We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Citadel Hotel
Ranked #196 of 1,148 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great base”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This hotel is a great base for sightseeing 10-15mins walk from mosques and the palace.
All the staff very friendly and helpful.
The breakfast was excellent and we sat in the open overlooking the sea.
A very busy road at the front,but with plenty of lights to cross at,and the room had good double glazing so was quiet.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bezall33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWThePresidentHotel, Genel Müdür at Best Western Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Guest,
On behalf of the hotel management and all the hotel staff, I would like to say that we are always honoured to welcome you to “BEST WESTERN CITADEL HOTEL”.
We are forever grateful that you shared your ideas with us and other travelers. Our aim is just to make satisfy our guest to have a memorable and pleasant holiday .We will do our best in order to serve your needs in the way that will meet and exceed your expectations.

Thanks alot for your kindly comment and giving your time to write your ideas about your accommodation and experiences during your holiday .
We will be always honoured to see you again at BW The President Hotel for your next trip to Istanbul.

Kindest Regards,
Aytekin Guç
General Manager
BEST WESTERN CITADEL HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    140
    36
    7
    4
See reviews for
130
143
24
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2014

It helped my awesome start for travel in Istanbul. People worked in there always say 'Hello' with smile, and supported me how to do in the place. I and my family enjoyed their break fast and view from the terrace. Not too far from Blue Mosque or Aya sofya as well, which was really convenient location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nao0908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWThePresidentHotel, Genel Müdür at Best Western Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a feedback after your stay in our Hotel . We are happy to read, that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel, especially the excellent accommodation and our friendly staff.
We sincerely like to apologize for the any problems during your stay. We hope to welcome you soon again in our Hotel

Aytekin Guç
General Manager
BEST WESTERN CITADEL HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We had twenty-seven hours between flights, and used the Citadel as our overnight base. It is an easy (but uphill walk) to Hagia Sofia (about ten minutes at the most). It is distant from the airport, but easily reached by cab (as the hotel is situated on the main route to/from the airport). Our view across the sea was beautiful. The room was small but comfortable. Excellent bathroom, well furnished.

Breakfast was extensive and included a wide range of foods. The staff could not have been more helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the sea are very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayfaere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWThePresidentHotel, Genel Müdür at Best Western Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,
On behalf of the hotel management and all the hotel staff, I would like to say that we are always honoured to welcome you to “BEST WESTERN CITADEL HOTEL”.
We are forever grateful that you shared your ideas with us and other travelers. Our aim is just to make satisfy our guest to have a memorable and pleasant holiday .We will do our best in order to serve your needs in the way that will meet and exceed your expectations.

Thanks alot for your kindly comment and giving your time to write your ideas about your accommodation and experiences during your holiday .
We will be always honoured to see you again at BW The President Hotel for your next trip to Istanbul.

Kindest Regards,
Aytekin Guç
General Manager
BEST WESTERN CITADEL HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Allen, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We always have a great stay in this hotel . Walking distance for all sightseeing , great location ,very friendly employees ,great breakfast ,comfortable and clean rooms . Book it you won't be disappointed .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emre-Eren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWThePresidentHotel, Genel Müdür at Best Western Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Guest,
On behalf of the hotel management and all the hotel staff, I would like to say that we are always honoured to welcome you to “BEST WESTERN CITADEL HOTEL”.
We are forever grateful that you shared your ideas with us and other travelers. Our aim is just to make satisfy our guest to have a memorable and pleasant holiday .We will do our best in order to serve your needs in the way that will meet and exceed your expectations.

Thanks alot for your kindly comment and giving your time to write your ideas about your accommodation and experiences during your holiday .
We will be always honoured to see you again at BW The President Hotel for your next trip to Istanbul.

Kindest Regards,
Aytekin Guç
General Manager
BEST WESTERN CITADEL HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level 6 Contributor
711 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Walking distance from Sultanahmet and tram stations, the hotel offers a great value for money. Very safe to walk back to to the hotel late in the night from any of those attractions in the blue mosque area. Choose the room facing the ocean, if available. The room size is quite small , compared to what you get in US/North America. The breakfast spread is excellent. One must enjoy the fresh honey! The menu of the breakfast doesn't change much, so choose different items on different days ! The hotel does not have an elevator/lift. Carrying heavy bags could be a big pain from the road head after the cab drops you to the hotel lobby. The hotel staff is generally helpful , if available. The Hotel gets tourists in large numbers through the tour operators, if you happen to check in around one of those occasions, you need to be patient. Taxis are easy to get both on the front side ( sea side) as well as the back side of the hotel.
Overall a very pleasant and enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Choose the sea facing room and on level one of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raghuraman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWThePresidentHotel, Genel Müdür at Best Western Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest,
On behalf of the hotel management and all the hotel staff, I would like to say that we are always honoured to welcome you to “BEST WESTERN CITADEL HOTEL”.
We are forever grateful that you shared your ideas with us and other travelers. Our aim is just to make satisfy our guest to have a memorable and pleasant holiday .We will do our best in order to serve your needs in the way that will meet and exceed your expectations.

Thanks alot for your kindly comment and giving your time to write your ideas about your accommodation and experiences during your holiday .
We will be always honoured to see you again at BW The President Hotel for your next trip to Istanbul.

Kindest Regards,
Aytekin Guç
General Manager
BEST WESTERN CITADEL HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This hotel was perfect for our first visit to Istanbul. The staff were helpful, the hotel clean and comfortable, breakfasts good, and having a sea view room was a bonus. As we walked up towards Topkapi Palace on the day we arrived, we saw dolphins in the sea. Although there was some noise from traffic at some times of the day it was no more than could be expected with such a convenient location. We also tried several of the restaurants nearby and found the food to be excellent. We'd certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms get more traffic noise but the views are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MSHG2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWThePresidentHotel, Genel Müdür at Best Western Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of the hotel management and all the hotel staff, I would like to say that we are always honored to welcome you to “ BEST WESTERN PLUS THE PRESIDENT HOTEL”.

I would like to say that our highest priority is to provide you with a memorable and pleasant experience each time you stay in our hotel. We will do our best in order to serve your needs in the way that will meet and exceed your expectations. Being a PLUS Hotel which is a part of the BEST WESTERN Hotels’ chain, in order to maintain our quality of service and products, our guests’ satisfaction is taken into consideration immediately.

Thank you for your kindly feedback, thank you for your attention and giving time to write a feedback at tripadvisor. We are honored.

We appreciate for giving us an opportunity of hosting you. We look forward your next arrival, we are pleased & honored serving you.

Kindest Regards,

Gülseren Vatansever

General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS
THE PRESIDENT HOTEL
ISTANBUL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

i stay 5 nights the AC was not working we asked to fix it but there is no replay
the location was good near to blue mosque and aya sofia
the break fast not change all the 5 days
the worker in the hotel they are friendely and the helps in for disciver the city

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank noordk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWThePresidentHotel, Genel Müdür at Best Western Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a feedback after your stay in our Hotel . We are happy to read, that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel, especially the excellent accommodation and our friendly staff.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Best regards
Gülseren Vatansever
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS THE PRESIDENT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Best Western Antea Palace Hotel & Spa
Sultanahmet
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
#100 of 1,148 in Istanbul
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Best Western Empire Palace
Best Western Empire Palace
#52 of 1,148 in Istanbul
1,520 reviews
Sultanahmet
Kalyon Hotel Istanbul
Kalyon Hotel Istanbul
#317 of 1,148 in Istanbul
488 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Tughra Hotel
Sultan Tughra Hotel
#152 of 1,148 in Istanbul
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Citadel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Citadel Hotel

Property: Best Western Citadel Hotel
Address: Kennedy Caddesi Sahil Yolu No.32 | Ahirkapi, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#70 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#82 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#150 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Citadel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Best Western Citadel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Istanbul
Istanbul Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing