We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent location”
Review of Hotel Spectra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Spectra
Ranked #224 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
West Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An excellent location”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

A friend recommended that we stay at the Spectra Hotel in Istanbul. We are so happy it was recommended. The hotel is in an excellent location, the rooms are clean and comfortable, a bit small, but otherwise very good. The staff is very pleasant and helpful. The restaurant in the hotel is very good. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    78
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
72
85
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is the best Hotel we have found in Istanbul, the location is superb - right by the Blue Mosque, the rooms have quality furnishings and are very comfortable, and the staff are the best. Onur is such a delightful young man at reception, nothing is too much trouble for him - he is extremely helpful and speaks great English too. Breakfast on the top floor has amazing views over the Blue Mosque and Aye Sophia - all this plus an excellent breakfast buffet.
We enjoyed our stay immensely and have made arrangements to return.

Room Tip: upper floor rooms have best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pixipops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Very Good Hotel Location.
All Staffs were very caring and very friendly. Highly Appreciated !!!

Restaurant at Terrace for Breakfast with breathtaking view of Sultan Ahmet Mosque was really very wonderful.

Roadside Restaurant of this Hotel was really we will miss.
We had a Wonderful evening with Cofee and Foods during our stay.

Room Tip: We had 3 Rooms. And all 3 Rooms were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

I came to Istanbul for a study abroad program from the US and couldn't have been more pleased. The staff is great and Accommodating-especially Onur the front manager who helped us with everything we could have needed. He even came in early on the day of our departure to make sure we didn't leave without coffee. The restaurant downstairs is quaint and has great food and the complementary breakfast in the morning is wonderful and comes with a rooftop view of the city. Also the internet was free and fast and I had no problem making internet calls from the room. In all, I loved my stay and would recommend the Hotel Spectra to anyone looking for a great stay at a great value.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fooooodiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I did not stay here in the hotel, I stayed down the street but we came here multiple times to eat in the restaurant on the ground floor. But the service, accessibility, great tasting food, and AMAZING LOCATION had us going there over and over. Fantastic food, both comfort food and classic turkish dishes, for a great value. ASK TO GO TO THE ROOFTOP SECTION AND IT HAS AN AMAZING VIEW OF THE BLUE MOSQUE AND HAGGIA SOPHIA. Great restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcchandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I paid a little more than usual for this Hotel, as my wife was arriving in Istanbul several days before me. I wanted something safe and close to everything.
The staff looked after her extremely well after a 40 hour journey from Brisbane. Thanks Etihad and TurkishAir.
My flight from Italy was also delayed, but I was still met by the complimentry transfer arriving at the hotel at 1.00am. No problems, easy check in.
The room was big enough clean and had an excellent bathroom.
The Spectra is as close as you can get to all the attractions of Sultanhamet and the staff are extremely helpful. Especially Ona, who also helped with booking coach tickets etc.
I would highly recommend the Spectra as being a few steps up from the usual cheap hotels, which you might appreciate after a long flight.

Room Tip: Ask, the friendly staff will assist if they can
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snapperMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Side Hotel and Pension
Side Hotel and Pension
#320 of 1,155 in Istanbul
405 reviews
Sultanahmet
Anthemis Hotel
Anthemis Hotel
#138 of 1,155 in Istanbul
127 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Turkoman
Hotel Turkoman
#521 of 1,155 in Istanbul
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Djem
Hotel Djem
#318 of 1,155 in Istanbul
269 reviews
Sultanahmet
Alzer Hotel
Alzer Hotel
#324 of 1,155 in Istanbul
342 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Saba
Hotel Saba
#215 of 1,155 in Istanbul
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spectra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spectra

Property: Hotel Spectra
Address: Sehit Mehmet Pasa Yokusu No. 2 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#69 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#74 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#175 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Spectra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Spectra is a converted Ottoman House in the old city of Istanbul at the corner of Hippodrome Square. It is located close to the Blue Mosque, St. Sophia, Topkapi Palace and The Grand Bazaar.All rooms are quiet. Most of the rooms have a nice view of Hippodrome square and blue Mosque.Our hotel's quality and hospitality of its staff ensure you a pleasant stay in Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Spectra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spectra Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing