We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel,staff,location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Citadel Hotel
Ranked #223 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Grimstad, Norway
1 review
“Nice hotel,staff,location.”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed at this nice hotel for one week in July 2014! I would highly recommended this hotel for mature couples and families.
I liked:
- Marmara sea view both from the room and the balcony (not all rooms have balcony though)
- Location: Around ten minutes walking to the sultanahmet area.
- Comfort and cleanliness of the room
- Helpful and nice staff
- Good breakfast
- Free shuttle from the airport.
- Environmental friendly policies
There are very few things to improve:
- Air conditioning was a bit noisy. In most of the days it was central (which I don't like it)
- Add Hair conditioner to bathroom amenities
The most important problem was the road in front of hotel. There were a heavy traffic because of Ramadan festives. I am not sure hotel can do anything about it. Maybe it is good if they try to find a way to reduce the noise from the road.

Room Tip: Some rooms has balcony which are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamyar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWThePresidentHotel, Genel Müdür at Best Western Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guest,
On behalf of the hotel management and all the hotel staff, I would like to say that we are always honoured to welcome you to “BEST WESTERN CITADEL HOTEL”.
We are forever grateful that you shared your ideas with us and other travelers. Our aim is just to make satisfy our guest to have a memorable and pleasant holiday .We will do our best in order to serve your needs in the way that will meet and exceed your expectations.

Thanks alot for your kindly comment and giving your time to write your ideas about your accommodation and experiences during your holiday .
We will be always honoured to see you again at BW The President Hotel for your next trip to Istanbul.

Kindest Regards,
Aytekin Guç
General Manager
BEST WESTERN CITADEL HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    140
    36
    7
    4
See reviews for
128
143
24
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I stayed recently (July 2014) at this wonderful hotel! Highly recommended once you decide to travel to Istanbul-- the hotel is facing Marmara Sea. A great, helpful and amazing staff! The breakfast is great. Location is helpful, only 10 minutes walking to sultanahmet area where you can take the metro to all locations.

Room Tip: Floor 1, facing Marmara Sea. Best location ever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nora A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWThePresidentHotel, Genel Müdür at Best Western Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,
On behalf of the hotel management and all the hotel staff, I would like to say that we are always honoured to welcome you to “BEST WESTERN CITADEL HOTEL”.
We are forever grateful that you shared your ideas with us and other travelers. Our aim is just to make satisfy our guest to have a memorable and pleasant holiday .We will do our best in order to serve your needs in the way that will meet and exceed your expectations.

Thanks alot for your kindly comment and giving your time to write your ideas about your accommodation and experiences during your holiday .
We will be always honoured to see you again at BW The President Hotel for your next trip to Istanbul.

Kindest Regards,
Aytekin Guç
General Manager
BEST WESTERN CITADEL HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We were part of a group staying pre cruise. The location is super for walking to everything and the view is wonderful. We ate at the buffet breakfast which had everything and the outside patio and enjoyed both locations. We were on the 3rd floor and there appeared to be a shortage of help so we had to carry our luggage up the stairs. Lucky for us, we always pack extremely light so it wasn't an issue. One person in our group did have a problem.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarianneB1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWThePresidentHotel, Genel Müdür at Best Western Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guest,
On behalf of the hotel management and all the hotel staff, I would like to say that we are always honoured to welcome you to “BEST WESTERN CITADEL HOTEL”.
We are forever grateful that you shared your ideas with us and other travelers. Our aim is just to make satisfy our guest to have a memorable and pleasant holiday .We will do our best in order to serve your needs in the way that will meet and exceed your expectations.

Thanks alot for your kindly comment and giving your time to write your ideas about your accommodation and experiences during your holiday .
We will be always honoured to see you again at BW The President Hotel for your next trip to Istanbul.

Kindest Regards,
Aytekin Guç
General Manager
BEST WESTERN CITADEL HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

this hotel is awesome ..
all the staff very friendly and helpful.
i and my family every years come to Istanbul stay in citadel hotel.
the room and Restaurant is on the Marmara view>>>>
Top staff and friendly, help full, we are so happy stay in this hotel.
we are thank you for every thing
spacial in Reception MESUT KIRAZ he so nice and help us for every thing and so friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAlangari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWThePresidentHotel, Genel Müdür at Best Western Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for your nice feedback after your stay in our Hotel, I would like to say that we are always honoured to welcome you to “BEST WESTERN PLUS THE PRESIDENT”.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and would be very pleased to welcome you again, next time you visit Istanbul
Best regards

Aytekin Guç
General Manager
BEST WESTERN CITADEL HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keswick
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Istanbul overnight between flights - Hotel is on the water, close to key attractions (others have posted the details). Our standard room was outfitted beautifully with modern finishing's and the bathroom was brand new with high end fixtures. It wasn't very large but we weren't there for very long. We faced the city which was quiet as I opened the window for the night to sleep.
Breakfast was included with hot/cold foods; custom omelettes, fruit, yogurt, breads, cakes, juices & as much coffee as you can stand. Restaurant is on the ocean side!!!!
Overall a great place to stay but special note is the TOP CUSTOMER SERVICE we received by ALL staff - managers, front desk, bell boy & restaurant staff. We both noted the politeness and service friendly staff. Something to be very proud off!
We are planning to come back for a week and will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clubkeswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWThePresidentHotel, Genel Müdür at Best Western Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a feedback after your stay in our Hotel . We are happy to read, that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel, especially the excellent accommodation and our friendly staff.
We sincerely like to apologize for the any problems during your stay. We hope to welcome you soon again in our Hotel

Kindest Regards,
Aytekin Guç
General Manager
BEST WESTERN CITADEL HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This hotel is a great base for sightseeing 10-15mins walk from mosques and the palace.
All the staff very friendly and helpful.
The breakfast was excellent and we sat in the open overlooking the sea.
A very busy road at the front,but with plenty of lights to cross at,and the room had good double glazing so was quiet.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bezall33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWThePresidentHotel, Genel Müdür at Best Western Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Guest,
On behalf of the hotel management and all the hotel staff, I would like to say that we are always honoured to welcome you to “BEST WESTERN CITADEL HOTEL”.
We are forever grateful that you shared your ideas with us and other travelers. Our aim is just to make satisfy our guest to have a memorable and pleasant holiday .We will do our best in order to serve your needs in the way that will meet and exceed your expectations.

Thanks alot for your kindly comment and giving your time to write your ideas about your accommodation and experiences during your holiday .
We will be always honoured to see you again at BW The President Hotel for your next trip to Istanbul.

Kindest Regards,
Aytekin Guç
General Manager
BEST WESTERN CITADEL HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2014

It helped my awesome start for travel in Istanbul. People worked in there always say 'Hello' with smile, and supported me how to do in the place. I and my family enjoyed their break fast and view from the terrace. Not too far from Blue Mosque or Aya sofya as well, which was really convenient location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nao0908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWThePresidentHotel, Genel Müdür at Best Western Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a feedback after your stay in our Hotel . We are happy to read, that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel, especially the excellent accommodation and our friendly staff.
We sincerely like to apologize for the any problems during your stay. We hope to welcome you soon again in our Hotel

Aytekin Guç
General Manager
BEST WESTERN CITADEL HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Best Western Antea Palace Hotel & Spa
Sultanahmet
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
#100 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Best Western Empire Palace
Best Western Empire Palace
#51 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,507 reviews
Sultanahmet
Kalyon Hotel Istanbul
Kalyon Hotel Istanbul
#317 of 1,141 in Istanbul
488 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Tughra Hotel
Sultan Tughra Hotel
#123 of 1,141 in Istanbul
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Citadel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Citadel Hotel

Property: Best Western Citadel Hotel
Address: Kennedy Caddesi Sahil Yolu No.32 | Ahirkapi, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#70 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#82 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#167 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Citadel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Citadel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Istanbul
Istanbul Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing