We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our "Home" when in Istanbul”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sokullu Pasa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
Ranked #150 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
“Our "Home" when in Istanbul”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We have stayed at Sokullapasa each year for the past 4 years. It really is like coming home. Clean well equipped rooms. Nothing is ever too much trouble for the staff. Walking distance to all Sultanahmet historical sites and transport. Excellent restaurant. This year we were late booking so tried another recommended hotel, we did not last one night. The Sokullupasa staff managed to find a smaller room than usual for us which was perfect. They even offered to collect and transfer our bags at no charge.
As we are in Istanbul every year we will never stay anywhere else !!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Istanbul255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    120
    24
    5
    3
See reviews for
82
218
48
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

The taxi left us at our first stop on a five week european vacation, and the hotel could not find our Travelocity reservations. They asked to sit and have a welcome drink. As we enjoyed our coffee, they found us a room. The hotel staff was great, helpful, and freindly. The room was pleasant, in the basement, but opening to a pleasent courtyard, great for our needs of six nights.
Great breakfast, allowed us to get a good start everyday. Location was close enough to allow walking access to all major attractions and tram systems. Minor bathroom maintenance issues, but overall a great hotel experiance. It worked for us!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lehuasharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yekaterinburg, Russia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Renovated in old ottoman style - Turkish lamps, paintings, carpets, oriental decoration. Clean, cozy, small, in a calm, quiet place. Convenient 5-7 minute walk from Sultanahmet. Pleasant green inner patio with lounge, canopy swing, small fountain, half a dozen of local cats, living in the neighborhood, which like to spend time, sleeping in the lounge armchairs and on the next door cafe roof. Good bathroom with a choice of electric sockets of different standards. A set of soaps-shampoos-tooth paste & brush-shaving razors. Safe and minibar, electric teapot with a choice of tea bags. LCD TV with about 40 local and foreign channels. The bed is convenient. Breakfast is tasty and diverse. Stuff is friendly and helpful, and not obtrusive.
Go up the street from the hotel (to the left out of the entrance), then turn left – there will be Sokullupasa Mosque in 3 minute walk. It is less touristic, so there are no too many people, though it is beautiful. The keeper is severe however – it is opened for the visits only in certain hours, but it is convenient to check if it is opened for it is on the way to Sultanahmet. It is the short way, but uphill. You can go the same way, but turn right then – the walk to Sultanahmet will be longer, but will take the same time, because you will not need to go uphill.
Go downhill from the hotel . There will be a pleasant Turkish café with low prices and good food on the conjunction, and hippyish bar on the left – Reggae café - with the best nargile (hookah) I ever tried, served by a charming hostess. Try strawberry-banana mix. There is Little Hagia Sophia (Turkish: Küçük Ayasofya Camii), formerly the Church of the Saints Sergius and Bacchus on the further way downhill – very spirituous and relaxing place.
We booked pick up from the airport and back for 50 Euro. It is convenient for not to look for the hotel through the narrow streets. But you can easily find a taxi to the airport for 20 USD or to go there by tram + metro – it is cheap and convenient.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leronich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxor, Egypt
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Sokullu Pasa Hotel is a very charming and unique property. I just loved it. I stayed here with my family and really enjoyed a lot. Rooms are cool and well-appointed with necessary things. Food is outstanding and every meal included a great variety. Staff is very helping and polite. They took all the pains to make our stay comfortable. Overall a nice stay and place can be easily recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karima A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We stayed at this hotel for around a week, and didn't have a lot of encounters with the staff members, but we still had some experiences that were good and others not so good.

One good thing about the hotel is that the waitress who served coffee and tea at breakfast was always very smiley and friendly, and it was nice to see her in the mornings.

Experiences that were not so good:
1. We booked an airport pickup by the hotel (which was €32.50), and the confirmation email said the ride would take around 30 minutes. But in fact it took us over an hour to get to the hotel. The driver stopped 4-5 times at random locations on the way to the hotel and left the car with us inside without letting us know where he was going. The last time he left us inside the car, he didn't come back at all, and someone else came in the car after 5-10 minutes and drove us to the hotel.

2. We had a few brief chats with the staff members during our stay at the hotel, and the receptionist seemed to have a sexist attitude. His behaviours during our conversations seemed a bit rude, and the sexist jokes he made always made me feel uncomfortable.

Room Tip: We did a little research on hotels in Istanbul before we made our booking, and I had read somewhere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We had the pleasure of staying in 3 different rooms over 2 stays this trip, after a mix up with a twin share room, however this didn't detract from the place and the staff where very helpful in sorting the issue. All rooms were cosy and well appointed.
The hotel is located close to the Blue Mosque, while being far enough removed from the bustle of the main tourist streets, with many nice small restaurants around.
Breakfast is an excellent spread and although the restaurant always seems to be quiet it was one of the best meals we ate in Istanbul and prices in line with Sultanahmet restaurants. And the host very amusing.
All staff were friendly and helpful and made it feel like a home away from home.

Room Tip: Down stairs rooms get noise from kitchen in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenzsav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

The Sokullu Pasa Hotel was originally the home of an important Turkish man. It is a now a lovely hotel well -located within walking distance of all the Blue Mosque The Haga Sofia the Grand Bazaar etc. The rooms were clean and well appointed. The staff was particularly helpful and accommodating, The only drawback was that taxi drivers had a tough time finding their way to it.
Istanbul is a very busy place. This was a nice place to get away from the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul
#49 of 1,129 in Istanbul
808 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#56 of 1,129 in Istanbul
953 reviews
Sultanahmet
Arena Hotel
Arena Hotel
#169 of 1,129 in Istanbul
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Recital Hotel
Recital Hotel
#64 of 1,129 in Istanbul
853 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Tughra Hotel
Sultan Tughra Hotel
#103 of 1,129 in Istanbul
465 reviews
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#75 of 1,129 in Istanbul
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sokullu Pasa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sokullu Pasa Hotel

Property: Sokullu Pasa Hotel
Address: Kucukayasofya Mah. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sok. No:3, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#78 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#83 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#84 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#115 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sokullu Pasa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traveling to Turkey and looking for an excellent place to stay? You will find Sokullu Pasa Hotel exactly what you are seeking . It is a fine example of an historic Ottoman house, which features modern facilities and excellent services. The hotel building, which was the first built as the house of Sokhollu Pasha, was later restored to become a modern accommodation for visitors. Hotel Sokullu Pasa, featuring typical 16th-century dwellings in its periphery, is at a short distance to the Centrum coastal road and the sea, only a few minutes walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sokullu Pasa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokullu Pasa Istanbul
Best Western Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing