them as they are to us.
For us it's of course also a pleasure to know that our guests loved their stay at Kalyon Hotel and enjoyed the city.You can easely discover places in walking distance as you wrote down.
We hope to see you again one day in the future.

Kindest Regards
Elvan ERTEN



















Elvan ERTEN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The location of this hotel is excellent. Book one of the with sea facing rooms, and that would be fantastic. It is only 10 minutes away from the Blue Mosque on foot though a bit of a steep climb. Staff are very efficient and helpful and the rooms are serviced twice a day which is wonderful. If anything, this hotel would be perfect if it had spa facilities on site as they do seem to have enough space to accomodate this.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KALYON, Guest Relations Supervisor at Kalyon Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Kalyon Hotel Guest,

Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.
We were happy to read your review, and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us during your trip to Istanbul in this month.
I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again on many occasions.
Yours sincerely,
Elvan ERTEN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Best Western Citadel Hotel
Best Western Citadel Hotel
#217 of 1,141 in Istanbul
449 reviews
Sultanahmet
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
#101 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,399 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#42 of 1,141 in Istanbul
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sultan Tughra Hotel
Sultan Tughra Hotel
#126 of 1,141 in Istanbul
470 reviews
Sultanahmet
Walton Hotels Sultanahmet
Walton Hotels Sultanahmet
#25 of 1,141 in Istanbul
132 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Arcadia Blue
Hotel Arcadia Blue
#114 of 1,141 in Istanbul
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalyon Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalyon Hotel Istanbul

Property: Kalyon Hotel Istanbul
Address: Kennedy Caddesi No:34, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #315 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kalyon Hotel Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Airport Transfer on Arrival for min. 2 night stay!!! With a very special and unique location, KALYON Hotel İstanbul witnesses the magnificent meeting of Istanbul's old city walls with the Sea of Marmara and The Bosphorus. Our Hotel stands out because of its central location, spectacular views of The Bosphorus Sea and with its quality of the service. As one of the pioneers and the leaders of the Turkish Tourism brand, KALYON has been fortunate to host several stars from Hollywood, many eminent Turkish businessmen, international artists and politicians from all round the world. Half of the bedrooms are blessed with the view of the Marmara Sea and the other half with the view of Sultanahmet old town. Guests can enjoy the free Wi-Fi while having a cup of coffee in the public areas or while relaxing in their room. Offering easy access to Istanbul's most important historical sites, KALYON Hotel İstanbul is within 10 minutes walking distance to Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque (Sultan Ahmet Mosque), Hagia Sophia Mosque and only 17km to İstanbul Atatürk Airport and 48km to İstanbul Sabiha Gökçen Airport. Kalyon Hotel offers FREE AIRPORT TRANSFER ON ARRIVAL FOR MIN. 2 NIGHTS STAY!!! The latest stage of continuous renovation of the KALYON Hotel was completed in December 2015 and as well as all the bedrooms, the Restaurant and the Bar renovated in January 2016. The teams of the KALYON Hotels always find the way to make their guests feel spoiled by personalizing their special occasions like Honeymoon Packages, Birthday, Anniversary and many more. Our hotel offers a rich open buffet breakfast in the KALYON Restaurant so guests will not only enjoy the food, but also the view - a spectacular view of the Bosphorus. Our guests can also have the opportunity to taste the special flavors of KALYON's lunch and dinner and take advantage of our special offers and discounts. Along with the unforgettable tastes of Istanbul's classical restaurants, The KALYON Restaurant offers classic dishes of Turkish and Mediterranean cuisine in a classy and romantic atmosphere. Regularly featured flavours are Traditional Shrimp Cocktail, Olive Oil Artichoke, KALYON Shish Kebab, KALYON Special Kebab, Fisherman Style Steamed Seabass and rice pudding. Cocktails and appetizers at Kalyon Bar? There's no better spot to spend the afternoon or evening in Sultanahmet Old Town. Your stay with KALYON will be smooth and relaxed as the team will take care of everything you need inside and outside the hotel whether it be our ticketing service, restaurant reservation, tours of Istanbul, any type of transfer and renting a vehicle, luggage storage, information of all our museums of the city etc. The KALYON Hotel is the perfect choice for travellers who are after the best service in order to visit museums, monuments, jog by the seaside or take a walk along the busy Bosphorus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Kalyon Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing