We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel
Ranked #49 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
4.levent
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just perfect location”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

With a fantastic view over hagia sophia which is only a few meters away as well as the blue mosque. The Basilica Cistern is only 1 minute away from the hotel. The room was well cleaned. Bathroom design was amazing. The stuff were friendly and always smiley. Especially Concierge team was awesome and always helpful.

You will have a nice Turkish breakfast in the morning at the Sophia Pita Restaurant and you should try the restaurant also for dinner.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank upson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Senay D, General Manager at Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Boutique Saint Sophia Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing this post regarding your stay in July and for recommending us to other travellers. I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and you were happy with Hotel's location, the breakfast as well as the service.

We hope you come back and visit us again very soon...

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    75
    9
    1
    4
See reviews for
47
198
16
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Male
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Staff absolutely super friendly and accommodating, nice welcome after a horrific taxi drive from the airport! Keep in mind that the hotel is hard to access by taxi but therefore location is really great next to Hagia Sofia and all popular sightseeings within the area of Sultanahmet. Deluxe room was great, very spacious room with view to the Blue Mosque. Bed very comfortable and great rain shower bathroom with appreciated Bulgari amenities. Have to say that the food is also excellent and was even better than in some restaurants we went to in town... BKF is delicious and with attentive service. We had a great stay and can only recommend this hotel with their excellent staff and service. Thank you...

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rainer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Senay D, General Manager at Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Boutique Saint Sophia Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing this post regarding your stay in August and for recommending us to other travellers..
I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed the location, brekfast and food as well as the room décor and the service from all the team here. It will be my pleasure to share your review with everyone here and I look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This is a great hotel. Step outside and you are within 500 yards of Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque, the Cisterns, Topkapi Palace and just 15 minutes walk from the Grand Bazaar and the Spice Bazaar. Step inside and you have a modern, stylish, very chic little hotel with a really friendly team looking after you. The rooms are modern and comfortable BUT the shower leaked. Badly. The walls are a bit thin too so bear that in mind. And they don't start cleaning rooms until midday and one day we returned at 4pm to find an unmade bed. However, the staff responded courteously and quickly when we asked them to deal with this. The breakfasts are delicious and different and we had a harp player to go with our Champagne Bucks Fizz. We thoroughly enjoyed staying at the hotel and the staff were charming. If you are going to Istanbul for the culture then this is the perfect place to stay - all the headline sites are close by and there are literally dozens of restaurants around the corner or down the street.

Room Tip: Check with the reception about the leaking showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ericmaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Senay D, General Manager at Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Boutique Saint Sophia Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review of your recent visit to Boutique Saint Sophia hotel. I am very pleased to read how much you enjoyed the location as well as the room décor and the service from all the team here. I am also delighted to read that you find our breakfast delicious and different and enjoyed our live harp music. It will be my pleasure to share your review with everyone here and I look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Boutique Saint Sophia hotel soon.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Our intro to the hotel wasn't good. My partner and I arrived with my elderly parents late at night. The weather was extremely hot and humid, so I was dismayed to see that the AC in my parents' room wasn't working. When we alerted the front desk, it was clear that they didn't know how to handle the situation. One employee even suggested that I switch rooms with my parents, as if that was a solution. In the end, we asked for a fan, which they were able to provide. After that, our experience improved considerably. The staff was very friendly and helpful. For example, they booked a whirling dervish show for us, but when the showtime conflicted with our dinner reservations, they called the restaurants and re-booked our dinners (and when one of our preferred restaurants was no longer available, they recommended and booked an excellent alternative). The location is ideal for first-time tourists to Istanbul, as all major sights are within easy walking distance. We were happy with the lunch options, and the lovely bar made good cocktails. It's true that the rooms are very small, the bathrooms are way too close to the beds (minimal privacy!), and water tends to leak out of the shower (we had to jam a towel into the space between the shower glass and the bathroom wall to prevent flooding). But overall, this is a good hotel, and I would recommend it to friends.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank newyorker1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

If you are looking for sightseeing in Istanbul, it would be hard to beat this hotel for location. Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Tokapi Palace, Basilica Sistern, are all within 5 minutes walk. The tram stops were conveniently located on the same street if you wanted to commute and explore to other areas of Istanbul.
We were lucky to have room in top floor with balcony which had fantastic view of blue mosque and were able to enjoy breakfast on the balcony each morning.
The room was modern, spacious size with coffee machine in the room.
Staff were friendly and always helpful with tourist and local information. Definitely would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Top floor with big balcony is fantastic for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Senay D, General Manager at Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Boutique Saint Sophia Guest,

Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor following your stay with us
I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and you were happy with Hotel's location and your room with balcony which had fantastic view of Blue Mosque and were able to enjoy breakfast on the balcony each morning.Thank you for your kind words about the service and staff which I have passed to everyone and thank you also for your recommendation.

I hope you come back and visit us again very soon...

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Boutique Saint Sophia is a charming hotel right next to the Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque and a short walk from all the major sights. Great service, friendly staff, good bar/restaurant. An ideal base for a trip to this great city.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Senay D, General Manager at Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Boutique Saint Sophia Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and had a great time. Please don't hesitate to contact us when you want to make a return trip to Istanbul. We would love to host you again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Fantastic, modern hotel right at the heart of Sultanahmet, minutes from the Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque and Grand Bazaar, plus so convenient for trams to all the other areas.
Service was amazing, breakfast generous, the rooms were spotless, stylish and spacious. The bar was hit and miss (cocktail standard varied barman to barman unfortunately) but very lovely area to sit in.
Other than the cocktails, our only bugbear was the shower in room 45 which, due to a design floor, had a tendency to flood the bathroom every time we used it - however they kept us in constant supply of towels to mop up!!
We got a great deal on this fairly new hotel, but suspect in a year's time, it will be so popular we won't be able to afford it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMYY81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Senay D, General Manager at Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Dear Boutique Saint Sophia Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing this post regarding your stay in July.
I'm so glad to read that you've described the location as fantastic and the service as excellent in your review. we do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel on a future visit and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance at any time.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#19 of 1,156 in Istanbul
2,090 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#3 of 1,156 in Istanbul
3,005 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#11 of 1,156 in Istanbul
2,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Ottoman Hotel Imperial
Ottoman Hotel Imperial
#101 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,760 reviews
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#5 of 1,156 in Istanbul
2,981 reviews
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel

Property: Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel
Address: Alemdar Cad. No 2, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#37 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#57 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#112 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Saint Sophia is situated in the premium location of Istanbul, surrounded by all the major historic and cultural sights in the heart of the old town, Sultanahmet, just next to the renowned Hagia Sophia (St.Sophia, AyaSofya) Museum. In this prime location, locals and visitors alike are offered the chance to experience Istanbul’s impressive history that spans the rise and fall of three of the world’s most famous empires: Byzantium, Roman, and Ottoman.In this city full of art and history, you are sure to enjoy spectacular historical landmarks, a plethora of museums, churches, and bazaars amidst the beautiful harmony of cultures and people from East to West.Our team is ready to look after your every need and please don’t hesitate to call on us if there is anything further we can do to enhance your stay. We are delighted you have chosen Boutique Saint Sophia and wish you a most enjoyable and memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Istanbul
Istanbul Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing