We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Antea Palace Hotel & Spa
Ranked #250 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2011

I stayed this hotel first week of augost and hotel was very clean and center of old city also all staff was helpfull for us..Hope next year i will stay this hotel..

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reşat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (661)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 661 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2011

To be honest, I chose this hotel for my business trip that was supposed to be as close to my counterparts in Istanbul as possible. The price was fine, the location was just perfect to have meetings with my Turkish fellas just across-the-street. After we had a bunch of meetings my evening walk made me realize that I can't just ignore this opportunity to enjoy sites offered by the hotel -- the view on Marmara Sea, quiet neighborhood and ancient Sofiya Mosque became highlights of my trip, apart from business of course.

With my business projects, I'm planning to visit Istanbul very often in the nearest future. They say the Fall is beautiful and warm and nice in here. For that, I'll be bringning my family later this year for sure.

Thanks to the managers and staff of the hotel -- felt like home. Tesekkur :)

Room Tip: Check out my photographs. If you like them, you will like any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Very clean rooms, but small. Taxi drivers have to ask locals a couple of times to find the hotel. Breakfast is modest. The hotel is very new and the owner cares about it and has plans to improve. Staff is polite and eager to help. When you sit on a terrace you can enjoy the sea view 4-5 blocks ahead ( and there's a railroad btwn you and the sea, however it is to be said that this railroad isn't something that you'll hear at night)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stanMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

This was the last significant stop on a very long trip. I already had booked a room at another hotel but decided upon arrival that I wanted to splurge and pay more for features that we had forgone in the other cities we had already visited. Thankfully, Ataturk had free WiFi and after collecting our luggage I began searching. After about 30 minutes with one of the on-site travel agents being unable to find what I wanted (at a place he would get a commission, that is) I found Antea Palace on-line, checked availability and booked. We jumped in a taxi and went directly there. The bell service was prompt and the gentleman at reception (he let me call him Richard since after Italy and Greece my pronunciation skills had been drained) was very welcoming and surprised at how little time had elapsed between his receiving my booking and our arrival. He treated us to very powerful Turkish coffee and made available to us a room to my specification "with a balcony." The decor is lavish and the bellman gave us a tour of the spa area, fitness room, Turkish bath area, rooftop terrace, etc. The staff were very patient and accommodating to say the least. The room was beautiful and the balcony was the best of the trip (I also had balconies in Naples and Athens). The maid service was a bit inconsistent (one day the comforter was folded and on the floor instead of the bed, and the "complimentary 1 liter of drinking water" added to the refrigerator was omitted a couple of days) but nothing that required mentioning to reception as we are not high maintenance people.
I was very impressed by the waiter and bartender, Yusuf. He was extremely helpful, intelligent, and informative. One example, was while serving my son (14) and I dinner one night we asked about going to the beach on the Prince's Islands and he recommended Kinaliada. It was lovely and I was very grateful. As a businesswoman in DC working for a global entity I am always interested in talking with locals when I travel. I much prefer it to speaking with other tourists, in fact. Yusuf was consistently gracious in responding to my questions thoughtfully and I appreciated it immensely. In fact, very soon after checking in I went down to the bar eager to try a Turkish drink and found items like "Sex on the Beach", etc. on the drink menu. I looked up and said, "These are not very Turkish. Is there a drink that is specifically Turkish?" He said Raki and I told him that I would give it a try. Wow, Raki has a pleasing smell but the taste must be acquired (like Retsina in Greece I only needed one glass). When I brought down my glass and asked if Turkey makes wine he asked how I liked the Raki and I had to be honest and say that I wouldn't need to try any more but was glad that I had tried it. He then told me that it is considered a "man's" drink since it is strong and that women typically do not partake. On another note, although a mother traveling in Turkey with her son is an oddity (as I found out when not inside Antea Palace Hotel) Yusuf did not seem to blink an eye about it and remained professional and refrained from giving my son and I "the look of wonder/curiosity" that I did get from some of the other hotel staff and throughout the city. If Best Western International offers training or exchange programs for exceptional staff I highly recommend Yusuf.
I also highly endorse Antea Palace. As someone who has lived and worked in the Far East, South America and North America in my opinion, this hotel should satisfy anyone.

p.s. Aya Sophia and the Blue Mosque are stunning and Istanbul is enchanting. Even after just having seen Venice, San Marco Basilica, going to the beach at the Adriatic Sea on Lido, Murano, being in Venice for Redentore, Rome (Coliseum, Forum, Vatican Raphael Rooms, Sistine Chapel, St. Peters, Pantheon, Galleria Borghese, Capitoline Museum, Rome's fountains & Piazzas), climbing Vesuvius, Herculaneum, Pompeii, going to the beach on Ischia, Athens, Acropolis, New Acropolis Museum, Parthenon, Delphi, Temple of Poseidon, going to Voula beach, Tower of the Winds, etc. I was not expecting to be amazed after everything else we had already experienced on this trip. My son and I were amazed.

Room Tip: Don't be surly. Sure travel days are exhausting but it's not the hotel staffs fault. Be gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SeatOfMyPntsTravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Me and my wife visited this hotel in April 2011 and we stayed very glad about this hotel. It is situated in very quiet and comfortable place in 10 minutes from Blue Mask and St. Sofia. We had a room with a sea view. Hotel is decorated in classic style and we were satisfied with classic music which was playing there all the time. It was very pleasant to relax in swimming pool, sauna, hamam and to have nice relaxing massage after daily walks and excursions. For breakfast we had a lot of different and tasty meals.
We'd like to notice polite and welcomed personnel. Also we'd like to thank manager of hotel. In August we plan to visit this hotel again with our friends. We advise to everybody to do the same.
Andrei, Victoria from Kiev (Ukraine).

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chyzhov_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed at Best Western Antea Palace in July, 2011. Excellent location - very quiet street, easy walk to the main tourist sites. The hotel and rooms are done in an opulent style - lots of gilt, gold plate, mirrors, and our 9 year old daughter loved it. As importantly - you can walk to the ocean front at night and stroll, see the families having evening picnics, play in the exercise park. You can also walk to the Kumbapi train station, see the fish market and fish restaurants frequented by locals and not tourists. Excellent buffet breakfast is included in most packages - eggs, fruit, meat and cheese, yogurt, cereal, breads. The world's smallest pool (open until 6 pm for free; after that, must pay) was good for cooling down after walking around Istanbul. We thought it was good value.

Room Tip: The family rooms are quite large - the regular double and single rooms quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Canadian135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We felt like royals from first sekond we arrived. The staff are very professionel and this high quality of service in every way, made us an magnificent holiday. The terasse with the great wiew in the eveningtime, maked us relaxed. To find a hotel with an indoor pool in Istanbul is very hard to find, but here we found it and loved it. The placement of this hotel is perfect. You can walk to all the most important sightseeings in a few minutes. Be sure we will be back again, soon.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CopenhagenSonja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Best Western Citadel Hotel
Best Western Citadel Hotel
#173 of 1,163 in Istanbul
464 reviews
Sultanahmet
Great Fortune Hotel & SPA
Great Fortune Hotel & SPA
#207 of 1,163 in Istanbul
422 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#17 of 1,163 in Istanbul
2,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Best Western Empire Palace
Best Western Empire Palace
#49 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,557 reviews
Sultanahmet
Orka Royal Hotel
Orka Royal Hotel
#272 of 1,163 in Istanbul
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Antea Palace Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Antea Palace Hotel & Spa

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Yusuf Askin Sok. No: 28 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#98 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#129 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#181 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#204 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £34 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Antea Palace Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Antea Palace Hotel & SPA has gone through major renovations and completely renewed after listening to the feedback given on TripAdvisor. Best Western Antea Palace Hotel & SPA is supremely well located for the historical sites and sounds of old city, offering relaxing and unforgettable experience. The hotel has convenient access to the Ataturk Airport and is close to all main historical attractions, such as Grand Bazaar, Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia Museum, Hippodrome, Topkapi Palace and more. Offering superior comfort, hotel is beautifully decorated, blending the traditional Turkish and modern design, enhancing the atmosphere of bar and a luxurious Spa. Here, guests can enjoy a relaxing dip in the hotel's swimming pool, a rejuvenating Traditional Turkish Hammam and relax in the steam room. This can be followed with a delightful meal at one of the hotel's fine eateries. The Antea Palace Terrace restaurant offers views over the Princes Islands and the sea of Marmara, contemporary decor and tempting menu. Hotel rooms are artfully decorated in a postmodern Ottoman and Turkish theme, complete with contemporary amenities such as high speed wireless internet access and a satellite LCD TV, hygienic and orthopedic beds, bathrobes for added comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Antea Palace Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Antea Palace Hotel Istanbul
Best Western Antea Palace Hotel And Spa
Best Western Hotel Istanbul
Best Western Istanbul
Istanbul Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing