We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, clean modern hotel with excellent location”
Review of Hotel Spectra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Spectra
Ranked #226 of 1,151 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
“Good, clean modern hotel with excellent location”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I stayed at Spectra Hotel in June with a group of friends. I had a nice stay there - the hotel was very nicely located, with the Blue Mosque about a block away and several restaurants nearby. The Sultanahmet tram stop is also nearby, making other attractions such as the Grand Bazaar and the Spice Bazaar easily accessible.

The staff on duty - Onur was friendly and helpful, with a pleasant personality. I would stay at this Hotel again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aidasn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    78
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
72
85
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Hotel Spectra is a small, hotel situated on a street corner just at the edge of Blue mosque/hagia sophia square. It is an excellent base from which to explore the sights and sounds ogf Istanbul. We spent 4 days there last week and were delighted with the cleaniness and service of this hotel. The rooms are all newly refurbished and are spotlessly clean. The downstairs restraunt serves good food and drinks and the street corner provides a lovely setting on which to sit at a table sipping wine and watching the world in all its diversity go by!!
The breakfast is served upstairs with a magnificant view of blue mosque.
The staff are helpful and they provide a shuttle bus to both airports at a much cheaper rate than using a taxi. This is a great hotel if you like a bit of old style romance, charm and fantastic if you are on abudget as it is so central to all the great sights. We were able to walk every where. There is a taxi rank outside the hotel and the tram is only 5 mins dander across the square. In the square you will also find the Big Bus hop on and off stops.
I nearly did not book this hotel after reading some reviews but I am so glad I did, it is just great.
Do be warned the call to prayer is at 5am and very loud as you are just beside the mosque, but we found this all part of the experience of istanbul and actually missed it as a wake up call when I got home!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMAG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giza, Egypt
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Excellent, quiet, ancient site....very friendly, lovely and kind staff....view is interesting....5 minutes walking from Sultan Ahmed tram station.....price was wonderful....I hope I can go there again

Room Tip: I send to them and I tell them that I am in ahonney moon
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbdelFattahEzzelarab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I absolutely loved the Hotel Spectra. Their Cafe/Restaurant was EXCELLENT! The hotel workers provided a great service too. My father and I made a new friend, named Onur Erdogan, he is a hard worker and a great person! Couldn't have asked for a better hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This hotel was absolutely amazing and very comfortable. The hotel is situated close next to the Blue Mosque, which was a fantastic place that we visited as a family. We absolutely loved the breakfast that Spectra Hotel offered. Next time when I visit Turkey again with my family we will definately be coming back. The staff were very friendly people, especially a receptionist named Onur, he was very helpful and kind towards us. Thankyou very much for your care.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabella115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

A friend recommended that we stay at the Spectra Hotel in Istanbul. We are so happy it was recommended. The hotel is in an excellent location, the rooms are clean and comfortable, a bit small, but otherwise very good. The staff is very pleasant and helpful. The restaurant in the hotel is very good. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is the best Hotel we have found in Istanbul, the location is superb - right by the Blue Mosque, the rooms have quality furnishings and are very comfortable, and the staff are the best. Onur is such a delightful young man at reception, nothing is too much trouble for him - he is extremely helpful and speaks great English too. Breakfast on the top floor has amazing views over the Blue Mosque and Aye Sophia - all this plus an excellent breakfast buffet.
We enjoyed our stay immensely and have made arrangements to return.

Room Tip: upper floor rooms have best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pixipops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Turkoman
Hotel Turkoman
#500 of 1,151 in Istanbul
131 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Djem
Hotel Djem
#314 of 1,151 in Istanbul
269 reviews
Sultanahmet
Alzer Hotel
Alzer Hotel
#333 of 1,151 in Istanbul
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Saba
Hotel Saba
#224 of 1,151 in Istanbul
138 reviews
Sultanahmet
Timeks Hotel
Timeks Hotel
#311 of 1,151 in Istanbul
116 reviews
Sultanahmet
Celine Hotel
Celine Hotel
#324 of 1,151 in Istanbul
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spectra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spectra

Property: Hotel Spectra
Address: Sehit Mehmet Pasa Yokusu No. 2 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#69 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#74 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#174 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Spectra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Spectra is a converted Ottoman House in the old city of Istanbul at the corner of Hippodrome Square. It is located close to the Blue Mosque, St. Sophia, Topkapi Palace and The Grand Bazaar.All rooms are quiet. Most of the rooms have a nice view of Hippodrome square and blue Mosque.Our hotel's quality and hospitality of its staff ensure you a pleasant stay in Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Spectra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spectra Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing