We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel right in the heart of Sultanahmet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel
Ranked #42 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Boutique Saint Sophia is a charming hotel right next to the Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque and a short walk from all the major sights. Great service, friendly staff, good bar/restaurant. An ideal base for a trip to this great city.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Senay D, General Manager at Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Boutique Saint Sophia Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and had a great time. Please don't hesitate to contact us when you want to make a return trip to Istanbul. We would love to host you again.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

Fantastic, modern hotel right at the heart of Sultanahmet, minutes from the Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque and Grand Bazaar, plus so convenient for trams to all the other areas.
Service was amazing, breakfast generous, the rooms were spotless, stylish and spacious. The bar was hit and miss (cocktail standard varied barman to barman unfortunately) but very lovely area to sit in.
Other than the cocktails, our only bugbear was the shower in room 45 which, due to a design floor, had a tendency to flood the bathroom every time we used it - however they kept us in constant supply of towels to mop up!!
We got a great deal on this fairly new hotel, but suspect in a year's time, it will be so popular we won't be able to afford it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AMYY81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Senay D, General Manager at Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Dear Boutique Saint Sophia Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing this post regarding your stay in July.
I'm so glad to read that you've described the location as fantastic and the service as excellent in your review. we do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel on a future visit and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance at any time.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I stayed at the Boutique St Sofia with my wife and two grown up children. The best thing about the hotel is its location, just a few minutes from the Blue Mosque and St Sofia. It's small enough for the staff to get to know the guests and they could not have been more helpful. We took their advice for restaurants for dinner on all three nights of our stay and were not disappointed with any of their suggestions. The rooms are tastefully decorated with comfortable beds.

Room Tip: My wife and I stayed in the Courtyard Suite which was reasonably priced and very comfortable. A smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gco21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Senay D, General Manager at Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear Boutique Saint Sophia Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review of your recent visit to Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed the location as well as the room décor and the service from all the team here. It will be my pleasure to share your review with everyone here and I look forward to welcoming you again during your future trips to Istanbul...

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

No fake Anatolian antiques! Modern, simple and tasteful,decoration. The rooms are big enough, elegant and spotless clean. Although it is located behind Ayasofia it is quiet and with a beautiful terrace for breakfast and drinks. At morning we awoke at the sound of a harp playing in the patio, beautiful! The staff is very helpful and kind. Some unexpected interruptions in room service and restaurant should be corrected.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Senay D, General Manager at Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Boutique Saint Sophia Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing this post regarding your stay in July I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed the location as well as the room décor and the service from all the team here. It will be my pleasure to share your review with everyone here .
Of course we have some points to improve, we are all working on these.
I do hope to welcome you back to Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is small, clean, modern, and Very close of Saint Sophie (20 meters). It is ideal for resting after visits to near Big Bazar (10 minutes walking), The Cisterne (1 minute) ,Blue Mosque (2 minutes), or the several mágic places of the históric área where the hotel is situated.
The Turkish breakfast...nice...but I prefer the spanish ;)
At 2 minutes you can take The tram which goes to The Galata Bridge (a lot of restaurants for visitors) and Galata Tower, an old tower where you can see the infinit landscape of Istambul and Two continents!!!!
Resume: A wonderful hotel in a wonderful city with wonderful people. The best location where I have been ever.

PS: The first call to pray for muslim people is too early and too long...but is part of the sensations that Istambul is unique. Enjoy it ;)

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nachosolana2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Senay D, General Manager at Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Boutique Saint Sophia Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing this post regarding your stay in June. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed the location of the Hotel and had a memorable experience.
We look forward to welcoming you again during your future trips to Istanbul...

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The Boutique St Sophia Hotel is exactly as its name says, Boutique in every way. From the staff to the soap it was just fantastic. The staff were amazing, always professional and ready to assist you with a smile on their faces. The rooms were lovely with really great linen and super comfy beds that await you after a long day of haggling and sightseeing. They knew it was our anniversary and went the extra mile to make our stay special. Thank you Boutique St Sophia for making our stay so memorable!!

Room Tip: Not sure about the other rooms but our room was on the Road and it wasn't noisy at all. It is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melanie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Senay D, General Manager at Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Boutique Saint Sophia Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing this post regarding your stay in Jun.
It's a great pleasure to read that you had a lovely time with us and enjoyed your room, as well as the friendliness of the staff.I have passed on your kind words to my great team who always try their best to meet our guests expectations. I am happy that you chose our property to celebrate your special anniversary and enjoyed our services.
I hope you come back and visit us again very soon...
Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Rather than repeating all the kudos already showered on this lovely hotel, let me just point out the two most outstanding points. The location is probably the best in the Sultanemet...at the top of the town, no hills in the heat, right next door to everything.
A lot of other hotels claim to be 'steps away' or 'right beside' various sites, and look it, on a map, but are, in fact down the incline of a steep hill and require a lot of hiking. Also, the quaint little streets they are on are, indeed, full of restaurants and shops....and each one has a guy standing out front, hustling you to come in and eat or buy or just look at something, anything...so getting around is like running a gauntlet!
Not so, here. Just saying.
Location is one thing...but the service also sets this place apart. They simply cannot do enough for you, in a kind, professional way. Makes a big difference from the usual Istanbul-style you will become familiar with as you go about your explorations.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank tgtoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Senay D, General Manager at Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2014

Dear Boutique Saint Sophia Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing this post regarding your stay in June. I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and you were happy with Hotel's location as well as the service.
We hope you come back and visit us again very soon...

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Witt Istanbul Suites
Witt Istanbul Suites
#6 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,036 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#9 of 1,163 in Istanbul
2,979 reviews
Karakoy
10 Karakoy A Morgans Original
10 Karakoy A Morgans Original
#50 of 1,163 in Istanbul
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,114 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,480 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#18 of 1,163 in Istanbul
2,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel

Address: Alemdar Cad. No 2, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#36 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#56 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#111 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £71 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Saint Sophia is situated in the premium location of Istanbul, surrounded by all the major historic and cultural sights in the heart of the old town, Sultanahmet, just next to the renowned Hagia Sophia (St.Sophia, AyaSofya) Museum. In this prime location, locals and visitors alike are offered the chance to experience Istanbul’s impressive history that spans the rise and fall of three of the world’s most famous empires: Byzantium, Roman, and Ottoman.In this city full of art and history, you are sure to enjoy spectacular historical landmarks, a plethora of museums, churches, and bazaars amidst the beautiful harmony of cultures and people from East to West.Our team is ready to look after your every need and please don’t hesitate to call on us if there is anything further we can do to enhance your stay. We are delighted you have chosen Boutique Saint Sophia and wish you a most enjoyable and memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Istanbul
Istanbul Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing