We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soklullu Pasa Hotel, a great place to stay!”
Review of Sokullu Pasa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
Ranked #126 of 1,160 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We loved this quaint Boutique Hotel, not everything was as we expected, but the staff were so helpful, polite and welcoming, that we easily forgave the foibles, like the not very good shower head, or the room they offered us where the door didn't shut properly, (which when they discovered it they immediately gave us a better room.) The breakfast fare was fantastic, fresh and a full range of Turkish foods, including salads, borek, and the inimitable rose-petal jam which I adore. The courtyard was delightful to look out to, and the location was terrific. The hotel 100 metres from the Haga Sofia and the Mosaic Museum, give walking access to many fabulous spots. Our tour organiser the Turkey Travel Centre, recommended this place. They knew what we liked! Max N Karen (Queensland, Australia)

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Maxnkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

I stayed at Sokullu Pasa for five days with a friend I haven't seen in many years, and I absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone considering staying here. The rooms are charming (though small), and the hotel is really aesthetically lovely. We enjoyed breakfast in the outdoor patio most mornings (with the exception of one rainy day). The staff was always friendly, smiling, and helpful. In particular, there was a gentleman (I can't remember his name right now, always dressed in a suit) who was always very friendly, and the young woman who waited on breakfast patrons was incredibly sweet. The hotel is very very close to the major points you'll want to see in Istanbul, though the walk is admittedly uphill, so pack good shoes. A taxi ride from Ataturk Airport to the hotel ran us between 40 and 50 TL. Overall, it was really a fantastic stay, and I would definitely stay here again in the future. Do try the breakfast...it was delicious.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Great location, amazing staff, absolutely beautiful room. Fantastic breakfast, best in turkey after 2 weeks here and numerous hotels. Staff was helpful and made us feel welcome, accommodated personal requests. Great one on one tour, avoid the Bosphorus recommendation.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Vozdrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Excellent location, nice hotel facilities fitted in a relatively small building (garden, restaurant, lobby - looked bigger on pictures), staff friendly, volunteered help and city information unprompted

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uwe260878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Very close to:
Blue mosque
Hagia Sophia
Grand bazaar

Pros:
- BREAKFAST; the best breakfast so far! The choice is just amazing and all very tasty
- quieter neighbourhood
- 5 mins from sultanahmet by foot
- nice boutique hotel
- bathroom supplies are great

Cons:
- the finishing in the rooms was quite tacky and finished badly/roughly
- noise of the slamming front door was awful as we were above the entrance
- not the most liveliest neighbourhoods
- steep hill to climb to get to sultanahmet (we didn't mind but it may bother others)
- didn't really have the homely/welcoming feeling like other hotels we visited

Overall a decent 2 night stay.

Room Tip: Don't get the rooms above the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SPPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

We spent a week in istanbul on a small family holiday. We spent the last part of our holiday at the sokullu pasa. The hotel is located in the quiet back streets of Istanbul surprisingly close to some of the main beautiful sights of istanbul I.e. the blue mosque and aya sophia mosque.......which are just a pleasant 10 minute walk away. It is also about 15 minute walk away from the amazing grand bazaar.

The hotel is well decorated in a vintage boutique style with very clean and spacious rooms which give a great nights sleep.

One of the best things is the breakfasts.....with a huge array of meats, breads, cheeses, cereals and jams on offer.

The staff (as expected in Istanbul) were always hospitable, welcoming and friendly and always willing to assist. Gizem (at breakfast) is a particular jewel of the hotel who went out of her way to help all guests during breakfast........she made breakfast more special than usual. Tesekullar.

Much recommended overall.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Omi b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

My wife and I spent 10 days with the Sokullu Pasa Hotel. Not my first trip to Istanbul. When you come to Istanbul you want a good quiet room to come back to after long days wandering the streets and sites of this most amazing of cities. You want an excellent breakfast that has a variety of traditional offerings and plenty of them. Most of all you need a tourist friendly-professional service oriented hotel with staff that understands what service means. I don't think you can do any better than this excellent small hotel. Without doubt we will stay here again. We believe we made some friends among the staff and their help in arranging tours and transportation were invaluable.
This is an adult oriented place. Comfortable and lovely decor throughout the hotel, and unlike anywhere else.. be sure to get a room toward the street..there is no noise on this street. Clean, comfortable, friendly, service oriented, all the while putting the guest first. Breakfast is to die for, a drink in the lobby after a long day, whether apple tea or something a bit more potent, is very welcome. The desk is knowledgeable and very helpful. The quiet walk up the hill toward the Hippodrome takes about 10 minutes and takes you past a few good restaurants..you will enter the Hippodrome on the far end side from Hagia Sophia ..so every night when you return..you walk past the many fountains, the Blue Mosque, Justinian's Obleisk, the German Fountain..the walk down the hill toward the hotel was welcome every night..It's a perfect location in Sultan Ahmet. As to value for money..we definitely got what we paid for and you always know when you don't, right? No worries here..
I can't thank our manager, Feta, enough for his help and friendly conversation..although he deals with hundreds of people every year..he still reserves a smile and a wealth of information to make your trip enjoyable..I know that you will treasure this hotel..and it makes the Istanbul experience all the more enjoyable.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the street are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank russ2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#24 of 1,160 in Istanbul
1,778 reviews
Sultanahmet
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul
#47 of 1,160 in Istanbul
837 reviews
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#69 of 1,160 in Istanbul
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#87 of 1,160 in Istanbul
957 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#84 of 1,160 in Istanbul
739 reviews
Sultanahmet
Garden House Istanbul
Garden House Istanbul
#44 of 1,160 in Istanbul
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sokullu Pasa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sokullu Pasa Hotel

Address: Kucukayasofya Mah. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sok. No:3, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#70 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#77 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#82 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#83 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#98 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £32 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sokullu Pasa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traveling to Turkey and looking for an excellent place to stay? You will find Sokullu Pasa Hotel exactly what you are seeking . It is a fine example of an historic Ottoman house, which features modern facilities and excellent services. The hotel building, which was the first built as the house of Sokhollu Pasha, was later restored to become a modern accommodation for visitors. Hotel Sokullu Pasa, featuring typical 16th-century dwellings in its periphery, is at a short distance to the Centrum coastal road and the sea, only a few minutes walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sokullu Pasa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokullu Pasa Istanbul
Best Western Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing