We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem of a Hotel”
Review of Sokullu Pasa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
Ranked #139 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Gem of a Hotel”
Reviewed 5 June 2012

My wife and I went to Istanbul on 19th May 2012. We chose this small cosy hotel for it's location in Sultanahmet, the heart of The Old Town. By communicating with Erhan Cetin, the manager we were able to negotiated a great price and he kindly upgraded us to the junior suite with jacuzzi and balcony overlooking the Sea of Marmara and the entrance to The Bosphorus and Golden Horn. We were warmly greeted by all the staff, immediately offered a drink and made most welcome. The hotel is as described, very clean and interesting. The breakfast is wonderful with great choice. Even though we arrived well after the restaurant was closed, the hotel rustled up a dinner. By staying in this old very Turkish part of this fascinating city, we were within walking distance of all the best tourist sites. The excellent tram system that serves the central area is close by. We could find no fault with the hotel, only praise. Feta and Tarik, the assistant managers were so helpful as were all staff, no service was too small or too much for them and I thank them all. When we return to Istanbul, we will return to this charming place.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick567234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    127
    25
    6
    3
See reviews for
88
225
49
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

From the staff to the decor to the breakfast..it was a perfect experience. My suite was huge and romantic, with velvet drapes round the circular bed, an enormous jetted bath, and a seperate marble shower, toilet room, and private hamam room. Upon arrival, the staff was all about service, offering refreshments and assistance with anything that would make my trip better. When I entered the suite, I was met with complimentary wine, fresh fruit basket and a dried fruit and nut tray which I enjoyed over a couple days. The breakfast was excellent, and it differed every day, and had so many choices each day I couldnt possibly taste it all. Every single time I walked through the lobby I was offered tea or sweets. The location is prime, and the sense of luxury was well woth the price tag.

Room Tip: There is only one suite with a private hamam (turkish bath steam room) so if you are eager to try th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorinhesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We stayed here at the beginning and end of our month in Turkey and found it perfect for our needs. The location was great - we walked everywhere. The Hippodrome, Blue Mosque, Aya Sophia and Topkapi Palace all within easy reach. All recommendations that the staff gave us (Turkish bath, restaurants) were very good and the staff were always friendly and helpful. The room (and ours was just a standard room) was very comfortable, a good size and nicely decorated. Kettle, safe, good hanging space, good toiletries, great bed. But the best thing was the breakfast - a wonderful selection of all sorts of tasty delights.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CandTSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We had a really nice room with a jacuzzi and a balcony with seaview. Beds are comfy. Upon arrival we had a free beer and the reception guy gave us good tips for restaurants and bars and helped us to make reservations. All staff were really nice and helpful. The hotel is very cozy and close to sights as the Blue mosque. The only thing that doesn´t make this a 5star is the breakfast. It´s mostly meze and sweets and not som much bread/youghurt/cereals as I´m used to. Theres no natural juices, only concentrates.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annaistockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

My husband and I were very glad with this hotel. The hotel is clean, in the perfect place - 5 minutes walking to the Blue Mosque - the breakfast is good, the room is fine. But above all: the people are so nice and helpfull. The give you advice, the help you where possible and they do all kind of the extra things (like washing the strawberry's I bought myself and serve this complete with sugar - with a smile and without costs).
For a nice stay: choose this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonenbarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
437 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 368 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Lovely little hotel in the center of everything. No need to work with any tour agencies, as you are within walking distance to everything. The grounds are beautiful and the staff is absolutely wonderful. Only issue we had was that the first night of three, we were put in a basement room with a view of a dirty wall and a puddle of muddy water. We were asked to be moved, but they were full and made sure we had a nicer room the next two nights with a better bathroom, as well. Still a view of a wall, but it was on the second floor so there was a peep view of the sky. Lovely hotel, though, and would recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the courtyard on a high floor. They also have a lovely suite with a t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollisterRanchGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmdel, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Staying at Sokullupasa Hotel was an amazing experience! As we approached the hotel, I felt a little uncomfortable because the street is very narrow and the neighborhood is very old. However, that's the way the whole Old City is. As soon as I walked into the hotel lobby, I was greeted by this wonderful young man called Fettah. He is the best host I ever encountered in a hotel, a gentleman, a great professional, polite, speaks perfect English, brilliant. After the brief check-in, we sat down and he told me about all the places I could visit in the City. Fettah, Tariq, and Acelia were wonderful hosts! They make you feel at home and greet you every day with a beautiful smile. The best thing about this wonderful hotel is the staff. They go out of their way to do things for you.

The hotel has been remodeled and the decoration is in the Ottoman style. The rooms are just the right size, extremely clean, and comfortable. The mattress was very comfortable and the bed linens and towels are extremely clean and soft. The bathroom has a shower that makes you want to stay there forever. The toiletries are also excellent. The air conditioning worked perfectly.

The hotel offers a delicious Mediterranean breakfast in a lovely restaurant that faces an also lovely courtyard. Breakfast includes a variety of cereals, dried fruits, cheeses, breads, juices, vegetables, honey, pastries, eggs, sausages, and Turkish dishes.

There is an elevator that serves all floors and the restaurant, for those who cannot take the stairs. There is no business center in the hotel, but they have iPads for the guests to use and the internet service is excellent. Also, there is no gym, but you actually do not need one after walking all day in this magic city.

The hotel is located about 10 minutes from all the main attractions in the Old City in a residential neighborhood where most houses are being converted to boutique hotels. However, if you cannot walk uphill on cobblestone streets you should not stay there (But I would stay there and take a cab).

This is the most wonderful hotel I stayed in so far! Not even the five stars hotels I have been to compare to the wonderful service of Sokullu Pasa!
Congratulations Ehran, Fettah, Acelia, and Tariq! I will go back with my husband and daughters!
Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 301 that has a beautiful view of the Marmara Sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spdaroca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#72 of 1,156 in Istanbul
956 reviews
Sultanahmet
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul
#51 of 1,156 in Istanbul
830 reviews
Sultanahmet
Garden House Istanbul
Garden House Istanbul
#52 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#77 of 1,156 in Istanbul
503 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ayasofya Hotel
Ayasofya Hotel
#133 of 1,156 in Istanbul
246 reviews
Sultanahmet
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
#132 of 1,156 in Istanbul
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sokullu Pasa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sokullu Pasa Hotel

Property: Sokullu Pasa Hotel
Address: Kucukayasofya Mah. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sok. No:3, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#78 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#78 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#83 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#84 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#105 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sokullu Pasa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traveling to Turkey and looking for an excellent place to stay? You will find Sokullu Pasa Hotel exactly what you are seeking . It is a fine example of an historic Ottoman house, which features modern facilities and excellent services. The hotel building, which was the first built as the house of Sokhollu Pasha, was later restored to become a modern accommodation for visitors. Hotel Sokullu Pasa, featuring typical 16th-century dwellings in its periphery, is at a short distance to the Centrum coastal road and the sea, only a few minutes walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sokullu Pasa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokullu Pasa Istanbul
Best Western Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing