We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Citadel Hotel
Ranked #180 of 1,134 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Great location on the waterfront just below the Hagia Sofia and the Blue Mosque. Lots of nearby restaurants. Easy to get around the city. Staff friendly and attentive. Good breakfast to set you up for the day. We had a sea view room. Well worth the small premium. You really get the Istanbul experience.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the sea view. We were upgraded to a junior suite with a wonderful view and a sunny...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanB53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWThePresidentHotel, Genel Müdür at Best Western Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Ian,

Thank you for sharing your"" fabulous time"review following your recent stay at Hotel Citadel.Its real pleasure to read that you had a great stay with us.On behalf of entire team ,we all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel for another treasured memorable experience.

Best Regards,

Murat ALTUN
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    138
    36
    6
    3
See reviews for
126
142
24
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very well located to key places to visit such as Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque, Aisophia, Cistern Mosque. Accommodations are adequate with a very nice view to the Marmara Sea. Complete breakfast included in the price.
The staff is extremely helpful, always available to assist you in your requests. During the visit we needed a wheelchair, and the hotel put one at our disposal.
Definitely recommend you to stay at Citadel on your visit to Instambul.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank pmecp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWThePresidentHotel, Genel Müdür at Best Western Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Guest;
Thank you for taking time to share your nice comments.

Our guests' happiness is the most important thing for us.

Also, it is the thing that makes us happy too.

It was a pleasure to meet you and we hope to see you again!

Best Wishes From Citadel Family
Murat ALTUN
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Signal Mountain
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Mr Murat Altun ,the Manager and his staff have gone out of their way during out stay, very friendly and accommodating staff . Perfect location to all the great attractions, very short walking distance to the Grand Bazaar, Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and a lot more.
The breakfast is included and is outstanding.
We will definitely stay at the Citadel and it is the fourth time we have stayed at this same hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lebanon16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWThePresidentHotel, Genel Müdür at Best Western Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
My Dearest guest,
I would like to thank you for your review and it is very nice and important for me to hear that you very much enjoyed your stay.

Such comments motivates us more than anything and shows us we are on the right path.

Of course we have some points to improve, we are all working on these.

Kind regards,

Murat ALTUN
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Signal Mountain
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I am amazed at the excellent customer service the manager Murat Altun and his staff provide to every guest
Mr Altun wanted to make sure that I was served breakfast at 3 1/2 in the morning before the taxi picks me up and again thanked me for my business and that hotel is my home away from home
The breakfast is wonderful with an available cook to order chef
We have stayed numerous times at the Best Western Citadel and cannot say enough positive compliments and comments concerning the Best Western Citadel

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lebanon16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWThePresidentHotel, Genel Müdür at Best Western Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Kadriye;

Thank you so much for sharing time to express your feelings about our hotel.

Thanks to your nice comments, our motivation is getting higher day by day.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you again.

Best Wishes From Citadel Family
Murat ALTUN
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The location to all attractions is great you can walk everywhere. Grand Bizarre, Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Palace. Hotel is clean and has a very friendly and accommodating staff. Breakfast was included in the price and had a very good selection. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank 571debbiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWThePresidentHotel, Genel Müdür at Best Western Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of the hotel management and all the hotel staff, I would like to say that we are always honoured to welcome you to “ BEST WESTERN CITADEL HOTEL’’. I would like to say that our highest priority is to provide you with a memorable and pleasant experience each time you stay in our hotel. We will do our best in order to serve your needs in the way that will meet and exceed your expectations. Being a BEST WESTERN Hotel which is a part of the BEST WESTERN Hotels’ chain, in order to maintain our quality of service and products, our guests’ satisfaction is taken into consideration immediately.

Thank you for your kindly feedback, thank you for your attention and giving time to write a feedback at tripadvisor. We are honored.

We appreciate for giving us an opportunity of hosting you. We look forward your next arrival, we are pleased & honored serving you.

Kindest Regards,

Murat ALTUN

General Manager
BEST WESTERN
CITADEL HOTEL
ISTANBUL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This was a great hotel mainly because of the location. The rooms were a bit small but we managed. We got a rally nice view if the waterside. The breakfast was really good and the breakfast staff were very friendly. The front desk staff weren't always the nicest. They did offer one way complimentary ride to or from the airport. And provided us with water bottles everyday.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SPR8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWThePresidentHotel, Genel Müdür at Best Western Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of the hotel management and all the hotel staff, I would like to say that we are always honoured to welcome you to “ BEST WESTERN CITADEL HOTEL’’. I would like to say that our highest priority is to provide you with a memorable and pleasant experience each time you stay in our hotel. We will do our best in order to serve your needs in the way that will meet and exceed your expectations. Being a BEST WESTERN Hotel which is a part of the BEST WESTERN Hotels’ chain, in order to maintain our quality of service and products, our guests’ satisfaction is taken into consideration immediately.

Thank you for your kindly feedback, thank you for your attention and giving time to write a feedback at tripadvisor. We are honored.

We appreciate for giving us an opportunity of hosting you. We look forward your next arrival, we are pleased & honored serving you.

Kindest Regards,

Murat ALTUN

General Manager
BEST WESTERN
CITADEL HOTEL
ISTANBUL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

The hotel is a 20 minute taxi ride from Ataturk Airpot, costing between 30 to 40 turkish lira, depending upon traffic. At the airport, you will be approached by a number of shuttle transfer companies that will charge you a fortune to use their services. A taxi is by far more convenient and much cheaper. Make sure however that the taxi you select has a meter in the car, as some don't and will try to over charge you.
I stayed in the Citadel Suite for four nights. This is the only two bedroomed suite in the hotel and well worth paying extra for. The pictures on the website do not so this room justice. The main bedroom has a large bed, a sofa sitting area and a large dining table. The bathroom was a good size and both a bath (with jacuzzie, bonus!) and separate shower. There was also a separate bedroom with a single bed which has its own separate bathroom. So, a fantastically large two-bedroomed suite with two bathrooms and very clean. This is suitable for three adults or two adults and two children.
The hotel is located right by the Marmara sea. My room has a balcony with an amazing view of the sea. There is a quite a lot of street noise at night but that is to be expected when the hotel is in such a good location. I booked the room directly via the hotle website and as I was staying for more than 3 nights, the hotel arranged a free transfer to collect me from the airport.
The hotel staff are amazing and will go above and beyond to make your stay an enjoyable one. Mesut on reception played a key part on my holiday and was very helpful. He was able to provide a lot of information about the local area and recommend things to do.
Breakfast, which is included, has a very good selection. There is an egg station, where Ali made me a delicious omlette every morning (or you can get scrambled or fried eggs). There is a good selection of breads and pastries, dried and fresh fruit, cold meats and salad. The staff are very good during breakfast time and in particular Ali was fantastic with his customer service skills.
The hotel is about a 5 to 8 minute walk to the blue mosque and other key attractions (reception will give you directions and a map). It is somewhat of a steep walk along cobbled paths/roads. However, Istanbul itself has a lot of hills and so it is nothing unusual. Those would have difficulty with walking may find Istanbul itself difficult to get around. Please also bear in mind that the hotel does not have a lift, so if you have trouble getting up stairs, ask for a ground floor room. (There is always a helping hand however to get your luggage to your room).
I would certainly recommend this hotel and for that added bit of luxury spend the extra on the citadel two bedroomed suite. The staff make this hotel great as they will make it their priority that you have a great stay (they even printed off my boarding pass for my return flight). Excellent customer service. Thank you in particular to Mesut and Ali.

Room Tip: Spend the extra for the two bedroomed citadel suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank natural_glow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWThePresidentHotel, Genel Müdür at Best Western Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of the hotel management and all the hotel staff, I would like to say that we are always honoured to welcome you to “ BEST WESTERN CITADEL HOTEL’’. I would like to say that our highest priority is to provide you with a memorable and pleasant experience each time you stay in our hotel. We will do our best in order to serve your needs in the way that will meet and exceed your expectations. Being a BEST WESTERN Hotel which is a part of the BEST WESTERN Hotels’ chain, in order to maintain our quality of service and products, our guests’ satisfaction is taken into consideration immediately.

Thank you for your kindly feedback, thank you for your attention and giving time to write a feedback at tripadvisor. We are honored.

We appreciate for giving us an opportunity of hosting you. We look forward your next arrival, we are pleased & honored serving you.

Kindest Regards,

Murat ALTUN

General Manager
BEST WESTERN
CITADEL HOTEL
ISTANBUL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Best Western Antea Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Best Western Empire Palace
Best Western Empire Palace
#50 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,487 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Senator Hotel
Senator Hotel
#292 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Sultanahmet
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
#103 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Citadel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Citadel Hotel

Property: Best Western Citadel Hotel
Address: Kennedy Caddesi Sahil Yolu No.32 | Ahirkapi, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#70 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#82 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#139 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Citadel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Citadel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Istanbul
Istanbul Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing