We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast is yummy, but...”
Review of Sokullu Pasa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
Ranked #139 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Breakfast is yummy, but...”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Very close to:
Blue mosque
Hagia Sophia
Grand bazaar

Pros:
- BREAKFAST; the best breakfast so far! The choice is just amazing and all very tasty
- quieter neighbourhood
- 5 mins from sultanahmet by foot
- nice boutique hotel
- bathroom supplies are great

Cons:
- the finishing in the rooms was quite tacky and finished badly/roughly
- noise of the slamming front door was awful as we were above the entrance
- not the most liveliest neighbourhoods
- steep hill to climb to get to sultanahmet (we didn't mind but it may bother others)
- didn't really have the homely/welcoming feeling like other hotels we visited

Overall a decent 2 night stay.

Room Tip: Don't get the rooms above the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    127
    25
    6
    3
See reviews for
88
225
49
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

We spent a week in istanbul on a small family holiday. We spent the last part of our holiday at the sokullu pasa. The hotel is located in the quiet back streets of Istanbul surprisingly close to some of the main beautiful sights of istanbul I.e. the blue mosque and aya sophia mosque.......which are just a pleasant 10 minute walk away. It is also about 15 minute walk away from the amazing grand bazaar.

The hotel is well decorated in a vintage boutique style with very clean and spacious rooms which give a great nights sleep.

One of the best things is the breakfasts.....with a huge array of meats, breads, cheeses, cereals and jams on offer.

The staff (as expected in Istanbul) were always hospitable, welcoming and friendly and always willing to assist. Gizem (at breakfast) is a particular jewel of the hotel who went out of her way to help all guests during breakfast........she made breakfast more special than usual. Tesekullar.

Much recommended overall.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Omi b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

My wife and I spent 10 days with the Sokullu Pasa Hotel. Not my first trip to Istanbul. When you come to Istanbul you want a good quiet room to come back to after long days wandering the streets and sites of this most amazing of cities. You want an excellent breakfast that has a variety of traditional offerings and plenty of them. Most of all you need a tourist friendly-professional service oriented hotel with staff that understands what service means. I don't think you can do any better than this excellent small hotel. Without doubt we will stay here again. We believe we made some friends among the staff and their help in arranging tours and transportation were invaluable.
This is an adult oriented place. Comfortable and lovely decor throughout the hotel, and unlike anywhere else.. be sure to get a room toward the street..there is no noise on this street. Clean, comfortable, friendly, service oriented, all the while putting the guest first. Breakfast is to die for, a drink in the lobby after a long day, whether apple tea or something a bit more potent, is very welcome. The desk is knowledgeable and very helpful. The quiet walk up the hill toward the Hippodrome takes about 10 minutes and takes you past a few good restaurants..you will enter the Hippodrome on the far end side from Hagia Sophia ..so every night when you return..you walk past the many fountains, the Blue Mosque, Justinian's Obleisk, the German Fountain..the walk down the hill toward the hotel was welcome every night..It's a perfect location in Sultan Ahmet. As to value for money..we definitely got what we paid for and you always know when you don't, right? No worries here..
I can't thank our manager, Feta, enough for his help and friendly conversation..although he deals with hundreds of people every year..he still reserves a smile and a wealth of information to make your trip enjoyable..I know that you will treasure this hotel..and it makes the Istanbul experience all the more enjoyable.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the street are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank russ2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The hotel is in the old city, and several minutes to blue mosque, but if you take tram most of the time, it's not so convenient, since you need to climb the hill everyday. The room is large and comfortable, but the room we stayed is by the road, and sometimes is noisy. The breakfast is excellent, with lots of choice and is delicious.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lihui Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itala, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Excellent organization and exemplary service and the staff is well trained, polite and always willing to help the customer. The Hotel location is literally five mins from blue Mosque, Hippodrome and Ayasofya.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 203, was nice and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vincenzo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed in room 401 with my wife for valentines and my birthday and overall left with mixed feelings.

Pros:

location is literally 5 mins from blue mosque, hippodrome, etc.
Breakfast was excellent and varied everyday.
lobby and breakfast room are beautiful decorated.
They offer free WiFi with an excellent connection.
For my bday they left me fruit basket + red wine in the room (wine in Turkey due to tax is very expensive.
Transfers (2 way included as part of my bday gift)

Cons:

Staff are very pushy and intrusive especially to sell you a tour. When I showed them I was not interested and that I had pre-booked a tour not through them; they hardly even said hi anymore or good morning.

Room was not cleaned very well

Paid 600 EUR for 4 nights in the junior suite was quite steep especially considering room had Waller paper falling off, sealer showing and some furnishings broken

Room (Jr suite) smelled especially bathroom for the whole stay of sewage

Room was very hot and stuffy

Finally, at 6 am everyday you are woken up by the call for prayer (which can be heard practically everywhere in Istanbul) and even though it is not the fault of the hotel room was opposite the sokullu pasa mosque and had a loud speaker pointing towards the room

Even again in Istanbul would not return to this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank AND170282
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

If you like to make cultural tours the location is the best one in istanbul. Rooms are clean staff is very smiley. I advice t-you to make breakfast at roof. They have very good istanbul panorama. Please be careful of cheater sales men around the hotel.

Room Tip: i prefer street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayatiiskender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#72 of 1,156 in Istanbul
956 reviews
Sultanahmet
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul
#51 of 1,156 in Istanbul
830 reviews
Sultanahmet
Garden House Istanbul
Garden House Istanbul
#52 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#77 of 1,156 in Istanbul
503 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ayasofya Hotel
Ayasofya Hotel
#133 of 1,156 in Istanbul
246 reviews
Sultanahmet
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
#132 of 1,156 in Istanbul
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sokullu Pasa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sokullu Pasa Hotel

Property: Sokullu Pasa Hotel
Address: Kucukayasofya Mah. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sok. No:3, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#78 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#78 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#83 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#84 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#105 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sokullu Pasa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traveling to Turkey and looking for an excellent place to stay? You will find Sokullu Pasa Hotel exactly what you are seeking . It is a fine example of an historic Ottoman house, which features modern facilities and excellent services. The hotel building, which was the first built as the house of Sokhollu Pasha, was later restored to become a modern accommodation for visitors. Hotel Sokullu Pasa, featuring typical 16th-century dwellings in its periphery, is at a short distance to the Centrum coastal road and the sea, only a few minutes walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sokullu Pasa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokullu Pasa Istanbul
Best Western Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing