We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most comfortable, pleasurable and memorable hotel experience in Istanbul”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
Ranked #147 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2011

I have had the pleasure of being a guest of the beautiful Artefes Hotel for the fourth time. As a regular traveller to Istanbul, I can easily say that this warm boutique hotel in the middle of Istabul's historic peninsula is the best hotel experience I have had in Istanbul. The hotel experience is about location, comfort and service. Artefes Hotel gets 10/10 in all three.

Its location in the Sultanahmet district means its in the most touristic region of the city and within convenient reach of any part of Istanbul using public transport. Within walking distance to shops, bazaars and touristic facilities, its location simply allows one to reach in any direction of Istanbul without expensive or multi connecting means of transportation. Put simply, this translates into time saving.

Artefes has offered me a 5 star comfort level consistently - my fourth stay in this hotel is a testament to this fact. Beautiful and practical rooms, a welcoming and warm breakfast environment, and a terrace for your morning or evening tea or coffee, with a view of the Marmara Sea - the comfort offered was simply outstanding and immensely pleasurable.

Ultimately however, its all about service, and Artefes again scored 5 stars from me. Its staff share a set of common qualities that one notices right from the initial encounter: Friendliness, the willingness to help and pure professionalism in their dealings with guests. You will notice this with your first contact with the Artefes reception desk - you'll feel welcome straightaway. The attention is personalised and your needs are anticipated. The feeling you will have is that, its your home away from home, but theres always a friendly and willing person to assist you with any issues you may have.

I have had a very comfortable and wonderful holidaying experience in Istanbul. Artefes was definitely a major contributor to this pleasurable stay. I would strongly recommend Artefes to any traveller to Istanbul. To me its location, comfort and service are unrivalled.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gokhanermerak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (485)
There are newer reviews for Artefes Hotel Istanbul
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 485 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2011

We have been there for a couple of days in August 2011.The place is near the blue Mosque in a silent quartier rich of wooden houses and wonderful corners.
Our room was clean. The roof terrace is wonderful. From above it is possible to see the sea and the Mosque. The service is good and the price is right.
I absolutely recommend this hotel.

Fabio Manfredini

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Good position to visit the must important place of the city, the room are confortable and silent.
During the summer breakfast are served on a terrace with a wonderful view.
Good price and the personnel are very professional and corteous.

One problem is that air conditioning doesn't work when there is nobody in the room and during the summer you can find the room very hot.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RomaSnake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We spent 7 nights at Artefes during July 2011. We particularly enjoyed the breakfast buffet and the extremely good quality of the hotel staff. Particularly the always helpful Murat and Tuncay, who were not just nice persosns but also available to help us in every single thing.
One of them even called a store I need to reach, just to ask if one specific item was available.
They were also open to our requests (a change from our first room to a bigger one).
If I have to mention one problem was the fact that in our second room, the fridge was not working. But we still manage.
Rooms are always clean and we specially enjoyed the magnificent view of the Blue Mosque, from the roof garden. Let me tell you that having your breakfast with enjoyable views of the Sea of Marmara and the Blue Mosque is something really shocking.
The most important asset of Artefes Hotel is its staff. They are very helpful and always making you as a valuable customer.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edgardo1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

This hotel is in Sultanahmed, in a good safe location near all the key sights in Istanbul. Well equipped rooms, delicious breakfast and a breakfast room with wonderful views!

The only thing I missed was a bar! This could easily be accommodated on the spacious roof terrace, which is currently woefully under-used. My sister-in-law and I enjoyed a drink at a nearby bar on our way to the hotel in the evenings, when we would much rather have had one on our own rood terrace!

I hope to go back to Istanbul next year and will stay at the same hotel, provided a bar is by then up-and-running.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKFinn56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We stayed at the Artesfes July 30 to August 5, 2011. Very good service from all the staff and they were very helpful. Breakfast was satisfactory and plenty to eat. The terrace view at the top is outstanding and a great place to unwind after a day of sight seeing. They also serve dinner at the terrace. Rooms were compact but more than adequate space. Rooms and bathrooms were clean. AC was satisfactory also. The room stayed cool once we were in the room to activate the system with our key.

Playground next door and the street below got a little loud in the evening (due to Ramadan) so earplugs were handy.

We would definitely stay here again.

R and G

Room Tip: top floor is quieter due to wood constructed floors
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rwrohwer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We had a great experience at Hotel Artefes. It is close to everything in the Sultanahmet area. The staff were pleasant, hard working, and spoke English well. Rooms were clean, beds were a little on the hard side but fine. Good wifi. The greatest treasure was the roof top terrace with the stunning view of Istanbul and the Marmet Sea. Complementary breakfast up there was a treat. And you can order dinner up there as well. We spent a great five days there and certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JTSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#82 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,455 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#71 of 1,159 in Istanbul
957 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
#139 of 1,159 in Istanbul
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Orient Express Hotel
Orient Express Hotel
#58 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,763 reviews
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#78 of 1,159 in Istanbul
507 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ayasofya Hotel
Ayasofya Hotel
#128 of 1,159 in Istanbul
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artefes Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artefes Hotel Istanbul

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Cayiroglu Sok. No:17 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#61 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#176 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#177 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £26 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Artefes Hotel Istanbul 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Artefes Hotel is located on walking distance of such historical and major city sights as St. Sophia (Aya Sophia/Hagia Sophia), The Blue (Sultanahmet) Mosque, The Cistern Basilica (Yerebatan Cistern), Topkapi Palace, The Grand Bazaar (Kapalicarsi) and Spice bazaar) Misir Carsisi. Old City and its palaces divide the historical peninsula down the middle and lead guests directly from the hotel into the heart of Sultanahmet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Artefes Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istanbul Artefes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing